We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No service, insectinfested room and poor food.”
Review of Serene Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Serene Grand Hotel
Ranked #38 of 55 Hotels in Kandy
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“No service, insectinfested room and poor food.”
Reviewed 19 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights. The staff seemed genuinely uninterested. Dinner first night, set western menu served slow and without taste, was actually so disappointing we had hoppers downtown the second night despite already having paid for halfboard.

Our laundry came back on time but before signing I checked the clothes and three sweeters were discoloured. After refusing to sign, the staff asked me to call the reception. I did so and they promised to call me back. So far they hadn't even said sorry about ruining our clothes. Next they call and say we only have to pay half the laundry bill! They've ruined clothes worth many times the bill, tried to hide it and then they still wants us to pay. So I asked to speak to the manager, who wasn't in. Arranged to meet him in the morning before leaving, of course he didn't show up. In the end we never saw the manager nor did we pay..

It's quite understandable that things can go wrong in the laundry, it happens to everyone. A 'sorry' and a free beer would've save my evening from getting ruined too. I think the place have a management problem.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 77ErikH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    42
    33
    19
    5
See reviews for
31
60
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We stayed two nights in this hotel and the room is ok, but not great for the price you pay. The bed is comfy, but has a build in around it which is not handy as this is much larger than the bed and very low, so you can hurt your legs. Our room was located just below the dinning room and the moving of the funiture made a lot of noise, keeping us up until late. The next morning there were swimming lessons in the pool right below the hotel and you might wake up because of this (we had fun watching the young children learn how to swim).

On our first morning we had only cold water in the shower and when leaving the hotel very early in the morning to go visit the temple of Tooth the security guard was a sleep and any one could have walk into the hotel where all the rooms are located.

Breakfast is fine but not great...and how difficult is it to prepare an omelet cooked well done? The first day (Sunday morning) we had an extensive buffet. The next day no buffet and we could only get an egg and assorted breads (chocolate, croissant, etc.) but no other choices.

If in Kandy I would definitely not stay in this hotel again! One night we went to Royal Bar and Hotel and although we didn't stay there I would choose that hotel over Serene Grand any day!

Room Tip: If you must stay choose a room not on the floor under the dinning room (avoid 301 till 306).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJC_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kandy hotels

surrey
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night as part of a five day tour of Sri Lanka. The staff were welcoming and the rooms were large, well appointed and clean. The food was disappointing, there was an odd mix of variety and it was difficult to structure a meal from what was on offer. Whilst the hotel is set back from the town slightly we still found it very noisy, both sounds from inside (moving furniture) and outside (children's swimming lessons at 6am) meant a broken nights sleep.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spacefrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Location and Access – High above the centre of Kandy in a built up area on the outskirts of town. Access is best by car although transfers from the town centre, the railway and bus stations will take 10 to 15 minutes by tuk tuk. Some car parking is available on the forecourt. The very steep access road from the town is badly maintained in parts

Google Earth - the hotel cannot be seen on street view

Architectural Style – A modern concrete and glass building on several levels built in to the hill side

Reception – Modern bright and efficient

Public Areas/Decor – All public areas are spotlessly clean and well maintained. There is no outdoor space but a small terrace/balcony provides spectacular views

Guest Rooms
These are over several floors. The ones on the top floor have full length windows to take full advantage of panoramic views but also attract a premium price. The others are on floors below “ground” (reception) level. All floors are accessed by an efficient lift

My room was on the lowest level and had a balcony but no view to mention

Space – Very large with ample room

Decor/Maintenance/Cleanliness – Modern fixtures and fittings and neutral colour palette - the epitome of a classic contemporary hotel. All very clean

Furnishing/Bed – A large comfortable double bed with clean linen and good pillows. Side tables, desk and large wardrobe. The only complaint - the bed was housed in a hardwood frame - just at the right height for injuring shins!

Bathroom - Modern and clean with a powerful shower in a glass compound. Complimentary body wash and shampoo. Non slip wood effect floor tiles much appreciated. Good and plentiful towels

Amenities including entertainment – The advertised free room wifi did not work but connection was no problem in public areas. Large modern flat tv with limited channels and very poor reception. Complimentary water

Lighting – Very good

Air conditioning and ceiling fan worked well

Food Offering – The restaurant looked to be an appealing venue for dinner but we opted to go into Kandy. Breakfast was international self service buffet style with chef cooking eggs to order. Maitre d’ was exceptionally welcoming and pleasant

Green Credentials – Plastic key card needed to activate electricity in room

Security – 24 hour reception - no minisafe in room

Value for Money – The cost for a double room (including driver accommodation) is $180 per night. Guides can obtain special rates - but these do not include the premium upper floor rooms

X Factor – The location is convenient for visiting Kandy. The modern clean style of the hotel will appeal to travellers looking for comfort and functionality. The situation of the hotel affords panoramic views of Kandy and the surrounding area

Room Tip: For a special occasion you might want to pay the premium for the rooms on the upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peterh125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

I;m writing this whilst staying AT the Serene Grand.
We were booked into this hotel by the tour company we've used and I was disappointed to find we weren't at the Serene Gardens. However, once we looked inside the hotel I was pleasantly impressed.
This hotel is of a good, international standard and I've no complaints at all about the standard of the room itself (although there is a lot of noise transference from the corridors, other rooms and above/below.
However the food in the restaurant was inedible, aside from quite a nice salad starter, The international food was of very poor quality - over cooked chicken, dried out fish and most of it was luke warm - including the rice (lukewarn rice is a known health hazard so I hope the other guests don't have upset stomachs).
Having had five weeks in Sri Lanka at this point, what I wanted was Sri Lankan food. All that was on offer (aside from the rice) was a cold carrot curry, a watery, cold dahl and a mixed vegetable curry of some sort (also stone cold). When I complained the waiter took the dahl away and about ten minutes later, after I'd given up and tried (and rejected) the fish in breadcrumbs - see above - I was told the dahl was now ready.
The room service menu has an impressive list of foods and their own website claims "a gourmet’s delight" -well I'd like to meet the gourmet - or anyone else for that matter - who would be delighted with the meal we were offered this evening.
What a let down for what is really a very pleasant building.

Room Tip: Aim for the top floor, you'll hear all the noise of the rooms above you otherwise. And don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.2 mi away
Oak Ray Serene Garden Hotel
1.1 mi away
Grand Kandyan Hotel
Grand Kandyan Hotel
#6 of 55 in Kandy
458 reviews
0.1 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Amanda Hills
Hotel Amanda Hills
#33 of 55 in Kandy
178 reviews
1.1 mi away
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
#13 of 55 in Kandy
373 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Swiss Residence
The Swiss Residence
#45 of 55 in Kandy
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serene Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serene Grand Hotel

Property: Serene Grand Hotel
Address: No 113 Rajaphila Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 55 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Serene Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Serene Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing