We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An old style 5* Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Ranked #11 of 57 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

Went there with my family. We got the rooms we asked for (on the river) and got the interconnected rooms as we requested. The hotel is a 5*. Everything is what you expect out of a 5* hotel but the rooms need serious refurbishment. The hotel was probably last refurbished in the early nineties. The food is really good. No issues there. The pool was nice although colder than you would expect. The staff are very kind and friendly.

You will probably find insects as the hotel is on the Kandy river. Ants were plenty in the bathroom, a small gecko also kept us company. Personally I would not stay there again, but if you have to stay in Kandy I think this is the only 5* hotel.

Oh, and across the river there are thousands of fruit bats that kept us and the kids entertained at sunset. I would not open the balcony doors!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank Elyafi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Greetings from Mahaweli Reach !
Many thanks for your comments.
We value your feedback as it will assist us in improving our service as our aim is to set high performance standards .
Look forward to welcoming you to Mahaweli Reach !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

639 - 645 of 1,118 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

We received a warm welcome on our arrival and shown to a spacious room which ticks all the boxes although not up the standards you'd expected in a city.

Spa was random. Oil rubbed all over but not a proper treatment and you can't relax as people are taking beyond the petition and building work was going on outside.

The pool area is lovely and makes for pleasant area to relax and have a few drinks by.

Fine for a one or two night stay.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MarcusWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Greetings from Mahaweli Reach !
Many thanks for your comments.
We value your feedback as it will assist us in improving our service as our aim is to set high performance standards .
Look forward to welcoming you to Mahaweli Reach !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Stayed here 2 nights. The rooms are spacious and quiet but the hotel's best feature is its beautiful poolside area (which is spectacular in the evening) Service is decent, so is the food -although the breakfast buffet is exactly the same everyday. Nothing really wrong but it does feel a bit old and dated. For the price, you would expect more from a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GinoBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Greetings from Mahaweli Reach !
Many thanks for your comments.
We value your feedback as it will assist us in improving our service as our aim is to set high performance standards .
Look forward to welcoming you to Mahaweli Reach !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

An average place considering its location,evening filled with Mosquitos from the river ,and we were chased by mosquito killing smoke sprayed in the evening ,the evening drink I hadinsects falling into my wine .the rooms very spacious and great free wifi .no view from first floor only parking cars and drainage the other side .biggest disadvantage your bathroom ventilation is open to corridor .lot of noise people walki g up and down .the only saving grace for this place great service from the staff cannot beat that .otherwise I packed my bags after one night and left the hotel bad choice for relaxing .

Room Tip: Not prefer this place for relaxing holiday may be for food .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank karthickCoimbatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Greetings from Mahaweli Reach !
Many thanks for your comments.
We value your feedback as it will assist us in improving our facilities & services as our aim is to set high performance standards .
Look forward to welcoming you to Mahaweli Reach !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay at this hotel. We had a magnificent room overlooking both the pool area and the river. The room was spacious and very quiet. We enjoyed watching the bats from our bedroom as the sun set. The staff are attentive and the rooms were exceptionally clean.

The food was also excellent and we went for the buffet dinner twice along with breakfast. The cocktails were of good quality.

We would recommend that you AVOID the spa. The spa falls far short of the standards which we would expect of a 5* hotel and is the quality of something we would expect of someone offering 'massage' in the back room of their home.

I do not believe the staff know how to properly massage, nor do I believe that they actually care about their customers. After attending for a 'massage' (which was basically just a 'rub down' with oil) I complained to the management and was offered a complimentary massage by a different masseur. I attended the 'spa' the next day and was made to feel humiliated by the staff, because I had the audacity to complain, who laughed at me whilst supposedly massaging. I left crying. This was a disappointing end to an otherwise very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which overlooks the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marysas93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Greetings from Mahaweli Reach !

Many thanks for your comments.

Glad that you enjoyed your stay with us & value your feedback as it will assist us in improving our service as our aim is to set high performance standards .

Look forward to welcoming you back !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We have stayed at the Mahaweli Reach hotel 6 times over the last 10 years and it has always been a pleasure. The staff are attentive and pleasant and can be called upon to help in all situations from flowers for birthdays, cakes for special occasions etc.. The rooms are spacious and have a great old world feel with modern conveniences. We always feel special when we visit the hotel. It is not far from the centre of Kandy, but not walkable. The pool is excellent.

Room Tip: Riverside rooms are a little more but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rbcorpe-travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

Greetings from Mahaweli Reach !

Many thanks for your valued comments.

Glad that you enjoyed your stay with us & look forward to welcoming you back !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

That was superb hotel but the entrence road to the hotel was not good. Reception and pool was very good and hotel staff was very cooperative. But there was too much sounds of temple in the morning that was not good

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Syed Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Greetings from Mahaweli Reach !
Many thanks for your valued comments.
Glad that you liked our Hotel & look forward to welcoming you back !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.4 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
2.7 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
3.2 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#12 of 57 in Kandy
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#2 of 57 in Kandy
585 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#14 of 57 in Kandy
1,397 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Kandyan Hotel
Grand Kandyan Hotel
#7 of 57 in Kandy
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahaweli Reach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahaweli Reach Hotel

Address: 35 PBA Weerakoon Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kandy
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Price Range: £83 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mahaweli Reach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the banks of Mahaweli River, Mahaweli Reach Hotel offers 5-star accommodations with rolling mountains as a backdrop. It features a large outdoor pool, Ayurvedic center fitness facilities. Featuring private balconies, air conditioned rooms open out to stunning views of tropical greenery. They are equipped with classic wood furnishings and floors as well as cable TV. Guests can enjoy relaxing Ayurvedic massages after active workouts at the tennis courts. The hotel also provides bike rental, water sports and business facilities. Hearty meals featuring Sri Lankan specialties are served at the restaurant, which also features live entertainment. Hotel Mahaweli Reach is a 30-minute drive from Victoria Golf Course and about a 3 hour drive from Colombo International Airport. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mahaweli Reach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahaweli Reach Kandy
Hotel Mahaweli Reach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing