We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a great new boutique hotel not to be missed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“a great new boutique hotel not to be missed”
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We have had a 2 day stay in this recently opened boutique hotel in what was formerly a Doctors house. It is on 4 levels with sensational views of Kandy city on one side and the hills on the other. The hotel has all the mod cons you would expect in a good hotel. Room safe, tea and coffee making facilities with tea and coffee, large TV with DVD player and cable TV. Good quality fittings throughout. The decor is modern with stylised paintings of Sinhalese women. Lovely glass walls and doors in the dining room are etched with lotus flowers. The dining room has a small bar at one end for a pre dinner drink. The menu is ample and the food is prepared with care, beautifully presented and reasonably priced. We used the spa facilities and enjoyed an oil massage with steam treatment. The staff are attentive and helpful. This hotel of only 12 very spacious and well appointed rooms will certainly become a destination for the discerning traveller.

Room Tip: The penthouse suite is amazing with its own private roof garden. Any room at either end of the build...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank chefAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Dear chefAussie

Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and was able to experience the Amaara Spa in the Sky during your visit.

Thanks again and we hope to have you back at Amaara on your next visit to Sri Lanka!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    107
    49
    9
    4
See reviews for
99
167
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2013

The views are just wonderful. The food is delicious. I needed a hospital visit during our stay. The staff could not have been more helpful or friendly in what was an anxious time. The Amaara Sky is also very well sited for visiting Kandy. I have no hesitation in recommending a stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Dear Margaret,

Thank you for your lovely review. Our main aim is to ensure our guests feel at home and are well taken care of. I shall pass on your kind words to our staff. Hope you are feeling much better now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Kudos to the staff of Amaara Sky Hotel for making me and my families over night stay a memorable one...Our group of 5 occupied the Penthouse Suite, which consisted of 2 King size beds. The room was exceptionally large with a panoramic view of Kandy town and the surrounding mountains, the view from the balcony was beyond words, and it's only a 10 minutes drive from the hotel to the city.

The service was professionally impeccable A thru Z. The Food and beverages were HEAVENLY. We thoroughly recommend it to anyone who is looking to have a memorable vacation. You will not be disappointed.

Thanks once again for the exceptional service you provided. Looking forward to visiting you once again in the near future.

Marissa Weeresinghe
Valencia, CA, USA

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Hi Marissa, thank you very much for your lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the Amaara Sky. The Penthouse is a very popular room choice as it is a value for money option when it comes to families. Once again, thank you and hope to see you back at the Amaara Sky!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

10 of my cousins stayed here for 2 nights late in december. We got the penthouse and 2 connecting double-bedrooms. I was impressed by how modern and classy the rooms where. Its a very cosy new world B&B. We landed at 11 PM and they were ready with dinner just for our group way beyond normal dinner time. The early morning view from the balconies was fabulous - lush green! Room service was prompt and courteous. I have to point out that the booking process coordinated by Ahintha and the rest of his staff was fabulous! They were pro-active in sending specific directions, calling on our way to check if we were doing Ok etc. Well done!

Couple of minor suggestions would be to broaden the food choices a bit more and ensure there are more reasonably priced places for the drivers to stay.

We loved the place!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaviprad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Dear Kaviprad,

Thank you for the lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your suggestions are appreciated, we will look into the possibility of increasing the food choices. We are currently negotiating to get a place of our own to house drivers to avoid the burden of paying for guest houses by our guests.

thank you again, and hope you visit Sri Lanka again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Visited Amaara Sky Hotel when i was in Sri Lanka last week and was amazed with what they have to offer, A short drive up hill in the heart of kandy takes you to Amaara Sky Hotel which has a breath taking view of the kandy city. well equipped, clean & spacious rooms, good food and a spa to relax are few you can expect. looking forward for my next visit to Ammara Sky. and Loved the paintings /art work .

Room Tip: second or third floor rooms has the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salindha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Hi Salinda

Thank you very much for the lovely review.
I'm glad you enjoyed your visit I hope to have you back at Amaara Sky in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

I appreciate the facilities available at Amaara Sky and the service as well. They have friendly and helpful staff . They have variety of dishes and that was excellent. The arrangement in the room was also good. room was very comfortable since it was equipped with LCD TV and fully air conditioned.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sasanka w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Dear Sasanka,

Thank you very much for your lovely review.
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you back at the Amaara Sky in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

I had the greatest plaesure of staying in Amaara Sky Hotel in Kandy. The rooms were exceptional and the staff were very friendly and always smiling. The spa was a great experience. They made us mixed tea (I suggest you must try) which no other hotel were will to make and that gave us a more homely feeling.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RiteshKShah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Hi Ritesh,

Thank you very much for your kind review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
It was our pleasure to host you and your family, we hope to see you back in Sri Lanka in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
1.1 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#8 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
1.3 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
1.2 mi away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#1 of 1 in Hantana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
2.3 mi away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#3 of 54 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
3.0 mi away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#1 of 2 in Tennekumbura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy

Property: Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
Address: 72/22 A.B. Damunupola Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious 14 roomed hotel virtually in the Kandyan Skies.We are small enough to ensure that you get a personalised service , but our team at Amaara is experienced enough to cater to your every need.Come ..... Stay with us at Amaara Sky ..... You'll love it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing