We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,283)
Filter reviews
1,283 results
Traveller rating
499
420
226
71
67
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
499
420
226
71
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riversri lankapresidential suitebeautiful hotellarge poolmini barbreakfast buffet isgreat poolrooms are spaciousvisiting kandystayed here for two nightstuk tukpoolsidebatsdrivertemple
Filter
Updating list...
177 - 182 of 1,283 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2017

Stayed in the hotel for only 1 night. Whilst the room was a great size I found this hotel very old and in need of a refurbishment.
The pool area is nice and the gardens lovely but it is really very average across the board.
Check in and check out were handled well.
The breakfast buffet was average, the lunch by the pool ok, but nothing really stood out about this hotel.
Damp and a little musty and a lack of attention to detail.
Located out of town so no real incentive to stay here.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jolZ5766JJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Ayubowan!

Greetings from Mahaweli Reach!

We take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback on your stay with us at Mahaweli Reach and regret that certain aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations.

We have noted your observations. We are planning some redevelopments at the property as we strive to provide a pleasant experience to all our guests.

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017

Wonderful old style elegant Hotel on the river bank. Good location for Kandy tourists to relax with spacious and comfortable if somewhat tired accommodation. Wide choice of good food at meal times and friendly service. Drinks are expensive.

The Hotel does cater for groups so a quiet dining room can quickly turn into an entertaining feeding frenzy which soon passes or a peaceful swim turn into a mass bath with a Rugby team – again quite entertaining and soon over.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grapevines-The
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Ayubowan!

Greetings from Mahaweli Reach!

We take this opportunity to thank you immensely for the wonderful comments placed on record regarding Mahaweli Reach and its services proffered. Its with great pleasure we note that the colonial architecture of our hotel, its locality on the banks of the Mahaweli River, spacious rooms , amenities, food offered and our friendly services have met with your expectations.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017

Situated a little away from the city on the bank of Mahaweli River with Kandy City Centre Mall,about 5 kms, an awesome place for shopping both branded and unbranded garments in particular. The Mall also has a decent Food Court with separate independent Stations for Indian,Thai,Chinese,Italian,desserts and beverages. The famous Temple of the Sacred Tooth Relic and main railway station are also around 5 kms. Mahaweli Reach Hotel is approximately 103 km from the Bandaranaike International Airport(Colombo), around a three-hour scenic drive to the hill capital.

Hotel caters for 3 types of accommodation namely Deluxe Room,Executive Suite and Presidential suite.All rooms have private balcony and hence the river facing rooms provide a better view.We stayed in a deluxe room which was quite spacious with all amenities including tea/coffee maker with adequate sachets and even extra sachets were provide without any ado.

Buffet Breakfasts and Dinners provided with wide variety and awesome taste.The daily changing menu catered for all nationalities with adequate Indian spread.There are also live stations for pasta,rotis/naans,dosa,eggs etc.

The highlight of the hotel is their over courteous,efficient and cheerful staff who welcome you with folded arms every time you cross them.They also clear used plates very promptly and are always alert to your needs and you hardly ever need to call them since they are always around anticipating your requirements in advance.

The ceremonial draping of the Saris by the female staff is also eye catching and looks impressive to even Indian ladies.

The General Manager of the hotel who has been with the hotel for last 25 years is ever available and insists that he could be called at any time there is a need day and night and he truly lives by his word.

On the whole a very comfortable hotel with all amenities and ever helpful and very efficient staff equally complemented by outstanding meals which makes it an ideal choice and truly a home away from home.

Room Tip: River view rooms on higher floors give an unobstructed view of the Mahaweli River.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank anil_sharma1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Ayubowan!

Greetings from Mahaweli Reach!

We thank you sincerely for taking your precious time in recommending our product and services. Its with a sense of pride we note that every aspect of our hotel & its services have contributed to everlasting memories of a marvellous stay at Mahaweli Reach.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017

Dear Mr Rodney Armstrong (*Resident Manager),
We would like to say that how pleased we were with the service provided to us by entire hotel staff. During our recent trip we were fortunate enough to stay at your Hotel Mahaweli Reach in Kandy from 25th to 27th Nov 2017 (3 days). We have stayed at different hotels in Sri Lanka and have found this hotel pretty good and the staff very friendly.

We want to express our appreciation for the superior service we received when one our friend was unwell, and you personally arranged for company van and accompanied us to the nursing home and offered to pay the charges. It was indeed very gracious of you Mr Rodney..!

We also want to express our gratitude to your entire team, and in particular Ms Samudra at front office and Mr Mahesh at catering were very helpful and deserve a great deal of praise for their excellent customer service.

We are all Indian Navy Veterans and batchmates of 1970, who have participated in various naval campaigns during our stint in service. The staff at the hotel maintained a positive attitude and ensured we felt welcome during the stay. Everyone treated us with dignity and respect. I was amazed at the consistency in their performance and willingness to go the extra mile. The staff was well groomed and took pride as representatives of the Haven.

Rodney, kudos to you and your staff for making our stay a great one - we will definitely be staying with the Mahaweli Reach again, if something brings us to Kandy. Some training programme or a motivational lecture, my core competency, may just be a good enough reason for me to return.

Room Tip: River side rooms are excellent, so are park view.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank captainji2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Ayubowan!

Greetings from Mahaweli Reach!


We thank you sincerely for choosing Mahaweli Reach as one of the stops during your tour of Sri Lanka. We are indeed very pleased to hear that the hospitality, personalized service, and the attentiveness of the staff facilitated a wonderful stay with us. It’s with great pride we acknowledge your feedback regarding your stay at Mahaweli Reach and are glad that any assistance we were able to provide helped you during your time of need. We trust everything is better now.

Whilst thanking you for your gracious recommendation of our product and service, we look forward to welcoming you again for an even better experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2017

It is a beautiful hotel situated on the river front and the room was spacios and wide beds and comfortable seating.The hotel is by the lakeside and has a very relaxed ambiance.The food variety is amazing with several live counters unlike the starved and depleted Europeon hotels.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mukul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Ayubowan!

Greetings from Mahaweli Reach!

We are truly happy to learn that you have had a relaxed and an enjoyable holiday with us. The ambiance of the hotel, its location by the riverside, amenities, and moreover the varied cuisine with action stations etc offered at Mahaweli Reach have contributed to make your holiday a memorable one.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Mahaweli Reach!

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews