We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing like the pictures - eaten alive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nathashiya Holiday Inn
Ranked #255 of 470 Kandy B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This very strange guest house is nothing like the images on their website. The rooms are very dark, with gaudy, clashing, nylon bedding. There are amazing views, it's true, but inside it's all a bit *weird*. Especially the outdoor breakfast area which features a very strange fake waterfall feature with a murky green fish tank.

That said, it is very cheap and finding cheap accommodation in such a great location is quite a task in Kandy. The staff were very nice (no surprises there), and chatty.

Our room was fine, if garish, but another member of our party didn't sleep for two nights as she was eaten alive by some tiny bugs in the bed which also ended up infesting her bag. We were advised by the staff that this was because she had sweets, and apparently they like to eat sweets and if you've been eating sweets they also like to eat you. No offer of compensation or apology was forthcoming so we chalked it up to experience.

In summary - a very cheap guesthouse in an excellent location, walking distance to the town, with fantastic lake views; could definitely do with a good clean and toning down on the decorative touches.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisaminx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed for one night and mainly chose this for it's amazing view of the Kandy lake and temple. Stayed on the top floor, there was hot water, air conditioning ,fan and tv. Comfortable bed and everything was very clean and tidy. Breakfast was included in the price so we opted to go for it. You have to give your preference from 4 options the night before. The options had a variety so that anyone could enjoy such as toast and Sri Lankan style roti, bread, kiri bath. This came with tea and a fruit dish as well. The staff is limited but they get the job done.Location is very convenient as it's just a short walk to the town.

The window in our bath room was transparent and there was construction going on in the adjoining building. But the staff covered this up as soon as we requested it.

Overall, a very pleasant stay in a quiet beautiful environment.

Room Tip: Top floor, which is actually on level with the road has great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RanganaRadini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Simple guesthhouse with rooms with amazing views on Kandy lake. It is clean and efficient. Breakfast is OK. Staff are extremely nice. Overall a good guest house that does the job, 10mn from the centre.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fannette216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We spent 3 nights here and the staff were very nice and polite. Very accommodating.
The accommodation was kept very clean and the views were absolutely stunning.

Walk to central Kandy, including the main attractions, was 10 minutes.

We also got the opportunity try traditional Sri Lankan breakfast- which was delicious.

Overall very good value for money, and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Option of having AC at a small additional cost. However Fan is already provided. We recommend you re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kruti1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

the place was clean our room was backed up to the kitchen morning clearly hear people talking last night we war in top floor room hot water some time didn't work breakfast was normal. staff and owner friendly. place near to city and temple of the tooth. beautiful view from balcony. restaurant area is in front of room

Room Tip: find top floor or not kitchen side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dumi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

My husband & I & a friend found this place by chance & stayed for 1 night.

This is an owner-operated small, new B & B with about 5 rooms. We were on the top floor which was actually at street level. Nice, clean, pleasant room & ensuite. Effective rotating fan.

The balcony overlooked the gorgeous panorama of Kandy Lake – in the evening, we sat there & enjoyed drinks, absorbing the onset of dusk & the twinkling lights. As there weren’t many restaurants in the vicinity, we had picked up some ‘short eats’/snacks from town - a kind staff member brought us plates, cutlery, glasses & a table without us even asking him to do so.

The owner Varuni & staff were welcoming, friendly & helpful.

Be mindful of not keeping the door to the balcony open as there are monkeys about!

The only small gripe was the continental breakfast @ $US 3 pp : rather lacklustre. In the morning, what I truly wished for was a good cup of Ceylon tea – it arrived only after we finished breakfast & got up to leave.

On the whole this is a value for money B & B.

Room Tip: Room with a view of Kandy Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sayuri d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Natshiya Inn is up the hill overlooking Kandy and the lake from most of the rooms ( they only have 5, 4 are to the front, the 5th is on the side ). The rooms are ok, no aircon and a small useless TV since you don't get foreign programs there. Sounds good so far, but keep on reading:
The "restaurant" is just the space between the rooms downstaiars, no decoration, just three tables. On the menu they ask you to order 'at least' one hour before, they know why. I ordered lunch in the afternoon ( I am sure that I was the only guest ) which was annouced to arrive in 45 minutes but finally came after 70 minutes of waiting. For breakfast the problem is even more striking: either you order in advance and have to be there at a fixed time ( which doesn't garantee you that you will get your food on time ) or you have to wait for more than one hour.
Since the guesthouse is up the hill and there is nothing round the corner, except a heavily overpriced touristplace above a silkshop you can't just have your breakfast/lunch somewhere else.
Another issue: I arranged airporttransfer with them via e-mail, gave flightnumber and time, but when we arrived nobody there. The manager appologized afterwards , they 'almost' forgot about the transfer, that was all.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 62-stefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.2 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
0.8 mi away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#34 of 58 in Kandy
559 reviews
2 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#11 of 58 in Kandy
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
0.6 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#6 of 58 in Kandy
747 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nathashiya Holiday Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nathashiya Holiday Inn

Address: 59 Rajapihilla Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #255 of 470 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range: £19 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nathashiya Holiday Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nathashiya located very close to the Kandy city in Sri lanka and situated right opposite to the great creation, Temple of the Tooth Relic and Kandy lake. It is the best view in Kandy city. Each room has private balcony towards Kandy lake including hot water and internet,satellite T.V. facility. Kandy Esala perahera is one of the finest cultural pageants in Asia. You can make live visits of Esala perahera from Nathashiya. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Nathashiya Holiday Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing