We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saman, The best driver to visit srilanka.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blue Haven Guest House
Ranked #19 of 458 Kandy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We would like to write about our excellent driver Saman who looks like a national guide. We spent a very good week travelling from kandy to uppuvelli with him. Thanks to his knowledge, he teached us a lot of things about srilankan culture, history, religion... he took Us along local restaurant where we would have never been alone. Very helpful,We recommend the blue haven trip with our super driver saman.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (559)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

278 - 284 of 559 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

The staff is friendly and helpful yet the drain-water from the bathrooms are let out to neighbouring properties, which in turn gives a foul smell. The owners could do a bit to make the surroundings more hygienic and pleasant.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
Thank Nat Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This review is not for the Blue Haven Guest House, but for the driver I hired through Blue Haven Tours and Travel. Public buses in Sri Lanka are in bad shape and are overcrowded, so the best way of saving time and for your safety is to hire a driver. I hired a driver for 7 days (2 days from Kandy to Cultural Triangle and 5 days from Ella to Unawatuna) for a reasonable price given the driver's expertise and trustfulness. The name of my driver was Nishantha Maldeniya who was really careful driving around crazy Sri Lankan roads. In addition of being an excellent driver, he spoke great English, has a really good knowledge of everything related to the country, so I was able to ask many questions about history, various destinations and sights, local customs, good restaurants, etc. Because of Nisha's knowledge of the country, I was able to discover places that are not in guidebooks! Nisha also know people everywhere and helped me to book safaris and other tours when needed. Another good thing is that he was not too pushy when recommending sights, hotels or restaurants. If you want to enjoy an amazing experience in Sri Lanka, you must hire Nisha!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank PhilQc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We travelled with BHTC for two weeks in Sri Lanka. Our guide picked us up in the airport and I must say it was an experience out of this world. Waruna is his name and he is by far the best guide we have ever had. Sri Lankans are easygoing and meet you eye to eye. Waruna was the quintessence of that description. He was eager to show us as much as we wanted, but also clever enough to know when we needed a break.After the two weeks it felt like we had become friends and yet still he would call me Sir. If youre planning a trip to the most fertile and lovely island, dont hesitate to get a guide with wheels. Two weeks seemed a perfedt time. We felt totally safe and secure all the time with Waruna and are longing to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank vinde50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

I originally booked a 3 day tour for the "cultural triangle" but extended to 7 days as I was very pleased with the tour. Lalinda the driver was excellent, he knew all the essential spots to check out and was helpful when I had troubles. Highly recommend!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank Bob83D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We did not stay in the guesthouse, but we made a 1-day trip to Dambulla and Sigirya with "Blue Haven Tours". The booking via Email was very easy and uncomplicated.
Our Driver, Saman, was a very very nice person. He showed and told us so many things about Sri Lanka and even arranged a nice guide at Sigirya for us. He also took us to a very nice place, where we had a good traditional lunch.
I can only recommend doing tours with "Blue Haven", especially with Saman as driver (ask for him when you do the booking).

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We just came back from an 8 day drive tour with Blue Haven, We spent two days at the guest house in kandy and we had a good stay. We also booked a drive tour with Mr.Linton who is the owner at Blue Haven. He helped us with additional requests and was easy accessible through email. However the trip was very memorable due to Lalinda who was our driver and he not only has excellent driving skills but he is also very knowledgeable about all the sites in Sri Lanka, including Sigiriya, Dambulla, Pollonawura, etc, he is also friendly and he was very flexible as well. We made a few changes to the program and Lalinda was always helpful with suggestions and happy to help offering ideas and making the trip an excellent experience that we will never forget. I will definetely recommend Blue Haven services to anyone interested in visiting Sri Lanka and most of all I will recommend Lalinda.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmonik18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.3 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#18 of 57 in Kandy
507 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 57 in Kandy
730 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sharon Inn
Sharon Inn
#20 of 57 in Kandy
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#13 of 57 in Kandy
1,357 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
2 mi away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#34 of 57 in Kandy
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Haven Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Haven Guest House

Address: 30/2 Poorna Lane, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 458 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range: £15 - £22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Haven Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Blue Haven Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing