We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sweet Cinnamon Long stay
Ranked #9 of 395 Speciality Lodging in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I can endorse the previous positive comments. We stayed here for three peaceful nights in August. This is a beautiful and gentle setting with gracious hosts. Our room was perfect and complete with very thoughtful details.
The downside is that you may struggle to find it in a tuk tuk , it is a shame that this cannot be resolved perhaps with a map available to guests before they arrive. However once you are there it is an oasis of calm. We walked into town each day and had a wonderful driver arranged for us when we left.
A memorable and authentic stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie2008UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

We had a brief stay in Kandy, but having stayed at Sweet Cinnamon, we with it had been longer. This is wonderful accommodation, with two wonderfully hospitable owners. The gardens are lush and the accommodation very comfortable. Our food was cooked to order, with the staff at pains to deal with specific dietary needs. It was an easy tuk tuk ride into Kandy, but it was always a pleasure to return after sightseeing. We certainly would not look anywhere else should we return to Kandy. Chris and Louise

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris1787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights over Christmas and had a fantastic time. The room and bathroom are spacious, clean and have high ceilings. They even provide all the necessities if you've forgotten them or you've run out; like toothpaste, toothbrushes and tissues. About a 20 minute walk into town it feels like you're in the depths of the jungle but with beautifully maintained gardens. So peaceful, ideal for couple or young families.

The owners and staff (sorry I have forgotten their names) were very helpful and courteous. Food was fantastic and plentiful. I will be recommending this place to any friends traveling to Kandy.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Foleybergnadel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

Sweet Cinnamon is nestled in the hills just off the Main Street to town. It's quiet and the grounds are gorgeous, yet it's only a hop skip and a jump to bustling downtown kandy. The footbridge to the botanical gardens is just down the street as well.

The rooms are cute and spotless and the breakfast is deeeeelishous.

Last but certainly not least, the staff is charming and extremely helpful. Make sure you ask them for help sorting your itinerary. They are a wealth of knowledge about the area.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beccalawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Sweet Cinnamon made our dream holiday in Sri Lanka. The beautiful Sri Lankan grounds and the kind hospitality of the owners and staff were all we needed to chill and be pampered. We didn't want to leave the grounds and we were very content to spend our days relaxing in the beautiful house and being served excellent Sri Lankan food. They organised a little cooking demonstration for us at our last minute request. They were so accommodating and pleasant. I would definitely go back if i needed a quiet retreat. It is my dream holiday home.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank InaChristian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We spent a couple of nights at Sweet Cinnamon and it was a lovely, quiet place to relax and use as a base for exploring Kandy and nearby places like the Pinnewala Elephant Orphanage and the Botanical Gardens at Peredinya. Our auto driver found it easily when we gave him the address (through the tunnel under the mountain, to Anniewatta, then right onto George E. de Silva street and left where there's a sign to the church).

The service was excellent and the staff really friendly. Our room was beautiful, with a flour-poster bed decorated with a heart-shaped design of little red flowers, a big chaise-longue, a big TV, iPod dock, and a luxurious bathroom with a big shower and views of the jungle. There was also a really nice lounge to relax in.

Admittedly the garden didn't seem to be anything special but it was peaceful and a world away from the more chaotic streets of Kandy, despite only being a short tuk-tuk ride away from the centre of town. The food was great - breakfast and dinner - and we had a lovely pot of English breakfast tea and homemade carrot cake when we arrived, after a long train ride up from Colombo.

It was a bit rainy while we were there in June, but we had the benefit of being out of season so we had the place to ourselves. I would definitely recommend Sweet Cinnamon and I would stay there again if we we're ever back in Kandy.

Room Tip: Our room was one of the Deluxe ones, and I'd really recommend it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

The guest house was tucked away up in the hills, surrounded by lots of nature. There weren't too many rooms, so it was peaceful and quiet. The rooms we booked were spacious, clean and modern, with nice flowers laid on the towels when we arrived. Priyan and his wife were very accommodating and helpful with recommending activities, giving honest prices for tuk-tuks, and even recommending accommodation for the rest of our stay in Sri Lanka. The breakfast was great.. possibly the best breakfast we had in the whole month-long trip. Lots of fresh fruit, waffles, and a variety of other yummy cooked food. We only stayed for one night, but would have loved to stay longer and would definitely stay here the next time we return to Kandy. Thank you for providing us with such a great experience overall.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.8 mi away
The Secret Kandy
The Secret Kandy
#6 of 58 in Kandy
326 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#13 of 58 in Kandy
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
#12 of 58 in Kandy
1,151 reviews
2.9 mi away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#3 of 58 in Kandy
373 reviews
1 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweet Cinnamon Long stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweet Cinnamon Long stay

Address: 198/11 George E de Silva Mwt, Kandy 0, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 395 Speciality Lodging in Kandy
Price Range: £73 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sweet Cinnamon Long stay 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Boutique Hotel featuring 6 elegant guest rooms and suites. Situated within the city limits of the historic Kandy Town and set amongst lushly planted gardens and a private natural forest,Sweet Cinnamon is an ideal location for corporate and leisure guests.At sweet Cinnamon its all about you. You can start the day by having a relaxing read of the daily newspaper while enjoying a freshly brewed cup of aromatic Sri Lankan tea followed by a hearty breakfast. .Take relaxing stroll in the garden or enjoy your music via the iPod docking station in your room. If you like bird watching you are sure to be amazed by the variety. We still are.We also have a extensive collection of spices, from the world famous Ceylon Cinnamon to nutmeg.Take care of your body and spirit indulge in a rejuvenating massage at the Ayurvedic Spa or visit the Yoga and Meditation center. A treat sure to de-stress and recharge you. As evening tea time rolls by soak in the tranquility of nature while enjoying a complimentary freshly baked Signature Cinnamon roll with a pot of tea in our well-appointed lounge with garden views.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sweet Cinnamon Long stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing