We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Noisy”
Review of Serene Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Serene Grand Hotel
Ranked #38 of 55 Hotels in Kandy
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Extremely Noisy”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We didn't want to pay for the hefty "gala" fees that most hotels in the area were charging so we chose Serene Grand. Unlike the Kandians, we were not big on celebrating the New Year and with all the travels through the culture triangle, we just wanted a quiet evening. Instead of buffet, we tried ordering ala carte but the kitchen was too busy with the New Year's buffet, nothing else can be cooked! Disappointed and exhausted, we traveled into town for dinner instead...

After we returned, the music went on for New Year's until 2-3am in the morning. I completely understand that New Year's need to be celebrated in style in Sri Lanka but the problem was the moving of the furniture above our room sounded like serious construction was going on. There was no sound proof whatsoever for the rooms directly underneath the lobby and dining area. People walking with slippers can be heard in our room below the main floor!

Our room was spacious, clean, and tastefully decorated but the noise was THE factor that made us move to a different hotel the very next day so that we can get enough sleep for our travels!

Room Tip: There are rooms that have great views of the hill but do not choose the one below the lobby due to n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    42
    33
    19
    5
See reviews for
31
60
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I was in Serene Grand Hotel Kandy for one night. I truly liked spacious clean rooms with spectacular view of Kandy town. Rooms are very clean and the shower and the bathroom is very good. I took Breakfast and dinner from this hotel and it is delicious. The hotel staff also too very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lekha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Stayed here one night and the room was spacious & clean with good showers . The view from our balcony was very nice although there are monkeys around and you are advised to keep the windows locked. The dinner and breakfast meals were excellent. The best western meals we had in Sri Lanka. Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eeky888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

The view was spectacular, rooms were clean with spacious balconies. Breakfast was good, you can sit outside view of beautiful mountains. Location is close to kandy city centre so you can enjoy nights there. I just didnt like how reception close at 10pm

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Stayed 2 nights in Kandy at Serene Grand- very steep hill to get to (make sure you have a car), rooms are not large, but with modern amenities and comfortable bed, the staff is very nice, and the food was one of the best we experienced in Sri Lanka.

we stayed in October 2013, a couple and a one year old baby - the restaurant staff went out of the their way to get a baby chair for us (which is not common in sri lanka at restaurants) and looking after us.

Room Tip: no pool or amenities... but great place to rest and have dinner after a long day sightseeing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Big_Marcelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,967 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 638 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

The Serene Grand hotel is situated on a small road that rises on the hillside above the lake in Kandy. It is ideally situated for walking down into town (or taking a short tuk tuk ride). Rooms have balconies with pleasant views of the hills that surround Kandy. Often monkeys can be seen parading around the place which is entertaining. The staff of this hotel are extremely helpful and friendly. Certainly in my experience if you want something different to eat from what is on the menu it can be done. Rooms are clean and well equipped and room service is excellent. I found no significant problems with the place. Wi-fi is excellent in the reception and restaurant areas but not so good in the bedroom - but that is a minor point as it works in the common areas.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank profjoypc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twickenham, London
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We booked the top floor - a large suite and superior room and cannot fault the rooms. The furnishings were excellent and the view from our balconies was lovely. Even the monkeys were a bonus, although I'm glad the doors were locked!!
The reception staff were welcoming and very pleasant; we arrived around breakfast time and our room was ready and waiting.
Why only three blobs? Because the breakfasts were really not up to standard and, having read other reviews about the dinners we chose to eat out!
On the plus side, the location is good and the walk from the lake is a great workout! There's a fine local restaurant about 600m along the road by a viewing point.

Room Tip: I would suggest as high up as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank howardwarwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.2 mi away
Oak Ray Serene Garden Hotel
1.1 mi away
Grand Kandyan Hotel
Grand Kandyan Hotel
#6 of 55 in Kandy
460 reviews
0.1 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Amanda Hills
Hotel Amanda Hills
#33 of 55 in Kandy
178 reviews
1.1 mi away
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
#13 of 55 in Kandy
374 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Swiss Residence
The Swiss Residence
#45 of 55 in Kandy
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serene Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serene Grand Hotel

Property: Serene Grand Hotel
Address: No 113 Rajaphila Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 55 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Serene Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Serene Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing