We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful atmosphere, great food, perfect location”
Review of Royal Bar & Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Bar & Hotel
Ranked #90 of 445 Kandy B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We happened across the Royal Bar and Hotel's listing under restaurants in Kandy after we had already decided to stay in another hotel. We wish we had found listing prior to booking- it does NOT deserve to be buried down in the 20's on Tripadvisor.

The entire building is a restored soldier's barracks, and the upstairs is lined by pictures of Kandy and the Kandy district from the colonial period. There is a lovely courtyard with tables to sit and have a drink or eat some delicious food from the (very substantial but affordable) bar menu. The bar has a great mix of locals and tourists. This has by far the best ambiance of any place within walking distance of the Temple of the Tooth and Kandy lake- perfectly located for Kandy's sights.

The bar is wonderful, and is busy with a mix of locals and tourists throughout the evening and local and imported spirits and cold beer on tap!

The restaurant is above the bar and has a series of other more expensive food options: my wife had a Thai green tofu curry, and I had some pork fillets for entrees after sharing a fruit, cucumber, and cheese salad. All the portions were large and the prices, while higher than the bar food, were appropriate for what we ate. The waiter was very attentive and was helpful at picking out a selection of arrack along with our meal. The food was delicious. Total cost including salad, 2 entrees, and drinks : $35 USD. Service was prompt but not rushed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcbnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2013

If you are visting Kandy, you must visit the Royal Bar & Hotel (RBH) It is a beautifully restored building that it is so restful and pleasant to spend time in.
Everything is presented to a high standard and whether you are just having a drink, snack or main course meal, you will not be disappointed. The food is varied and is to a very high standard and the best I have had whilst in Sri Lanka.
The staff are a bunch of lovely guys and they work to a very high standard being attentive and helpful and this hasn't changed during my two month stay in Kandy & Sri Lanka.
I haven't stopped in the rooms but have had a tour and they are certainly well presented and of a very good standard.
I do not drink alcohol but they were well able to cater for my requirements and I can highly recommend the bar to anyone with confidence.
Finally, if you do visit, get a member of staff to give you a tour so that you can see all the facilities and view the museum on the first floor.
Ray

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RaySharratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

I did not stay in this hotel but I ate there twice while in Kandy, and I think it was the best meal I had in the city. We ordered tapas Sri Lankan style and they were all very tasty. The bar has an old style colonial feel and it was very relaxing to sit there for a few hours with some good food and beer. The service was also impeccable

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay_C18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We regularly pop into the Royal Bar and Hotel a great place to get away from the hustle of Kandy,the drinks prices are as reasonable as anywhere else and the sevice is excellent,really cold draught lion lager is great and an ice bucket and fresh lemon with the g&t as standard ,tasty freshly cooked food on the ground floor cheap and good.Staff are always friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralphtheblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Its a nice place in the heart of Kandy town, but the time they take to serve is terrible. They have a very simple menu and we ordered our food by 9 p.m. We had to wait for 2 hours before a few dishes arrived. The people sitting at the table next to us got up and left because their food was taking so long. Some of the dishes that were subsequently served to us were ones we did not order - we suspect they were made for the other table... We ended up not getting most of what we ordered, despite waiting there till 11 p.m. Ironically everything we ordered was on the bill even though we didn't get half of it. We didn't pay for those we didn't order.

They are woefully inefficient and not at all geared to function as a restaurant. Although the staff were apologetic and genuinely upset, the proprieter was totally indifferent to our complaints, and was not at all concerned that it was past 11 p.m. and some of us had not yet got our food. Most places close early in Kandy and we ended up eating at KFC (the only place that was open).

Would not recommend it for meals. It is a nice setting so perhaps to catch up for a drink.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Muba42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

If you dont already know this - Kandy is a VERY busy town. The streets are crowded and there are shops, people and vehicles every where! right at the heart of all this is this quaint place called the Royal Bar and Hotel. Very colonial to look at, calm and peaceful. We dropped in there for drinks and a bite to eat. The interior is very quiet and peaceful, quite cool actually and a relief from the mid day sun. There was a languid atmosphere that calms you down and persudes you to kick your heels and just relax.
We spent a very pleasant couple of hours there enjoying the delicious spread of food and the relatively affordable drinks.
The evening can get crowded I was told, but we couldn't stay that long. It was a very pleasant afternoon though. If you are in Kandy, please do drop in to see the place. It will be worth your while !!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

What a great place, perfectly well renovated in every detail ! very quiet, although right in the center of the city... 2 min walk from Kandy Lake ... the patio is superb and during pub opening hours, full of local people coming for drinks ! I had several meals there, and food is excellent and if you are lucky enough to have Niroshan attending you then everything will be perfect !

Room Tip: all rooms are on the patio, 1st and 2nd floor .. I was in room nr 5, 2nd floor, maybe just a bit mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paris16traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.1 mi away
Queens Hotel Kandy
Queens Hotel Kandy
#31 of 56 in Kandy
1,083 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cafe Aroma Inn, Kandy
Cafe Aroma Inn, Kandy
#16 of 445 in Kandy
205 reviews
0.0 mi away
Charlton Kandy Rest
Charlton Kandy Rest
#112 of 445 in Kandy
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Victory Hotel Kandy
Victory Hotel Kandy
#183 of 445 in Kandy
17 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Elephant Shed - Tourist Hostel
1.2 mi away
Witherspoon Lodge
Witherspoon Lodge
#52 of 370 in Kandy
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Bar & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Bar & Hotel

Address: 44 King's Street, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range: £87 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Royal Bar & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing