We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice riverside hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Ranked #9 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Stayed for two nights in a de luxe room as part of an independent tour as a base to explore the sights of Kandy. Our room was huge and well appointed with a view over the hotel pool. The buffet restaurant provided a good range of Sri Lankan and western food with the option of tables outside or inside. There was a nice swimming pool with a reasonable number of sun loungers. Staff were generally efficient and courteous. Good points: well appointed rooms with large comfortable bed; electronic in room safe and good air conditioning.
Downsides: it is at least 15 minutes by taxi to the main sites in Kandy town; there were some building works going on but this did not affect the part where we were staying.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wyretraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,063)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

721 - 727 of 1,063 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2012

We fortunately stayed only one night in this hotel. There was no way we could have spent the day at the hotel as there was so much of noise thanks to all the renovation work happening there. We chose to have lunch from the restaurant which offered Indian food in the menu.The food was terrible; the service was unimpressive. The rooms were large, but did not offer any view. The breakfast next morning was as bad as the lunch the previous day. If you have to stay in Kandy, please find another hotel - this one will surely disappoint you.

Room Tip: In another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prasanth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

This hotel was one of the five hotels that we stayed during our 15 days tour in sri lanka and it was the worst.The room was very big(this is very good when you travel with a small child),but it had no view at all.We were in half board and one could hardly find something tasty to eat.breakfast was also terrible.Every day there were several building procedures with the sound that comes with them.Better to choose another hotel

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xristina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

I've read some of mediocre reviews on here and I'm shocked! I think this hotel is fantastic!

Stunning views of the hills from the pool which I might also add, is set in some beautiful gardens. The hotel is well maintained and the rooms were lovely, marble bathrooms no less! We stayed here as part of a 2 day trip to Kandy at a cost of only £10 as part of our trip package. You cannot say fairer than that. The staff were very helpful and talkative, the food was excellent and we slept very well.

The rooms are all controlled electronically which we thought was pretty impressive. The service at dinner could have done with a little jolly up but other than that, would most certainly stay here again. Would be perfect for a honeymoon. If you get a chance to stay here then it's a must....you won't be sorry!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Astrid1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We stayed here for two nights in February 2012. The hotel is well located for Kandy, about a 15 minute drive from the Temple of the Tooth. The rooms were fine, well sized with everything you'd need. There was a lot if building work going on whilst we were there which would have been annoying if we'd been spending more time in the hotel. The pool is nice with lots of sunbeds. The food in the buffet was fine, nothing gourmet but acceptable for a night or two. Service at the bar was a bit hit and miss; we were lucky to get a smile from the barman and when ordering drinks around the pool it could take up to 20 mins to get served. I probably wouldn't recommend this as I imagine there are better hotels available, but it would be perfectly acceptable for a 1 or 2 night stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kk413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Excellent hotel. Staff were very friendly and keen to help and cater for my disabled wife.

Room Tip: specify any requirements when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We started off disappointed as they informed us they do nothing special for honeymoon couples- which was really silly of them as they had dining by the river, massages etc that would have suited us fine and we would have paid extra for these things.
The hotel grounds are beautiful and well manicured. The pool a delight. Dining was always a fun experience and the live music in the evenings made for a magical ambience.
Unfortunately there were some works going on at the time but they did not start too early or go too late.
Restaurant staff were very helpful and overall we very much enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.4 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
3.2 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 56 in Kandy
813 reviews
2.7 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 56 in Kandy
557 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 56 in Kandy
1,328 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Kandyan Hotel
Grand Kandyan Hotel
#7 of 56 in Kandy
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahaweli Reach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahaweli Reach Hotel

Address: 35 PBA Weerakoon Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kandy
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Price Range: £87 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mahaweli Reach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the banks of Mahaweli River, Mahaweli Reach Hotel offers 5-star accommodations with rolling mountains as a backdrop. It features a large outdoor pool, Ayurvedic center fitness facilities. Featuring private balconies, air conditioned rooms open out to stunning views of tropical greenery. They are equipped with classic wood furnishings and floors as well as cable TV. Guests can enjoy relaxing Ayurvedic massages after active workouts at the tennis courts. The hotel also provides bike rental, water sports and business facilities. Hearty meals featuring Sri Lankan specialties are served at the restaurant, which also features live entertainment. Hotel Mahaweli Reach is a 30-minute drive from Victoria Golf Course and about a 3 hour drive from Colombo International Airport. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mahaweli Reach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahaweli Reach Kandy
Hotel Mahaweli Reach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing