We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kandy View Garden Hotel
Ranked #86 of 456 Kandy B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

After a mix up with our booking, which the owner gave us free breakfasts, we got our correct room and it was amazing for a family. The pool was a perfect antidote to the heat. The view from hotel... Brilliant. The owner gave us a tour of Kandy and then took us to Ella and was very informative about his country. A lovely man. We will be back but will book through booking.com not agoda next time as you don't have to pay up front.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yasawas2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 22 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2013 via mobile

First of all this has fantastic view probably best view u can find in kandy, pool is not big but clean & u can have fantastic time, owner of this hotel was true gentleman & friendly, can have a beer or hard liquor near pool even at 7pm its located in calm & quiet place family room is very comfatable & five adults can easily stay here, in brief kandy view garden is superb place & I'm looking forward to come again

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ishara1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We arrived at the hotel after a tiring day. We had a family room, which was large and clean with a huge glass window overlooking the town. The bathroom was excellent, too, it was clean and very big. We went for a swim into the pool. The water was clean and deep enough for a good swim. It was nice to sit on the open air balcony in the evening and watch the lights of the vibrating city. We had our breakfast in a lovely dining area overlooking the town, too. If you want to stay in a calm, comfortable hotel, Kandy View Garden is the best choice for you!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erikapelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

This was a disappointing and weird experience - so much so that we decided to cancel our week-long booking after only 1 night (having to pay for 2 was small loss) & relocated to a proper hotel.

For a start, this is an oddly-constructed 4-storey house with some dubious exposed foundations, and lots and lots of internal staircases with a huge void to a dingy pond at the bottom- definitely not child-friendly.

The rooms were barely clean, with dated bathrooms, and our room even had blood-smeared mosquito 'splats' on the wall near the bed. The beds were horrible - hard, lumpy & a/c kept switching off after a few minutes, so we barely slept.

We didn't even venture near the pool, as it was too deep for children, and not very clean. It's in a tiny courtyard right near the garage / parking space, so I wasn't letting my children out of my sight!

The weird aspect was that there were about 5 men walking around, presumably staff/family members, as we had booked the hotel exclusively for our family. There was no explanation as to how it all worked & who was who... The full-length glass windows were not clean, and were surrounded by exposed electric switches / wires, dusty electronic equipment & dead insects. Not a pretty picture at all! The location is also a let-down - isolated & up some very, very steep roads, so you wouldn't exactly be going for a stroll after dinner.

Overall, I would not recommend this for families, although if you are after budget accommodation, this might be OK.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

I should say that this is the most beautiful Hotel with georgeus view to Kandy. Very friendly stuff and clean rooms. The food is perfect. I really recommend this place. You will be very worm welcome by the owner of this place. All the rooms have the view to Kandy and the wall is made from glass, so you get the feeling that you are sleeping in the garden.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
2  Thank SaskaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: les chambres familiales semblent être plus modernes et spacieuses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sandtotoche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank anthonybai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.5 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
2 mi away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#33 of 57 in Kandy
554 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hanthana Jungle View Holiday Home
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
jasmine Hill House
jasmine Hill House
#208 of 456 in Kandy
18 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hanthana Holiday Rooms
Hanthana Holiday Rooms
#3 of 456 in Kandy
353 reviews
1.5 mi away
Blue Haven Guest House
Blue Haven Guest House
#18 of 456 in Kandy
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kandy View Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandy View Garden Hotel

Address: 148/41 George E De silva Mw | Aniwatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 456 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range: £13 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kandy View Garden Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Kandy View Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing