We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View, Room, Meals - Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
Ranked #13 of 55 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“View, Room, Meals - Excellent”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This is a small hotel (12 rooms) perched on the ridge of a hill overlooking Kandy and district. The view from any room will be great. From our balcony we relaxed with drinks taking in the scenic valley. Being above Kandy meant there was no noise at all during the night. Our room was large (king-size bed, single and plenty of space), beds were firm, bathroom was well fitted out, including large rain shower. That being said there were a few things missing (not available even after asking) - hair dryer, iron/board, tissues. Wi Fi worked well, large flat screen tv had plenty of channel but needed 3 controllers to operate.

We stayed for 2 days on half board basis. The meals were a highlight. Different cooks for each day provided 2 ways of doing things but all meals were excellent. Being in a group of 3 provided us with 6 different mains at night - they were fresh, healthy and tasty. Western and Sri Lankan dishes were available.

Getting into Kandy - it is possible to walk down but will diffinitely need a tuk tuk to get back.
Spa in the Sky - price was right but the massage was lacking technique. Also the hot tub was not available due to a leak.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Millet-Fanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Dear Millet-Fanger

Thank you very much for your lovely review. Glad you enjoyed your stay and that our chefs provided you and your party with a great culinary experience. We apologies for the inconvenience caused with the hot tub being out of order. Hope to have you back at the Amaara Sky on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    113
    50
    9
    4
See reviews for
104
170
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My family and I stayed at this hotel over the weekend and were not at all impressed, particularly given the positive reviews on Trip Advisor. First of all, this is a relatively new hotel, yet the rooms are lacking in many ways. The bathroom door knob was faulty, and tended to get locked from the outside. There were no extra power sockets in the rooms, except for those already used for lamps etc. Those power sockets used the old round-pins, so you're pretty stuck if you don't have a multiplug. The rooms have little character. Take the paintings away and you could be in any other 3-star hotel in any other provincial capital in Asia. Second, for a small hotel, the personal attention from the staff is missing. The staff are friendly enough, but don't really seem to care about your specific needs. When I called Reception around 11pm (because the bathroom door had jammed itself locked), noone ever answered the phone. Third, while the Sri Lankan food at the restaurant is excellent, the rest of the menu options are quite unremarkable. Since the restaurant is a long walk up from town, you have very little other choice but to eat at the restaurant. Finally, for one of the more expensive hotels in Kandy, we found that this hotel provided very little value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pardesi_frangipani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for your comments. We will have the bathroom knob and power sockets for guest use looked into. The round pin is the default type used in Sri Lanka, but we do have multi-plugs available at the reception for guest use. Once again thank you for your comments and observation which will help us improve our product.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My family and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights during the Perahara festival. The staff are friendly and welcoming. Our room was on the first floor, its was very large and clean with stunning views from the large windows and balcony. The bathroom was a good size and well equipped. We stayed on bed and breakfast basis but had dinner on our first evening after a long train journey and lunch the following day before the Perahara, the meals were very good and reasonably priced, service was a little slow but the food was worth the wait. It was lovely to be served all meals rather than having to pick from a buffet. The hotel is up hill, away from the hustle & bustle of Kandy so quite peaceful. We would not hesitate to come back next time we visit Kandy.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n.mccoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely review. I am glad that you and your family had a memorable stay at the Amaara Sky. I will pass on your comments about the food and the staff, who will undoubtedly be very happy. You are most welcome to stay with us on your next visit to Kandy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed three nights whilst visiting Kandy and could not fault the staff who could not do enough for us. Even after returning from the Perahara after midnight the staff greeted us and were willing to cook dinner. They had supplied a picnic box for us earlier to take whilst we waited in our seats for the Perahara but still ensured we were catered for on our return. Breakfast was great with a SriLanka breakfast available provided it was ordered the night before. They do not have a licence as yet but delicious meals make up for this. The trip into town is daunting as you walk down the hill and realise that you have to walk back up. If you take it slowly there are plenty of stops and the view is amazing. If all else fails the TukTuk's are plentiful. Rooms are clean and well maintained although we did not have a balcony we had a magnificent view of the city. We had a family next door and noisy children in the morning could be heard running outside our room around the stairs but this was the only down side we experienced. Thank you to the staff for making our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for city view if you do not mind not having a balcony. Worth the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smitty5608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the Amaara Sky and that they were able to satisfy your hunger needs after the Perehara (which I hope you enjoyed). Hope to have your back at the Amaara Sky on your next visit to Kandy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

The hotel is new(ish) but something is missing - staff are nice and friendly enough but not really very "warm" and there are some bad design flaws such as no powerpoints in the room other than those being used for lamps, fridge etc and one guest one in the bathroom. The key to one of our two rooms was an old fashioned type and very stiff to use. The toiletries were not replenished during our stay although the rooms were cleaned and tidied beautifully with designs on the sheets. Rooms have fabulous views and massive windows -curtains could be thicker as the light streams through them early which is not good for light sleepers or kids
It is a bit of a hike from the city up a steep hill but the walk down to town is not too bad - we caught tuk-tuks back up though!!
We had 2 massages - one was OK and the other was decidedly average - from two different masseuses
Restaurant was good for dinner - good service, nice food - unfortunately they dont have a license as yet so the drinks choice was decidedly limited with the wine list comprising 1 red and 1 white. Breakfast wasn't too bad - have had better - and worse! They weren't on the menu but we asked for cornflakes - which they had - unfortunately they'd possibly been sitting around for a while and were stale - perhaps if they'd been listed in the first place they would have been ordering fresh stocks more often.
The scores below marked averageare based on what I expected after doing some research on line

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2kidstoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. Your feedback is invaluable to us, as your correctly mentioned we are a relatively new hotel (opened in Dec 2012). Your comments have been noted and will be looked into.

Thank you and hope to have you back at the Amaara Sky in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

A fresh, very clean roon with stunning views, service to write home about and a limited but delicious menu. Even after returning from the Perahara festival at 23.30 they kept the resturant open for us and we received nothing but courtesy and helpfulness during out stay...but the views from our room alone where worth the time spent here. Sure there are more colonial hotels in town but there cannot be more with that are so clean and well maintained and that view...wow...thanks for a fantastic stay!pS....Ps. Even though the roof-top jacuzzi was out of order!

Room Tip: All rooms are great. Most face west...sip a sundowner on your terrace and watch the sun-set!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CPBMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that we could leave such a good impression on you. Hope you enjoyed the Kandy Perehara in all its glamour, it was our pleasure to keep the restaurant open for our guests during this period.

Hope you visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

One night visit in the middle of July. Staff was very polite and speedy service. Room was clean, but maybe a bit outdated. Location is on a mountain with beautiful view from room window.

We had breakfast and dinner in the restaurant. Again, very fast and polite service. I would not hesitate to come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isimilus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Dear Isimilus,

Thank you very much for your lovely review and for choosing to stay at the Amaara Sky Hotel during your visit to Kandy. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and would love to have you back on your next trip up to Kandy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.1 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.3 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 55 in Kandy
772 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 55 in Kandy
536 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kandy
1,012 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 55 in Kandy
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy

Property: Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
Address: 72/22 A.B. Damunupola Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 55 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious 14 roomed hotel virtually in the Kandyan Skies.We are small enough to ensure that you get a personalised service , but our team at Amaara is experienced enough to cater to your every need.Come ..... Stay with us at Amaara Sky ..... You'll love it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing