We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place in Kandy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clove Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clove Villa
Ranked #4 of 58 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best place in Kandy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

We've stayed at Clove Villa for a single night last October and ended up to be the best place in the whole Srilanka trip. Clean and modern rooms and bathrooms. Simple but tasty breakfast. Difficult to ask for more. Keep on the good work!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Miguel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    69
    18
    0
    3
See reviews for
80
172
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights during our 3 week tour of Sri Lanka and the Maldives. It was a beautiful boutique hotel with incredibly helpful staff. The room was gorgeous and very clean. It had every modern amenity you could need with a bathroom that I wish I had in our house at home. The included daily breakfast was tasty and we only ate one dinner there, but it was good. The only downside was that it was a little out of town, however most nice hotels in Kandy are. A tuk tuk ride over to the center of town didn't cost that much and only took about 10 minutes or so depending on traffic. We definitely enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelislifegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We are from Australia and visited Sri Lanka recently.
Me and my family stayed at Clove Villa in August 2013
On arrival, We were warmly greeted by the Staff with a welcome drink and kind gestures.

Charlie was like a personal butler attending to all our needs during the stay.

The room was clean and tidy and the decor was exceptional.
Infact the entire Villa's decor was quite calming and tastefully selected and also represented the Ancient City of Kandy's historic paintings and art.

We stayed for 3 nights and was comfortable in the spacious rooms.
The Villa also offered toddler cot for our 2 year old.

Although its only about 10-15 minutes to the city of Kandy, the Villa and overall location was quite clean and livable and was tucked away from the busyness and dust of the city.

I would definitely tell my friends about our fantastic experience in Clove Villa and would have no hesitance to recommend it to anyone from Australia or any where in the world visiting Sri Lanka and Kandy.

Also, I should mention that the room rates were very economical and I could not find another for similar rates around the same area, and am very satisfied with the service and quality offered.

The room also had Free WiFi which was a bonus. Allowed us to upload photos to FaceBook, and connect with friends from home. (Which we take as a given in Australia, but other hotels I've stayed in Sri Lanka did not offer the same and was an additional charge to get WiFi, so definitely a bonus!)

My wife loved the bathroom, especially the His and Hers Sinks and huge shower areas.

Thank you Clove Villa for an awesome experience.

We would definitely come back next time.
Jay & Nilu

Room Tip: If you wish to drink, just ask the staff who can get whatever you like (Beer, etc) I'm told tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayWeerakoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herzliya, Israel
Level Contributor
155 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Thank you Charlie! such a nice guy. I loved this place and i think you make it so special. we spent 2 nights there and every night was more tasty than the other. Charlie was asking "what do you like to eat and suggest us his opinion and at the end it was perfect. so delicious. so thank you! :)
the rooms were pretty, great service, we really enjoyed the food however we'd like to mention that it was a little bit pricey for Sri Lanka. thank you!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malmichal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

This boutique hotel is really like staying at a particularly glamorous friend's house! The décor is beautiful both in the communal areas and the bedroom - the bathroom was particularly lovely.

Given its size, I wasn't expecting too much from the food but it was really lovely and nicely presented. We hadn't noticed that they aren't licensed to serve alcohol but on noticing our disappointment, they offered to send a tuk tuk to the market for beer for us, which was very much appreciated. I would agree with another review that the dining area lacks atmosphere and maybe some music might have helped.

We were only there very briefly (arriving just before dinner and leaving after breakfast) but I felt it was the kind of place you could have easily spent a few days while exploring the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank staceyleea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

After a long drive we arrived in Kandy and at Clove Villa to be greeted by Charlie and some of the best service ever.
Our room (Ebony and Ivory) was fantastic and even with a bed for our 4 year old had enough room to not feel crowded, the furnishings were lux, without being over the top.
The food was fantastic with Charlie offering recommendations and going beyond to ensure we had fantastic food and that our boy enjoyed every meal.
A high-light was watching our boy feed the fish with Charlie!

An amazing special place with great people making our stay in Kandy, relaxing and memorable.

Room Tip: All rooms have a colour theme but all excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowang345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed 8 nights and every need was catered for. I was evebn advised that I didn't have wine or beer with me that meant I had forgotten to get essentials. The recommended taxis and tuc drivers were excellent as was the food -both breakfast and Dinner-so much so my wife has copies of the major recipes on offer. Charlie an Nawa our main contacts were magnificent.

Room Tip: Ask for the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ghamilton4568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
3.4 mi away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#1 of 1 in Hantana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
4.0 mi away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#1 of 1 in Tennekumbura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,856 reviews
2.6 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#9 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#3 of 58 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
8.0 mi away
Madulkelle Tea and Eco Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clove Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clove Villa

Property: Clove Villa
Address: 48 P.B.A. Weerakoon Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 58 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clove Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clove Villa is a vibrant, stylish and luxurious boutique villa located only ten minutes away from the historical city of Kandy. Surrounded by manicured lawns dotted with flower plants and trees heavy with fruit, the Villa offers Deluxe and Superior accommodation with the finest comforts and first class service. Comprising seven beautifully furnished rooms, a swimming pool, indoor and outdoor dining and many other entertainment facilities, the Clove Villa is the ideal choice for a memorable vacation in the picturesque hill country.Located in the heart of Kandy, the Clove Villa is easily accessible via road or train. Guests can easily access the many wonders of this city which was the last capital of the ancient King's era in Sri Lanka. The Villa is close to many shopping centres including the spanking new Kandy City Centre. The iconic Temple of the Tooth, which is one of the most venerable places of Buddhist worship and a World Heritage Site and the Royal Botanical Garden in Peradeniya is in close proximity to the Villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Clove Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing