We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location for Family Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Ranked #9 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Location is USP of this hotel just along with Srilanka's largest river. Though need to keep in mind that it is a bit out of happening parts of Kandy but still very nice for relaxing with family. Service is excellent without any doubt and breakfast buffet was excellent.

Room Tip: Look for a room facing pool or nearest to river
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharitraMaheshwari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Greetings from Mahaweli Reach !

We are very pleased to note that you were impressed with our property & services . We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us & your encouraging words are a great source of strength to all of us.

Thank you for your sparing your valuable time to give us your comments .
We look forward to welcoming you to Mahaweli Reach again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,045)
There are newer reviews for Mahaweli Reach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

536 - 542 of 1,045 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Landed on the 15th march. The service was excellent. The Service staff made us feel very comfortable. The hotel took note that we were vegetarian and dinner was prepared specially for us. And the family loved the attention. The room was good too. In short, excellent hotel with exceptional service

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Sridharsub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Greetings from Mahaweli Reach !

We thank you for your great comments of our property & our services. Further we are happy to note that we were able to deliver our services up to your expectations & are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your encouraging words are a great source of strength to all of us.

We look forward to welcoming you to Mahaweli Reach again !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

All I can say is the mosquitoes were TERRIBLE and made our stay miserable. When we first arrived into our room we thought it looked nice and would be great for our 2 night stay in Kandy but after 30 minutes we had already killed about 15 mosquitoes. We asked the front desk for a net or something to help and they did bring citronella to plug in the wall but it did nothing. Me, my husband, and 7 month old son were staying in the room and our major concern was the mosquitoes biting us while we were sleeping. When we woke up the next morning we had all been attacked by the mosquitoes. My 7 month old had about 20 bites all over his face (looked as if he had chicken pox) and I had them all over my arms and face. We told the front office and they did nothing else to help since they told us they had already given us the citronella plug in. Our 2nd night was the same. We woke up with even more mosquitoes bites.

When we went to check out my husband told them and they did not apologize or act as if they cared. He asked them to come look at our baby and me so they could see how bad our bites were. They came and looked at him but still no apology or seem concerned. For this hotel to have the ratings it did I would honestly say it was one of the worst hotels we have EVER stayed in. We will NEVER go back, especially even after our driver we had for the week told us it was not a good hotel!!

The hotel is definitely not family friendly. We had to carry our stroller up and down stairs the whole time we stayed there.

Also when I made our booking I booked a triple bed room Deluxe with 2 adults and 1 child. When we arrived to the hotel, only booked us for a double bed room, which they then changed as they discovered we had a child. They acted as if they were doing us a favor by changing our reservations to a triple room but we then showed them that's what we originally booked.

All I can say is we were NOT happy at all and we are definitely easy people to please when it comes to traveling. And for us to say this was a terrible hotel....we mean it was TERRIBLE!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

we stayed there for two nights ehen we visit Kandy. the hotel is beautiful at a lovely place next to the river, the rooms large with a very good view, the pool is big and the food is good especially the cakes. the service is very good but could be better at the pool.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Greetings from Mahaweli Reach !

We are very pleased to note that you were impressed with our property & that you enjoyed your stay with us . Your encouraging words are a great source of strength to all of us.
Thank you for your sparing your valuable time to give us your comments .

We look forward to welcoming you to Mahaweli Reach again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Walking in we were very impressed by the location right on the Mahaweli river. The reception staff was excellent. The rooms were dated but clean. The balcony in room 17 and 18 was overhanging the river. Then we walked into the bathroom and were absolutely flabbergasted by the mould on the ceiling, there were insects all over. My wife refused to walk in bare foot. The shower didn't drain. The food was above average at the buffet but the service was sub par. If you wanted something you had to ask the manager. The pool was nice.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank world_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Greetings from Mahaweli Reach !

We thank you for your great comments of our property & are pleased to note that you were happy with some of our services , however we value your feedback as it will assist us to take necessary measures in order to maintain the required standards.
We look forward to welcoming you to Mahaweli Reach again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed two nights at Mahaweli Reach during our Sri Lankan tour which is located beside the Mahaweli River. We were very fortunate to be allocated an excellent room (124) right by the river though it did have a small bathroom with a poor bath / shower that needs attention. The hotel has a lovely pool and grounds overlooking river.

Both the breakfast and dinner buffet offered reasonable choice of both Asian and international food. As my wife doesn't like spicy food the chef kindly prepared a mild curry especially for her. We found the staff especially friendly who provided very good service.

Room Tip: Ask for room 124
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinner Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Greetings from Mahaweli Reach !

We thank you for your great comments of our property & our services. Your encouraging words are a great source of strength to all of us. Further we are happy that your wife enjoyed the special curry that was prepared for her .
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay & look forward to welcoming you to Mahaweli Reach again !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Stayed here for one night with my parents and husband and son. The hospitality is truly amazing - I requested a cake for my husband to celebrate his birthday, they recommended I speak to the front desk for a complimentary ake which they delivered the next day at our breakfast table. Cake was delish! The buffet for dinner and breakfast had good choices - my son who is an extremely picky eater "made" his own pasta and ate it all! The breakfast had good options of local and international cuisine - and the best part was the unlimited coconut water! The hotel grounds are beautiful, with different trees and flowers everywhere. The bathroom was extremely dated in our. Room and would recommend they do a complete bathroom overhaul. The internet was spotty, but it is complementary so cant really complain :)That would be my only gripe about this place

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deepika_ganeshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Greetings from Mahaweli Reach !

We thank you for your great comments of our property & your encouraging words are a great source of strength to all of us.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay & look forward to welcoming you to Mahaweli Reach again !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
3.2 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 56 in Kandy
794 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
2.7 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 56 in Kandy
548 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Kandyan Hotel
Grand Kandyan Hotel
#6 of 56 in Kandy
479 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 56 in Kandy
1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahaweli Reach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahaweli Reach Hotel

Address: 35 PBA Weerakoon Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kandy
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Price Range: £87 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mahaweli Reach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the banks of Mahaweli River, Mahaweli Reach Hotel offers 5-star accommodations with rolling mountains as a backdrop. It features a large outdoor pool, Ayurvedic center fitness facilities. Featuring private balconies, air conditioned rooms open out to stunning views of tropical greenery. They are equipped with classic wood furnishings and floors as well as cable TV. Guests can enjoy relaxing Ayurvedic massages after active workouts at the tennis courts. The hotel also provides bike rental, water sports and business facilities. Hearty meals featuring Sri Lankan specialties are served at the restaurant, which also features live entertainment. Hotel Mahaweli Reach is a 30-minute drive from Victoria Golf Course and about a 3 hour drive from Colombo International Airport. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mahaweli Reach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahaweli Reach Kandy
Hotel Mahaweli Reach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing