We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dream holiday home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sweet Cinnamon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sweet Cinnamon
Ranked #14 of 271 Speciality Lodging in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“dream holiday home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

Sweet Cinnamon made our dream holiday in Sri Lanka. The beautiful Sri Lankan grounds and the kind hospitality of the owners and staff were all we needed to chill and be pampered. We didn't want to leave the grounds and we were very content to spend our days relaxing in the beautiful house and being served excellent Sri Lankan food. They organised a little cooking demonstration for us at our last minute request. They were so accommodating and pleasant. I would definitely go back if i needed a quiet retreat. It is my dream holiday home.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank InaChristian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    26
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
35
53
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

We spent a couple of nights at Sweet Cinnamon and it was a lovely, quiet place to relax and use as a base for exploring Kandy and nearby places like the Pinnewala Elephant Orphanage and the Botanical Gardens at Peredinya. Our auto driver found it easily when we gave him the address (through the tunnel under the mountain, to Anniewatta, then right onto George E. de Silva street and left where there's a sign to the church).

The service was excellent and the staff really friendly. Our room was beautiful, with a flour-poster bed decorated with a heart-shaped design of little red flowers, a big chaise-longue, a big TV, iPod dock, and a luxurious bathroom with a big shower and views of the jungle. There was also a really nice lounge to relax in.

Admittedly the garden didn't seem to be anything special but it was peaceful and a world away from the more chaotic streets of Kandy, despite only being a short tuk-tuk ride away from the centre of town. The food was great - breakfast and dinner - and we had a lovely pot of English breakfast tea and homemade carrot cake when we arrived, after a long train ride up from Colombo.

It was a bit rainy while we were there in June, but we had the benefit of being out of season so we had the place to ourselves. I would definitely recommend Sweet Cinnamon and I would stay there again if we we're ever back in Kandy.

Room Tip: Our room was one of the Deluxe ones, and I'd really recommend it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

The guest house was tucked away up in the hills, surrounded by lots of nature. There weren't too many rooms, so it was peaceful and quiet. The rooms we booked were spacious, clean and modern, with nice flowers laid on the towels when we arrived. Priyan and his wife were very accommodating and helpful with recommending activities, giving honest prices for tuk-tuks, and even recommending accommodation for the rest of our stay in Sri Lanka. The breakfast was great.. possibly the best breakfast we had in the whole month-long trip. Lots of fresh fruit, waffles, and a variety of other yummy cooked food. We only stayed for one night, but would have loved to stay longer and would definitely stay here the next time we return to Kandy. Thank you for providing us with such a great experience overall.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013 via mobile

Our driver had a bit of trouble finding the place, but when we did we were really happy with Sweet Cinnamon as our Kandy accommodation. Tucked away in beautiful surrounds, I'd have loved to have stayed longer. Breakfast was served at a time we requested and there's even a game of scrabble if you're keen.
I'd recommend this place as a nice getaway from the main streets of Kandy

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aimeegossage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

I stayed here for a week in August. This was the nicest place I have stayed in while in Kandy. Much more peaceful and definitely very friendly compared to all the others that I have stayed in 10 visits to Kandy.
Its close enough to the central attractions, but nice and quiet when you want to relax. Priyan is extremely kind and knowledgeable and could not have been more helpful. Tuk-Tuks are easily available, and for longer trips they can put you in contact with drivers/ vans which were again very helpful and very reasonable. The staff were very friendly and helpful (- thank you!).
Great base for exploring the hill-country and to the south - and our hosts were flexible.
Food was fresh and excellent - beautiful curries and fruit. Lovely tea and coffee while sitting outside. They will do their best to advise and accommodate requests.
The rooms, bathrooms, verrandah, and gardens were lovely, (rooms were - air conditioned).
This is my first choice of places to stay in Kandy and I travel there regularly. Peaceful to stay in after a long-haul flight. A lovely friendly and clean guest house.

Room Tip: all rooms were very good - as above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaR22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

This place is pretty over priced for what it is, there are very limited amenities or service. It's just a room in a house. It's too far from town to walk, so you have to rely on taxis. Would be secluded and quiet if it wasn't next to a building site and a neighbour who is eager to show off their ghetto blaster. Breakfast is vert good and the owners seem nice, but don't make a huge effort to give you any information when you arrive, like meal times, costs, checkout times or local activities. Would expect more for paying this much.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldtraveller0609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

A beautiful house just on the edge of Kandy in lovely gardens. The rooms are clean and spacious and the whole house had a welcoming feel.

The owners ad staff were so helpful and friendly and we got shown how to make one of our favourite dishes. We ate dinner here both nights and it was fantastic. Multiple curries, different on both days. We stayed here on our 2nd and 3rd nights in Sri Lanka and another guest told us they had been travelling for 3 weeks and this was the best food they had eaten.

Highly recommend staying here

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
3.6 mi away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#1 of 1 in Tennekumbura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,851 reviews
1.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#9 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
0.5 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#8 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
1.1 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#5 of 58 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweet Cinnamon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweet Cinnamon

Property: Sweet Cinnamon
Address: 198/11 George E de Silva Mwt, Kandy 0, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 271 Speciality Lodging in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sweet Cinnamon 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Boutique Hotel featuring 6 elegant guest rooms and suites. Situated within the city limits of the historic Kandy Town and set amongst lushly planted gardens and a private natural forest,Sweet Cinnamon is an ideal location for corporate and leisure guests.At sweet Cinnamon its all about you. You can start the day by having a relaxing read of the daily newspaper while enjoying a freshly brewed cup of aromatic Sri Lankan tea followed by a hearty breakfast. .Take relaxing stroll in the garden or enjoy your music via the iPod docking station in your room. If you like bird watching you are sure to be amazed by the variety. We still are.We also have a extensive collection of spices, from the world famous Ceylon Cinnamon to nutmeg.Take care of your body and spirit indulge in a rejuvenating massage at the Ayurvedic Spa or visit the Yoga and Meditation center. A treat sure to de-stress and recharge you. As evening tea time rolls by soak in the tranquility of nature while enjoying a complimentary freshly baked Signature Cinnamon roll with a pot of tea in our well-appointed lounge with garden views.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sweet Cinnamon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing