We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food”
Review of Royal Bar & Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Bar & Hotel
Ranked #92 of 439 Kandy B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 September 2012

I did not stay in this hotel but I ate there twice while in Kandy, and I think it was the best meal I had in the city. We ordered tapas Sri Lankan style and they were all very tasty. The bar has an old style colonial feel and it was very relaxing to sit there for a few hours with some good food and beer. The service was also impeccable

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay_C18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
There are newer reviews for Royal Bar & Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2012

We regularly pop into the Royal Bar and Hotel a great place to get away from the hustle of Kandy,the drinks prices are as reasonable as anywhere else and the sevice is excellent,really cold draught lion lager is great and an ice bucket and fresh lemon with the g&t as standard ,tasty freshly cooked food on the ground floor cheap and good.Staff are always friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralphtheblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Its a nice place in the heart of Kandy town, but the time they take to serve is terrible. They have a very simple menu and we ordered our food by 9 p.m. We had to wait for 2 hours before a few dishes arrived. The people sitting at the table next to us got up and left because their food was taking so long. Some of the dishes that were subsequently served to us were ones we did not order - we suspect they were made for the other table... We ended up not getting most of what we ordered, despite waiting there till 11 p.m. Ironically everything we ordered was on the bill even though we didn't get half of it. We didn't pay for those we didn't order.

They are woefully inefficient and not at all geared to function as a restaurant. Although the staff were apologetic and genuinely upset, the proprieter was totally indifferent to our complaints, and was not at all concerned that it was past 11 p.m. and some of us had not yet got our food. Most places close early in Kandy and we ended up eating at KFC (the only place that was open).

Would not recommend it for meals. It is a nice setting so perhaps to catch up for a drink.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Muba42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

If you dont already know this - Kandy is a VERY busy town. The streets are crowded and there are shops, people and vehicles every where! right at the heart of all this is this quaint place called the Royal Bar and Hotel. Very colonial to look at, calm and peaceful. We dropped in there for drinks and a bite to eat. The interior is very quiet and peaceful, quite cool actually and a relief from the mid day sun. There was a languid atmosphere that calms you down and persudes you to kick your heels and just relax.
We spent a very pleasant couple of hours there enjoying the delicious spread of food and the relatively affordable drinks.
The evening can get crowded I was told, but we couldn't stay that long. It was a very pleasant afternoon though. If you are in Kandy, please do drop in to see the place. It will be worth your while !!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

What a great place, perfectly well renovated in every detail ! very quiet, although right in the center of the city... 2 min walk from Kandy Lake ... the patio is superb and during pub opening hours, full of local people coming for drinks ! I had several meals there, and food is excellent and if you are lucky enough to have Niroshan attending you then everything will be perfect !

Room Tip: all rooms are on the patio, 1st and 2nd floor .. I was in room nr 5, 2nd floor, maybe just a bit mor...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paris16traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Royal Bar & Hotel is a new Boutique Hotel in a recently renovated, colonial mansion with a beautiful inside patio. It is located in the very center of town, 3 blocks from the tooth temple and the lake. It is a hidden oasis, almost unnoticed from the street side. Once you have passed reception and enter in that beautiful patio, you will immediately forget the noise and traffic mess that you have been exposed to in the city. The renovation was made very carefully, keeping many little details from the historic mansion (such as the original lamps, door handles and light switches), but converting this place into a stylish and confortable hotel. The friendly, tasteful rooms are situated on the first and second floor, overlooking the patio. They feature generous bathrooms with a functioning rainforest shower. Only negative is the missing mosquito net, which I think is much better and efficient than the chemical treatment they have been giving during my stay. Breakfast is being served on the veranda overlooking the patio. All is being prepared freshly at the moment.
I highly recommend this hotel for individual travellers looking for a decent place in Kandy. This is not a budet hotel, but the approximately 100 US per room are in line with other, less charming hotels of this standard. In my view, it is the best choice among the upscale hotels in town. First of all, because the location is perfect. Most hotels in Kandy are a bit out of town, many of them up the hill, some with views of the lake. This can be nice, but it makes you dependent on calling a three-wheeler every time you want to visit town, or go out for a drink. RB& H is walking distance to shopping, restaurants and bars. Secondly because the hotel offers a nice combination of upper standard with very personal service. The staff and the management were extremely friendly. As a woman travelling alone, I highly appreciated their respect and their extra efforts to make me feel save and confortable.
What you need to know: The patio of RB&H hosts a famous, historic bar, which is popular among the locals (men who can afford the prices, very few women). You will hear the noise of this bar between 7-10 pm. After this it is quite. This is no problem for most people who will not go to bed before 10, but if you are travelling with children, you will have to consider this.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ariazur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Adrien B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.1 mi away
Queens Hotel Kandy
Queens Hotel Kandy
#31 of 56 in Kandy
1,071 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cafe Aroma Inn, Kandy
Cafe Aroma Inn, Kandy
#18 of 439 in Kandy
200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Victory Hotel Kandy
Victory Hotel Kandy
#178 of 439 in Kandy
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Charlton Kandy Rest
Charlton Kandy Rest
#123 of 439 in Kandy
189 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shady Nook Inn
Shady Nook Inn
#27 of 439 in Kandy
38 reviews
0.2 mi away
Witherspoon Lodge
Witherspoon Lodge
#42 of 357 in Kandy
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Bar & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Bar & Hotel

Address: 44 King's Street, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 439 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range: £85 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Royal Bar & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing