We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location & service”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kandy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Planter's Hotel
Ranked #265 of 470 Kandy B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Two other hotels we checked were completely full and we chanced upon this hotel quite by luck. The staff at the desk were very courteous and helpful and we were given a room immediately. The room was spacious with a high ceiling and basic and the mosquito net over the bed came in handy. The decor is very simple in the room. The bathroom was clean but could do with some new shower curtains. The lobby was very festive and nicely decorated. Breakfast was not included in the room rate. But when we had asked for some hot milk, the service was prompt. Quite close to the Kandy Lake, this place is in a great location. I would recommend this place for its service and location.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2pence_worth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2013 via mobile

Planters is 5mins walk to the lake tho will need to take tuk tuk when it gets dark. Rooms are spacious and clean, staff are friendly and helpful. Includes breakfast which was basic but great views from the balcony.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Utopiajw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We had a good experience at the Planters Hotel. While I enjoyed my stay there, I feel that it is over priced, given its lcation, quality of breakfast and overall condition of the hotel. I liked our large room, and simple decor. Our room was very clean, anything you need, just ask. The owners are kind, friendly and helpful. The staff quick to offer a hand.
The hotel was a little far from things, I prefer hotels more centrally located. It's easy to get a tuktuk to and from the hotel, despite its location.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marina2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

This place has received mixed reviews on the various sites and I can only say that those giving it a good review cannot be very discerning - even budget traveller discerning. Some of the rooms are simply depressing and even the better one that we eevntually got was only OK. Location outside town is inconvenient. Rather stay somewhere surrounding the lake

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don_Lindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013 via mobile

Such a shame as the rooms & bathrooms are large but need a good clean and are very out dated as is the whole hotel.

Not in centre of town or near anything particular so needed our driver to take us to a restaurant but it was quiet and we slept well.

Breakfast was very odd in the ballroom complete with oversized Hanna Montana posters!!?! It was an experience we laughed about afterwards

Having said all this it was reasonably priced and if you only want a quick stopover it's a cheap and not unpleasant option.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeEmmGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Let’s start with the positives. The Planters Hotel has a pretty good location, about 350m east of the lake; 15 minutes walk to the temple of the Tooth and a further ten minutes walk to the centre of town. The staff are friendly and try their hardest to be helpful and accommodating.
When we arrived, we were shown to room 16. It was dark, small and depressing, even at 2pm, and we made it clear that we could not sleep there. The owners agreed to prepare an alternative room for us (room 8) but explained that it would not be ready until 8pm as it needed to be refurbished. Nevertheless, we asked to see the room. It looked pretty bad but it had 2 French windows leading to small balconies, and it was much larger. When we returned at 9pm we were pleasantly surprised at how much they had managed to change the look of the room. We accepted the room as we were tired. However in the light of day, things looked very different. The room still looked grubby. The windows were dirty, the bathroom window did not shut, there were ants in the bathroom and we were subject to bites as there was no way of keeping the insects out. Room 8 was in the front of the hotel and suffered from traffic noise on two sides from the early hours. Our room lacked any bedside tables but the owners found one for us when we made a request. They also provided two chairs but they were very dirty. We also had to ask for a duvet as the one sheet they had provided was very thin and was actually a single sheet being used on a double bed. The duvet they gave smelt damp. The next day, we were provided with an insect repellent but this was not very effective. We noticed that some of the other room s seemed much nicer and after a discussion with the owners, we were moved to room 9. This room also had air conditioning and a TV, although that stopped working after a few hours and was not repaired before we checked out. It also had ants and bugs in the mosquito net so we elected not to use the net as this would simply encage us with the critters. The furniture was pretty bad, the sideboard had a missing leg and the lid of the toilet cistern was broken off and the sharp edges covered with masking tape to prevent injury.
Breakfast is served on the top floor in a large room which looks like it is designed for banquets with big round tables for 8 people. It looked depressing with grubby and stained tablecloths and chair covers, complete with gold bows. The tablecloths were never washed during our 4 days stay and looked awful. Some walls were decorated in Hannah Montana posters and the curtains were drawn shut. I opened the curtains to reveal a lovely view. Why on earth do they keep the curtains shut when the best thing about this room is the view? Breakfast was adequate – fruit platter, eggs white bread and coffee or tea. Some residents also got yoghurt or fruit juice but there was no consistency. One morning we were offered the choice of a Sri Lankan breakfast too.
My overall impression of the Planters Hotel is a negative one. The air conditioned rooms are charged at 77 USD for B&B for 2 people. This is very poor value for money when one considers that the Queens Hotel, a grand colonial building, located in the centre of the town, asks for just 92 USD. Moreover, the Queens offers a swimming pool and much larger rooms with true “faded colonial charm” as opposed to “dire need of maintenance”. Adjacent to the Planters is the Orchard House, a guest house that charges just 25USD. We met a couple who moved from Planters to the Orchard House and were much happier with the room and standards of cleanliness.
Other reviewers seem to have been charmed by this property and it was after reading their reviews that we chose to book the hotel. We bitterly regretted our decision and would have moved had we been able to find another place with rooms over the Christmas period.

Room Tip: Avoid room 16. The quiter rooms are at the back of the hotel and these are generally the ones with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maz2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Depends what you are looking for - it is a lovely old building with character, we chose a deluxe room which was large, with a nice wooden floor - quite basic but nice enough - the main problem for me was that the light was very dim in the room as it was not a lake facing room with a balcony (I believe that none of the deluxe rooms have a view or balcony as they have AC but this might be worthwhile checking) and the curtains were fixed giving the room no natural light at all making it a bit dingy, which was a shame.

The bathroom was fine for what we needed but not particularly nice as it is quite old fashioned, grubby and infested with ants and we had a few minor issues with the water temperature and pressure but nothing major (at one point we had no running water at all but the staff quickly fixed that!)

On the positive side the service was very good and there is a nice view from the breakfast terrace as it is uphill from the lake. It was fairly quiet most of the time as it was set back from the main road, although there were a few barky dogs nearby both nights. The breakfast was standard

It was fine for a couple of nights stay I just think it is a little overpriced for what you get

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.4 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
0.3 mi away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#35 of 58 in Kandy
560 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#11 of 58 in Kandy
879 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#5 of 58 in Kandy
749 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Planter's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Planter's Hotel

Address: 40/2 Ampitiya Road, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #265 of 470 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing