We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent spot with gracious hosts”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
49 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Kandy, Kandy District, Central Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Robert A
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent spot with gracious hosts”
Reviewed 3 February 2016 for a stay in December 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Stayed here for Christmas with my girlfriends family. We were looking for a clean, comfortable and affordable place to stay for our first visit to Kandy. This place delivered plus more.

The only drawback I can talk about is the lack of signage to find the location. We arrived late in the night because of holiday traffic and even with the GPS on our phones we had trouble. The villa is located about a 20 minute drive outside of Kandy. Other than that the stay was superb.

The couple that keeps the villa waited and greeted us even though we were very late for our first night. The villa is spacious and welcoming. The next morning we got to truly appreciate all the beauty of the area and the spectacular views. Everything on the ground and the inside of the villa well very well clean and well maintained. It easily fit 8 people.

The beds are comfy, the bedrooms spacious, bathrooms with everything up to date and functioning. The kitchen was clean but never got to use anything since the couple took care of all our dining needs. We brought some food which they heated for us and also cooked a couple tasty meals accommodating everyone's dietary needs.

Can't say enough nice things about the couple that took care of us. Not only did they make sure our stay was completely satisfying with the inclusion of meal prep but also woke up early on our last day to make us breakfast and coffee since we had an early departure. They even took care of our laundry since this was the second week of our vacation.

For the price, accommodations, and hospitality you can't get much better than this. I would highly suggest a stay if you have the opportunity.

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: Views
Liked least: The road up to the villa
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroshanKu...
Matara, Polhena
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Mystical Paradise”
Reviewed 8 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The property is well furnished and we received all the amenities that a traveler would possibility need.The service levels and the hospitality of the owners were exceptional, To top all that, the location and the setting of the environment is out of this world. A Must visit place for a deep experience with the nature.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Panaromic View, The Balcony
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jyotsna65...
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Beautiful serene Property”
Reviewed 26 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We were a group of 9 adults ,family and friends, who visited this property last week.
Its a beautiful villa with awesome views , a lovely sit out and garden .Tissa and Jayanta were wonderful hosts and cooked great Sri lankan meals for us.
Since we were 9 adults ,we felt that two bathrooms were not enough. Also the small bedroom would be fine for children but my 6foot son found it a little cramped.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the hosts
Liked least: If one does not have transport may be difficult to get to
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chayini
2 reviews
“Perfect place to enjoy the time and view with a group of people”
Reviewed 31 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

10 of our friends looked for a place to stay 2 days and without knowing much just booked this place. But we were surprised to see the view from this place when we entered. Such a lovely view from top. And then we checked each and every rooms and it was way better than we expected and way better than it was in the pictures. The price we paid is cheap for such a place. There is an old couple who cooked for us and helped. Such a lovely couple. The place was equipped with all that we looked for. In summary, the place is a wonderful place to stay and have some fun.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ancy W
Romford
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 16 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Although I book the villa for its views, I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the hosts. What a wonderful people, so kind!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The chef and his wife
Liked least: The bedding
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jer_ferns
Goa, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Heaven in the hills”
Reviewed 31 March 2015 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I visited Amandari Villa last year with a group of 5 friends. I'm sure all of us would pick this as the highlight of our holiday in Sri Lanka. Hidden away in the hills of Kandy, the road to get to this gem was an adventure in itself. As soon as we laid eyes on it, we were in love with the place. We were greeted at the entrance by the caretakers of the villa (a warm and welcoming local couple) who gave us a tour of the place and we fell in love with it even more. The entire house is spacious and luxurious. The view is to die for! We were served some amazing home cooked meals by our hosts. They made sure we were comfortable and happy during our stay. Unfortunately we had booked the villa for just 2 nights and we immediately regretted our decision to leave so soon. I highly recommend this place to anyone visiting Kandy. You won't leave disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty C
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spectacular Setting”
Reviewed 4 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

3 of us stayed here for 4 nights. The awesome view is somewhat eclipsed by Tissa and Jayantha's hospitality, and Tissa's curry is one of the best you'll ever have. Freshly squeezed juice every morning. Don't expect to do any self catering! Anything you require is easily arranged, including the removal of bugs from bedrooms...
One of the bedrooms is off another which might be a problem for some, but you really can't fault this place. Unless you're afraid of geckos. Then you might.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing