We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing too much trouble for the staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mahaweli Reach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Ranked #11 of 58 Hotels in Kandy
St. Annes-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nothing too much trouble for the staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

We stayed at the Mahaweli Reach hotel, Kandy as part of our trip to various locations in Sri Lanka. As part of our trip we stayed 3 nights in Kandy (7 Aug - 9 Aug) to make sure we took in all the sights that were on offer. As we were travelling in August we experienced the festival which was fantastic albeit was a long wait for the parade to pass us. The hotel staff went above and beyond for us and were extremely helpful and happy all the time. The pool set up with the sun loungers was not as described due to a wedding tent being placed in this area but this didn't bother us as a family. This hotel is very colonial in style and could do with an upgrade however it didn't spoil our visit one bit.
Generally we avoid buffet dining however their's was extremely good and the choices were amazing.
Overall we had an excellent stay.

Room Tip: The hotel is by a river and you may experience mosquito's therefore it is handy to take cream/re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JHenderson23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Greetings from Mahaweli Reach !

We truly appreciate & value your comments and are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel Your kind words give us great encouragement.

It will be a pleasure to have you with us again & look forward to welcoming you to Mahaweli Reach !

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    323
    171
    59
    48
See reviews for
249
382
26
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malta, Europe
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

My husband and I planned to stay for two nights at this hotel on our honeymoon, however we only spent a night and a quarter here. Unfortunately during our first night, at one point, I felt what I thought were mosquitoes so I woke up only to find to my disgust that there were bugs in our bed. We immediately packed our stuff and refused to stay in the room for a minute longer. The hotel was full for the night so instead of being given another room, we were transferred to another hotel for the night. The next day we returned to the hotel and as an apology we were given a lake view junior suite which was adorable and very big. The bathroom was huge and the room in general was very comfortable. We were also offered a gourmet dinner instead of the usual buffet dinner and we were very well taken care of for the night, which made up for the mishap. I am not sure whether I would visit the hotel again though, because I believe I should have never found bugs in my bed in the first place.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Greetings from Mahaweli Reach !

We regret the unfortunate incident that took place during your stay, despite the efforts taken to control same. However we are happy that we were able to resolve the issues & provide our best & personalized services. We do appreciate & thank you for your co operation & understanding.

We will endeavour to create a better experience, should you decide to visit us again.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
855 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

This a very attractive Colonial style hotel on the banks of the river
Restaurant is very good with very good selections at both breakfast & evening buffets & waiting staff were very attentive & friendly
Swimming pool is large
However on downside - plumbing is noisy, room bins not emptied, coffee & tea not replenished & bathroom towels of 2 star quality

Room Tip: Check room plumbing noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Greetings from Mahaweli Reach !

We truly appreciate & value your comments and are very glad that you liked the ambience of our Hotel . We value your feedback as it will assist us in improving our services.

It will be a pleasure to have you with us again & look forward to welcoming you to Mahaweli Reach !

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Good and quite location with good view of nearby river.
great swimming pools and gardens.
Restaurant is good but not that great.
Hotel also arranges for romantic dine and ride boats on nearby river
For couples but has to be booked in advance .

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Adel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Greetings from Mahaweli Reach !

We truly appreciate & value your comments and are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel Your kind words give us great encouragement.

It will be a pleasure to have you with us again & look forward to welcoming you to Mahaweli Reach !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights. Found staff generally good and helpful. Room and facilities were nice. It is not 5 star!! However could be placed at higher end of what's available in Kandy. It's a beautiful setting but therein lies the problem. It isn't up to being classed as a good self contained resort. Lacking dining and activities options. It's located well away from Kandy center so it's quite a trip by tuk tuk if you want to go out to eat or see sights. There's nothing within walking distance or relatively nearby. Breakfast buffet is served in open air reception area near to pool. This creates hygiene issues with flies and keeping food fresh and safe in warm to hot environment given how long it sits there. Overall gave a better rating than we would if we did not make allowance for Kandy.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank OzEnzoLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Greetings from Mahaweli Reach !

We truly appreciate your comments & value your feedback as it will assist us in improving our services.
It will be a pleasure to have you with us again & look forward to welcoming you to Mahaweli Reach !
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed here recently and easily one of the worst hotels ever. A truly terrible stay was compounded by the blase, rude and uncaring behaviour of the hotel manager. Had a very nasty experience with one of the staff members that resulted in the Police being called. The manager was abhorrent, didn't care and was more interested in talking about the hotel renovations (that made the stay very noisy) than worrying about his clearly distressed and upset customers. No follow up from the manager whatsoever! Thinking about this hotel gives me the creeps!!!! Awful!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OldManEmu68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Greetings from Mahaweli Reach !

We wish to inform you that your issues were all addressed by the relevant Managers while you were in our Hotel. Further our priority is to provide all our guests a courteous, personalized and efficient service, which Mahaweli Reach is renowned for.

We will endeavour to create a better experience, should you decide to visit us again.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

My partner & I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in April this year. I would not recomend staying at this hotel. Unfortunately I had a very bad experience in the spa at this hotel & when we approached the manager the attitude we received was less than satisfactory. Both my partner & I were very upset & the manager treated us with no respect or courtesy. We were both so distressed we spent the night in our room without going for dinner & checked out as soon as we could the following day. The guests of a hotel should feel safe & looked after whilst staying there & we did not feel that way. He made no attempts with regards to my welfare & in fact disappeared to hide in his office until we checked out the next day. There are plenty of other places to stay in Kandy.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Tracey2861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Greetings from Mahaweli Reach !

We wish to inform you that your issues were all addressed by the relevant Managers while you were in our Hotel. Further our priority is to provide all our guests a courteous, personalized and efficient service, which Mahaweli Reach is renowned for.

We will endeavour to create a better experience, should you decide to visit us again.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
4.0 mi away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#1 of 1 in Tennekumbura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,850 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
2.7 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#10 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#1 of 1 in Hantana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
3.2 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
7.9 mi away
Madulkelle Tea and Eco Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahaweli Reach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahaweli Reach Hotel

Property: Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Address: 35 PBA Weerakoon Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kandy
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mahaweli Reach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the banks of Mahaweli River, Mahaweli Reach Hotel offers 5-star accommodations with rolling mountains as a backdrop. It features a large outdoor pool, Ayurvedic center fitness facilities. Featuring private balconies, air conditioned rooms open out to stunning views of tropical greenery. They are equipped with classic wood furnishings and floors as well as cable TV. Guests can enjoy relaxing Ayurvedic massages after active workouts at the tennis courts. The hotel also provides bike rental, water sports and business facilities. Hearty meals featuring Sri Lankan specialties are served at the restaurant, which also features live entertainment. Hotel Mahaweli Reach is a 30-minute drive from Victoria Golf Course and about a 3 hour drive from Colombo International Airport. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Mahaweli Reach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahaweli Reach Kandy
Hotel Mahaweli Reach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing