We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff at this hotel are worth writing home about”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
Ranked #12 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed three nights whilst visiting Kandy and could not fault the staff who could not do enough for us. Even after returning from the Perahara after midnight the staff greeted us and were willing to cook dinner. They had supplied a picnic box for us earlier to take whilst we waited in our seats for the Perahara but still ensured we were catered for on our return. Breakfast was great with a SriLanka breakfast available provided it was ordered the night before. They do not have a licence as yet but delicious meals make up for this. The trip into town is daunting as you walk down the hill and realise that you have to walk back up. If you take it slowly there are plenty of stops and the view is amazing. If all else fails the TukTuk's are plentiful. Rooms are clean and well maintained although we did not have a balcony we had a magnificent view of the city. We had a family next door and noisy children in the morning could be heard running outside our room around the stairs but this was the only down side we experienced. Thank you to the staff for making our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for city view if you do not mind not having a balcony. Worth the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smitty5608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the Amaara Sky and that they were able to satisfy your hunger needs after the Perehara (which I hope you enjoyed). Hope to have your back at the Amaara Sky on your next visit to Kandy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2013

The hotel is new(ish) but something is missing - staff are nice and friendly enough but not really very "warm" and there are some bad design flaws such as no powerpoints in the room other than those being used for lamps, fridge etc and one guest one in the bathroom. The key to one of our two rooms was an old fashioned type and very stiff to use. The toiletries were not replenished during our stay although the rooms were cleaned and tidied beautifully with designs on the sheets. Rooms have fabulous views and massive windows -curtains could be thicker as the light streams through them early which is not good for light sleepers or kids
It is a bit of a hike from the city up a steep hill but the walk down to town is not too bad - we caught tuk-tuks back up though!!
We had 2 massages - one was OK and the other was decidedly average - from two different masseuses
Restaurant was good for dinner - good service, nice food - unfortunately they dont have a license as yet so the drinks choice was decidedly limited with the wine list comprising 1 red and 1 white. Breakfast wasn't too bad - have had better - and worse! They weren't on the menu but we asked for cornflakes - which they had - unfortunately they'd possibly been sitting around for a while and were stale - perhaps if they'd been listed in the first place they would have been ordering fresh stocks more often.
The scores below marked averageare based on what I expected after doing some research on line

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2kidstoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. Your feedback is invaluable to us, as your correctly mentioned we are a relatively new hotel (opened in Dec 2012). Your comments have been noted and will be looked into.

Thank you and hope to have you back at the Amaara Sky in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

A fresh, very clean roon with stunning views, service to write home about and a limited but delicious menu. Even after returning from the Perahara festival at 23.30 they kept the resturant open for us and we received nothing but courtesy and helpfulness during out stay...but the views from our room alone where worth the time spent here. Sure there are more colonial hotels in town but there cannot be more with that are so clean and well maintained and that view...wow...thanks for a fantastic stay!pS....Ps. Even though the roof-top jacuzzi was out of order!

Room Tip: All rooms are great. Most face west...sip a sundowner on your terrace and watch the sun-set!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CPBMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that we could leave such a good impression on you. Hope you enjoyed the Kandy Perehara in all its glamour, it was our pleasure to keep the restaurant open for our guests during this period.

Hope you visit us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

One night visit in the middle of July. Staff was very polite and speedy service. Room was clean, but maybe a bit outdated. Location is on a mountain with beautiful view from room window.

We had breakfast and dinner in the restaurant. Again, very fast and polite service. I would not hesitate to come back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isimilus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Dear Isimilus,

Thank you very much for your lovely review and for choosing to stay at the Amaara Sky Hotel during your visit to Kandy. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and would love to have you back on your next trip up to Kandy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

My wife and I have jus returned from Sri Lanka and we stayed a couple of nights at he Amaara Sky hotel. It has a great view of the city, perched on the hill overlooking Kandy. The food is average and a bit limited. The room was quite big with a balcony and furniture was basic. Maria at the reception was helpful. Don't waste your time with the massage, it's not worth it

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ronwasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Dear Ronwasso,

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the lovely panoramic views from our hotel. We will look into your experience with our food and Spa, both of which we always maintain a high standard on. Hope to have you back with us on your next visit to Kandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Amaara sky has great views over Kandy as it is located high up a hill over looking the city. A round trip into the city was 600 rupees and only takes around 8 mins. Staff are very friendly and the room clean and spacious. We didn't have dinner, breakfast was a refreshing change the various buffets we have had, started with a fruit plate followed by eggs etc and a bread and pastry basket. Nothing to make it stand out from other hotels apart from the view. We only stayed 1 night. Couple of observations our room only had a shower, the TV is over complicated but there are DVDs you can borrow. We were woken a few times through night by barking dogs as one side of the hotel is next to the rood

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevingbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Dear Kevbell,

Thank you very much for your review. Glad you enjoyed our Breakfast options and our spacious rooms. Will look into your observations about the TV, and yes we do have a collection of over 150 DVDs for your viewing pleasure. Hope to have you back at the Amaara Sky Hotel on your next visit to Kandy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

The Amaara Sky is aptly named. Its elevation, perched on a steep, wooded hillside, providing an almost vertical view of the valley below, gives one the feeling of being, quite literally, in the sky. The hotel's dramatic situation and awesome views alone would likely justify a favourable review, but we found that the hotel's staff backed up the splendour of its setting with a high level of service throughout our stay. On our arrival we were extended a warm and sincere welcome, and were ultimately accommodated in the two floor penthouse apartment, a luxurious and expansive suite of two double beds, two sizeable bathrooms, and - on the lower floor - a large sitting and dining area supplied with a selection of fresh fruits and a very well stocked mini-bar. The suite came with a balcony from which you could savour the view of rooftops and trees gently cascading into the valley below. This, in short, was luxury beyond anything I'd hitherto known or experienced. That my girlfriend's name was laid out in petals on the bed as a welcome was a lovely, and greatly appreciated, touch by which I was genuinely moved. You really are made to feel very, very special at the Amaara Sky. Both the evening meal, and breakfast, were of fine quality and - it must be said - quantity. You will not go hungry here. Overall, this hotel offers such a bundle of positives in its setting, its service and its food, that I've no hesitation in declaring the Amaara Sky the best hotel I've ever stayed at.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank theroaringcataract
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely review. It was our pleasure having you and am glad to hear that you have such a great experience at the Amaara Sky Hotel. Will pass on your comments about the staff, who take great pride in their work and will be thrilled that they have left such an impression on you.

Thank you and hope to have you back at the Amaara Sky Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.3 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 56 in Kandy
828 reviews
1.1 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.0 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#13 of 56 in Kandy
1,339 reviews
1.6 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 56 in Kandy
566 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy

Address: 72/22 A.B. Damunupola Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range: £68 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious 14 roomed hotel virtually in the Kandyan Skies.We are small enough to ensure that you get a personalised service , but our team at Amaara is experienced enough to cater to your every need.Come ..... Stay with us at Amaara Sky ..... You'll love it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing