We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five stars all the way”
Review of Clove Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clove Villa
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
176 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Five stars all the way”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We loved our two night stay at Clove Villa. It is away from the hustle and bustle of the city centre, set in a quiet residential road, but we preferred to do without a lake view for a little more peace. It is easy to get a tuk tuk into the centre.

Clove villa is a new, architect designed building, with lofty wooden ceilings and plenty of light. The reception/dining area is particularly splendid. There is a nice pool set in a small well tended garden.

Clove Villa is lucky to have an excellent chef and although they do not sell alcohol, they are very happy for guests to provide their own.

For us, the best thing about Clove Villa is the wonderful, helpful staff, in particular superstar Charlie. My husband was taken Ill soon after we arrived, always a bit more disconcerting when in a foreign country. Charlie organised transport to take us to the nearby private hospital and thereafter personally oversaw his recovery, even providing him with a special medicine - chicken soup! He is such an asset to the place.

Clove Villa deserves it's growing reputation. We cannot recommend it enough.

Room Tip: Lavender Fields is a spacious superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joinedupwhiting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    70
    19
    0
    3
See reviews for
82
182
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

WE were booked to stay overnight at Clove Villa by Sri Lank-an friends. Right from walking in the door and being greeted by Charley we knew were in a special place. The room was superb and better than some 5 star hotels and the food was excellent but most of all it was the staff and especially Charley that made it special. I day in Kandy was not enough and next time we will be back for more. I cannot recommend Clove Villa highly enough.

Room Tip: Our room was Raspberry something but I think all the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AfricaloverLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Custer, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

My wife and I spent two nights here while touring Sri Lanka. Charly was a wonderful host and we had a lovely Sri Lankan supper on our last night. The rooms were nice and comfortable and staff was friendly. It is away from downtown Kandy in a quiet location.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Russ988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

My and my family had a two night stay at clove villa,. The manager charlie really takes care of you and make you feel very velcome in this stylish and clean house. There is a terrific little garden in. The back with a small pool and some space for sunbathing. With is just perfect for a small family or a couple. Charlie prepare all the meals himself and has well adjusted menu that suits kids and family members that want to try more sri lankan food. Charlie also have very good connections to tuktuk and car chaffeurs that we have used durring our stay in kandy and all the way to Tangalle beach. He really helped us out a lot with safe and affordable transport! Couldnt been better!

Room Tip: We choosed the little more expensive room, and we couldnt ask for more!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T0bias77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

While this small property doesn't offer a view or being close to the sights in central Kandy, it more than made up for it by providing a nice room along with attentive service. It seems to be a pretty new hotel, or if not, they do a good job keeping things looking new (not always the case in SL, even in high end properties). The room layout was great with the only drawback that it didn't really have any windows to the outside.

We arrived mid afternoon and wanted something to eat before heading to the Tooth Relic temple for the evening ceremony. The staff was very accommodating and made us a nice sandwich & chips.

The pool is small, but just right given that there are a handful of rooms and most people are in Kandy to see the sights rather than lounge at a pool all day.

The location (just across from the much better known five star Mahaweli Reach Hotel) was not a problem for us given our short stay and having a driver. It took only about 10 minutes to get to the lake.

We give Clove Villa five stars because it provided the hospitality of a guest house and the amenities of a well though out boutique hotel and very reasonable price.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gabrielle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

The majority of Reddot accommodation we booked were small guest houses. A common theme was that they were in some pretty non descript areas located away from the central parts of the town. Clove Villa was one such lodging in Kandy. You wouldn't want to stay here without having a driver. We missed being able to go out for a walk around Kandy after dinner or sit outside and watch the lake if we had been staying somewhere closer to town. Is location is really (unless I missed something) is on the outskirts of Kandy near to nothing.
But then again at the end of each day we were pretty knackered and in need of a good nights sleep. Which is what we got here.
The place was (as most of these places) outstanding in terms of its boutique feel.
Attention to detail was good and the room was marvellous. Quiet and we had brilliant nights sleep and nice breakfast. Huge bathroom
Felt like staying in a multi millionaires personal house. Loved it.
Would I stay here again? Depending on the value for money I would possibly book somewhere with a view of the lake. The Kandy lake was very pretty.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Thanks to Tripadvisor we heard about Clove Villa, the neighbour of Mahaweli, the hotel we stayed in. Next door, 10 meters up the road, you ll find this great place to sleep and have dinner. Better food than Mahaweli, nicer rooms. Great architecture and garden.

Charlie, the manager, did a great job. Making us comfortabel. Too bad we knew this before...

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Roel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.8 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 54 in Kandy
505 reviews
2.6 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#7 of 54 in Kandy
996 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 54 in Kandy
684 reviews
3.2 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#8 of 54 in Kandy
736 reviews
2.3 mi away
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
#11 of 54 in Kandy
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clove Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clove Villa

Property: Clove Villa
Address: 48 P.B.A. Weerakoon Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clove Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clove Villa is a vibrant, stylish and luxurious boutique villa located only ten minutes away from the historical city of Kandy. Surrounded by manicured lawns dotted with flower plants and trees heavy with fruit, the Villa offers Deluxe and Superior accommodation with the finest comforts and first class service. Comprising seven beautifully furnished rooms, a swimming pool, indoor and outdoor dining and many other entertainment facilities, the Clove Villa is the ideal choice for a memorable vacation in the picturesque hill country.Located in the heart of Kandy, the Clove Villa is easily accessible via road or train. Guests can easily access the many wonders of this city which was the last capital of the ancient King's era in Sri Lanka. The Villa is close to many shopping centres including the spanking new Kandy City Centre. The iconic Temple of the Tooth, which is one of the most venerable places of Buddhist worship and a World Heritage Site and the Royal Botanical Garden in Peradeniya is in close proximity to the Villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clove Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing