We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remote and peaceful”
Review of Dumbanagala Chalet

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kandy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dumbanagala Chalet
Ranked #38 of 370 Speciality Lodging in Kandy
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The weather was clear and fine for the two days and nights that we stayed at Dumbanagala Chalet, which from what we read in the visitors book is not always how it is. The night sky was stunning. The rooms are clean and confortable and the meals are fine. There are nice walks that you can do from the chalet or you can just sit and admire the view and enjoy the peace and quiet. We don't know why the bookcases were locked or why the rooms had multiple locks on the doors. Driver and guide accommodation and food was good.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RLFP_WSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

Its a wonderful experience at Knuckles range and a best place to stay over. Chalet is well designed, its clean and nicely maintained by very friendly and experienced staff. There are many places to visit from the Chalet including Cobrat's Gap, Mini World's End, Lakegala and Meemure Village where real village life of Sri Lanka blended with nature can be seen.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank prabhanw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We are a group of relatives and friends on a motorcycle tour around central and southern Sri Lanka. This chalet was one of the highlights of all the places that we stayed in.

It is reached by a fairly difficult cross country ride (we were on Honda 250 Baja bikes) or there is a road of sorts but like so many in Sri Lanka, "road" is a relative term. To be fair, there was a lot of road works in train which added to the excitement, particularly when you round a blind corner to meet the morning bus head on. As is so often the case here, there was no agro, all concerned just manoeuvered out of each others way.

The chalet is a surprise when you see it. Very modern and purpose designed. We were there in September which means the wind blows maniacally all day. It wasn't possible to go outside on the deck for fear of being blown away. The main lounge area is tastefully decorated and very comfortably set up. There is a huge library of all sorts of books but quaintly, the doors are locked. As we were the only guests, I'm not sure what to make of that, however, it was made available to us after we asked.

The bedrooms are quite large and comfortable and the bathrooms very adequate. The chalet has its own hydro plant for electricity when there is enough water so there will be times when power is unavailable but given the location it is a small price to pay.

The food was typically Sri Lankan but more than adequate.

The chalet would be a great place to simply relax and forget the outside world. With the open fire going, a good book and a serious red wine, life wouldn't get much better.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidUral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Best location to enjoy the wonders of Knucles range. Situated at the very top only one km to the Corbats gap. You can have a nice walk in the mist upto Corbats gap and enjoy the scenery. You can see four districts from this point. Bungalow is very well designed and maintained nicely. The rooms and toilets are very clean Food is also very good. There are spacious balconies in the halls and as well as in each room. A mezzanine floor is also available in each room.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank giriColombo_SriLanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Manuela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 18maya1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank mable430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
0.0 mi away
Oruthota Chalets
Oruthota Chalets
#3 of 3 in Digana
35 reviews
0.0 mi away
Madulkelle Tea and Eco Lodge
0.0 mi away
Knuckles Heaven Nature Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#36 of 56 in Kandy
550 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 56 in Kandy
720 reviews
0.0 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 56 in Kandy
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dumbanagala Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dumbanagala Chalet

Address: Dumbanagala Plantation | Loolwatte Hunnasgiriya, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 370 Speciality Lodging in Kandy
Price Range: £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chalet is set amidst towering mountains and lush green forests of the famous Knuckles range of Sri Lanka. Four luxury double rooms and a luxury suite are available for occupancy. The lobby with its balcony provides a magnificent view. The large stone fire place and the well stocked library are part of the lobby. Dining room serves set menu and a la carte. This is a photographer’s paradise and bird and butterfly watchers dream. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing