We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fashionable Little Hotel”
Review of Kaya Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kaya Residence
Ranked #61 of 307 Speciality Lodging in Kandy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fashionable Little Hotel”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Firstly, you don't realize your in busy Kandy while staying here. The hotel is up a hill and a quiet location.
It was a pleasant stay. It felt very clean, modern and new.

My partner has bad knees and I had a sore leg from climbing Sigiriya so don't stay in on the top floor if you suffer with knee problems! The steps are steep.

The food was nice. We had the same 2 nights in a row because it was so tasty! The only thing wrong was the dining area design makes it very noisy. There were a family (2 parents + 2 children) staying at the same time as us and all we wanted was to chill out over dinner but found it difficult from the noise levels echoed around the room.

The room was lovely. It felt super clean, spacious and safe. Great bathroom, warm water shower.

The staff were truly amazing.

To improve:
Larger menu
Better mattresses
Sound proofing dining area
Checking how peoples knees are before giving the top floor room

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missminxy1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    23
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
15
29
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We have spent one night at Kaya residence in Kandy. The hotel was booked by our guide. Somewhat isolated from the town, this boutique hotel is actually a nice, quite retreat. Recommended for those who prefer to have a quiet evening at the hotel, rather than going out to the town. The room was nice but the bed mattresses have to be replaced (quite old and uncomfortable), The hotel staff is very nice. They prepared a nice dinner upon request and the breakfast service was also very good.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilena_Ro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I spent one night at this lovely boutique hotel located very close to the center of Kandy. It is in a residential neighborhood high on a hillside. The staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms were exquisite. I did not have time to go swimming but the pool looked very inviting. I had breakfast and dinner in the dining room where the service and food were excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

and the rooms were very large and nicely done up - but there needs to be a lot more done. There were quite a lot of ants in the bathroom and a large cockroach in the bedroom.... which they got rid of very quickly!!!

There is no menu and were told that dinner was a set menu and we could have chicken or fish - the food was okay but too much and quite expensive.

The staff were helpful and tried to accommodate us as much as possible but the lack of the menu was a big problem especially when the bill arrived!!

The pool was nice but very shallow and not overly clean.

This hotel is nice but much more needs to be done!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tintinmandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2013

A peaceful place at only 10 minutes Tuk-tuk from Kandy city center. We had a wonderful time with our kids, the staff were very friendly and the cook is excellent. The rooms are well decorated and the swimming pool is decent for a boutique hotel and very clean. In a nutshell, we will come back !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frenchies2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

A very boutique size property with 6 rooms and a decent pool. The whole property's decorated with various antiques, and most of them have interesting stories of their own if you have the time to listen. Foods all authentic Sri Lanka while the location gives you easy access to the city centre but is still far enough to give a bit of the Kandyan charm as well. If you have any special requests such as tours or visits to certain attractions approach the staff as they will help you out with these needs.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Changa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morzine, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

A small townhouse with lots of antiques situated on the outskirts of Kandy town. Nice bedrooms with air conditioning etc. delicious dinner with curries cooked from local ski lankan vegetables so a little more authentic rather than cooking for the European palate. A small swimming pool in the courtyard

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 941ChillyPowder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Hilltop
Hotel Hilltop
#28 of 54 in Kandy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#14 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Gangula Villa
Gangula Villa
#32 of 384 in Kandy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spica Holiday Home
Spica Holiday Home
#71 of 384 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hatale Tea Garden Bungalow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaya Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaya Residence

Property: Kaya Residence
Address: No 76 Sri Dharmapala Mawatha | Asgiriya, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 307 Speciality Lodging in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaya Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KAYA RESIDENCE IS UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT FROM 1st August 2016 Kaya Residence is a semi boutique hotel situated in the suburbs of the City of Kandy. Nestled amidst beautiful hills, Kaya Residence has become a well sought after location from the very inception. Both foreign and local tourists patronize Kaya Residence attracted by the peaceful ambience. "Kaya", meaning Home or Rock in Japanese, Pure in Scandinavian, Stay and don't go Back in Ghanaian and A body or a Form in Sanskrit, is the ideal retreat for a blissful holiday. The seven air-conditioned rooms with scenic views offer every comfort you desire including attached bathrooms, hot and cold water, T.V., telephone and elegant furniture and fittings, a blend of the traditional and modern. A dip in the clear blue waters of the pool will undoubtedly relieve you of mental stress from the hassle of everyday life. The Coffee Shop and T.V. Lounge will also contribute towards a balanced and relaxed state of mind. The historic Temple of the Sacred Tooth Relic is within 5 to 10 minutes by car if you prefer to engage in religious activities or goes sight seeing. The quiet surroundings are ideal for artists, writers and business travelers to maintain their usual lifestyle and privacy. The rates are also reasonable and will suit your budget. Do visit Kaya Residence and expose yourself to a novel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Kaya Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing