We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Clove Villa”
Review of Clove Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clove Villa
Ranked #3 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I am a bit late writing this review - we stayed for 2 nights in November 2013. Clove Villa was a wonderful surprise. It was beautifully designed, quiet, and the staff was attentive and very pleasant. Charlie in particular went out of his way to make us feel as though Clove Villa was our home - thank you Charlie!

We enjoyed one of the best quality curry dinners we had during our entire 2 weeks in Sri Lanka at Clove Villa - delicious. Our only problem was that we couldn't finish the generous portions! The room was lovely, internet worked well, and the shower was a treat after some (relative) roughing it.

We loved our time in Kandy and would absolutely recommend Clove Villa. It's certainly out of the bustle of Kandy, and I am not surprised to see that other reviewers mentioned their taxi drivers weren't sure where it was - it's up in the hills in a very private location which in my mind is completely worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SKRichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

217 - 223 of 346 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2013

Our family just spent 5 nights in Clove Villa. We had specifically wanted to be there for Christmas based on all the nice reviews we had read back home. Overall we had a nice time and the staff were very friendly and helpful. If you consider staying there, please bear in mind the following (wish we knew that earlier): whilst the place is beautifully done and the rooms are excellently decorated, there are few things that could be improved. The swimming pool area is quite small and only four lounges for sunbathing but no mats for softness, so, after three minutes your body is aching all over. The way these lounges positioned soooo close to each other looks nice on the pictures but not practical at all if you have strangers few inches away from you and once there is one family already by the pool, you can't easily join in, as it feels like you are intruding on them. Secondly, since they don't serve alcohol, we expected them to be fully stocked on soft drinks. But after asking if they had any apple juice, orange juice or a diet Cola/Pepsi at least, the answer was still No. They promised to sort it out...but never did.
If you are a couple looking for a small quiet retreat offseason, or to use as a peaceful, elegant Kandyan base, this place can be the right one. But a family with kids might need to think twice. The place is all locked and ready for the night by 9:30-10pm. We had to tell our son that he could not play snooker, so not to make any noise.
Our long awaited Christmas Day, turns out they did not have enough tables to seat all their guests and instead of asking us about what could be done, we were forced to spend our Christmas Day meal in our room in front of the TV balancing plates on our knees, trying to explain to our son why this is happening. The following morning when my husband went first for breakfast, he was promptly told that they "will bring breakfast to our room", since again a large group seemed to have commandeered the tables. He had to insist that we are going to have breakfast there at the table and after some juggling and 20minutes later we had our table!
Feel bad for writing all this negative stuff, especially since everyone was very pleasant and the place is beautiful, but I really would not want to write a review that does not convey an accurate experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GalinaRatcliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights end of November. We were warmly welcomed. Our room and bathroom were very clean attractive and spacious. Food freshly cooked to order. I had sri lankan chicken curry and rice-superb! Breakfast also excellent-fresh juice,fruit,bacon and eggs,toast and tea/coffee. Nothing was too much trouble for the friendly helpful staff. Our waiter Nawa arranged a tuk tuk 150 rupees so we could go to local supermarket for a bottle of wine. Didn't know what to expect as 1st time in Srilanka. Would definately recommend and return.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Priscilla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

we stayed in clove villa 1 night and booked it through tripadvisor. We're on our honeymoon and enjoyed the hotel very much.the deluxe room was the best and really luxury. The hotelfeels like a home away from home,with a pool table and a swimming pool at the yard. The hotel justify the price and we recommend this place for couples and even families. The breakfast was like eating in a five star resturant. Just one thing-we went to travel in the city of Candy and when we wanted to go back to the hotel by taxi no one knew it or where it's located. Therefore when you go out from the hotel make sure you have a reception phone number and adress because it's located just outside the city and not inside the main road (about 5-10 min drive to the temple ).
Overall it was one of the best hotels in our honeymoon. We recommend it warmly.

Room Tip: The deluxe room was very luxury.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Comfortable, clean, and luxurious rooms, coupled with great service!

Especially loved the robust wifi and iPod speakers (have been missing my music these last few months of traveling!)

Clove villa was also the only hotel in sri lanka that had no bugs in the room! No Mosquitos and no ants! Perfect.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Janette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Me and my wife spend our one night stay at this fabulous villa on 2th December 2013, We enjoyed our stay at this hotel very much. Elegant decors, the room are very clean and nice food 100% excellent. We enjoyed our stay and sooner we will return to this place to spend some more days in a peaceful full environment.

Most important this is I requested a special arrangement but they amazed me with a fabulous arrangement which made my wife crazy. I have attached the photos of the room it is awesome. Thank's for the Clove villa team.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pradeep T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

Absolutely loved our three nights here.
Charlie and the rest of the staff were very friendly, attentive and helpful.
Beautiful decor in the big rooms, with the best bathrooms in Sri Lanka.
Great private pool out the back for relaxing - maybe even order a club sandwich while you're at it.
Definitely recommend staying here.

Stayed: November 2013
2  Thank Nyenyezi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.8 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 56 in Kandy
566 reviews
2.6 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.4 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 56 in Kandy
828 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
2.3 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 56 in Kandy
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clove Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clove Villa

Address: 48 P.B.A. Weerakoon Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range: £86 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clove Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clove Villa is a vibrant, stylish and luxurious boutique villa located only ten minutes away from the historical city of Kandy. Surrounded by manicured lawns dotted with flower plants and trees heavy with fruit, the Villa offers Deluxe and Superior accommodation with the finest comforts and first class service. Comprising seven beautifully furnished rooms, a swimming pool, indoor and outdoor dining and many other entertainment facilities, the Clove Villa is the ideal choice for a memorable vacation in the picturesque hill country.Located in the heart of Kandy, the Clove Villa is easily accessible via road or train. Guests can easily access the many wonders of this city which was the last capital of the ancient King's era in Sri Lanka. The Villa is close to many shopping centres including the spanking new Kandy City Centre. The iconic Temple of the Tooth, which is one of the most venerable places of Buddhist worship and a World Heritage Site and the Royal Botanical Garden in Peradeniya is in close proximity to the Villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Clove Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing