We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view from a small hotel and friendly servicie”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
Ranked #11 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great view from a small hotel and friendly servicie”
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights as part of our Sri Lanka trip and found this hotel via TA reviews. We were not disappointed, our driver had not been here before and after a driver up the hills we reached the hotel. Mark greeted us and showed us to our room, 204.
It was late so we didn't appreciate the views until we woke the next day. Amazing, we had views from both sides as our balcony went all the way round as our room was at the end so we had the hills and the town on either side, this alone would have warranted a return.
The breakfast is simply divine, Sri Lankan breakfast with hoppers and veg curry pre ordered the night before and cooked to perfection. It was brilliant, could not fault the presentation, taste or quantity. You can see that the hotel has invested in its branding by the amount of personalised crockery they have.
On our second breakfast we were greeted by a champagne breakfast courtesy of he hotel, this was a lovely surprise and Samarath our waiter was so friendly and attentive.
Th hotel offers a free movie service which is nice for when you just want to relax.
Only reason I rate it a 4 is the room itself, toiletries not new/full, tv hard to operate and decor slightly dated, but not off putting. Also the tumtuk driver arranged by the hotel, Manju seemed a little intoxicated or extremely happy, but a bit scary for us and he overcharged but that would be something individuals should agree in advance so hotel not at fault.
I would 100% go again and recommend this hotel to anyone going to Kandy.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SunitaLON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed a lovely Sri Lankan breakfast. We love to pamper our guests and it feels great that you enjoyed our champagne breakfast. Thank you for your comments about our DVD library - We are proud to have a collection of over 200 in varying genres.

Appreciate your feedback about the toiletries and we are genuinely sorry about this, it was an isolated incident and will be taking necessary measures to negate it in the future. Regarding your Tuk Tuk driver, I must point out that we have no affiliation with the driver as we simply call one up from the city when guests request for one. However will be sure to advice our guests from now on to agree a price before travel.

Once again Thank you for your thoughts and we hope to have you back at the Amaara Sky on your next visit to Kandy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    108
    50
    9
    4
See reviews for
101
167
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2013

It was a joyous experience as it exceeded what I expected...the Penthouse was extremely comfortable and what a stunning view...the balcony outside, having our B'fast was relaxing and enjoyable..
The quality & variety of food was fabulous and to cap it all, the staff have something more than just the training...all of them served with a passion and a wish to please....
Amaara Sky has all the ingredients that a traveller desires in making a hotel stay absolutely Joyous...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Trevor,

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your Amaara Experience and that our staffs passion left a lasting impression on you, Hope to have you back with us at the Amaara Sky on your next visit to Kandy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2013

First of all many congratulations on having a wonderful property in Kandy .
Your property is fantastic ! Tastefully furnished and decorated ! Excellent food wonderfully presented ! very big and comfortable bedrooms ! Cozy public areas ! I felt your biggest assets are the fantastic staff from the bell boy to the Manager were very friendly, accommodating , helpful and professional.

Wish you all the best ! We will surely market the property !

Gihan and Suven Karunaratne

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suven k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Gihan and Suven,

Thank you very much for your lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the Amaara Sky. I agree that our staff are our biggest assets and I am thrilled that we have left such a lasting impression on you. We would love to welcome you back at the Amaara Sky on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Stayed here overnight but would have used this as a main hotel for my holiday if I was stopping in kandy,The Hotel location is on the top of a hill with the most wonderful views over looking kandy.
The hotel staff were welcoming and very friendly, (Great Staff)
The restaurant has great food one of the best meals I had on my holiday to Sri Lanka.

I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Si G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We appreciate the time you took to publish your thoughts. I am glad you enjoyed your stay, I will pass on your comments to the rest of our staff. They will undoubtedly appreciate your kind words. Please feel free to make us your Main hotel when you visit Kandy again, we would love to have you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Lovely and cozy place! With amazing views
The penthouse is to die for and the cherry on top is the food!! The food is AMAZING
would definitely find myself staying there if I decide to go to Kandy
Highly recommend it :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natashanethi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Natasha,

Thank you very much for your lovely review. Will pass on your wonderful compliments to our chef who will be very pleased. Your always welcome to stay at the Amaara Sky on your next visit to Kandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We spent three days here during our recent (tenth) tour of Sri Lanka. The weather was NOT nice; it rained for almost all of every day. The staff here at Amaara Sky were so warm, welcoming and friendly that the weather became less important! Our room was just as we had hoped, the food even better, although a little on the expensive side. We usually prefer to stay in larger hotels, but Amaara Sky did not disappoint in any way; we had everything that we required, and the staff were just outstanding in all departments. We hope to return to this charming place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katim2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely review. Its a pity to hear about the weather during your stay, but I am glad that the Amaara Sky hotel was able curb some of the gloom of it. We would love to have you back on your next visit to Kandy, hopefully during better weather conditions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in the Penthouse and we enjoyed our stay at Amaara Sky. The hotel location on the hill ensures the view is awesome. Having breakfast in the large open portico below the restaurant is an amazing experience. The hotel staff are extremely friendly and always ready to assist with warmth and smiles. The food choices are a bit limited in the restaurant. Though the food is excellent, for longer stays, it can become repetitive and boring. As a place to stay and relax and enjoy the views, this place is excellent. There is no in house entertainment though - no swimming pool, kids play area etc.

The main value of this hotel is the location and the view and the cost though is high, is probably justified for this alone.

Room Tip: If you are a large group, then recommend the Penthouse, which is a Duplex with very large rooms and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vidya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Vidya,

Thank you for your lovely review. Glad you enjoyed your stay at the Amaara Penthouse, our flagship room. Although you our food is delicious, we have taken into account your comments about the choice and repetitiveness for long stay guests - will certainly look into this. Thank you once again and hope to see you back at the Amaara Sky hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.1 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#7 of 54 in Kandy
998 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
1.3 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kandy
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
#10 of 54 in Kandy
970 reviews
1.6 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 54 in Kandy
505 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 54 in Kandy
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy

Property: Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
Address: 72/22 A.B. Damunupola Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious 14 roomed hotel virtually in the Kandyan Skies.We are small enough to ensure that you get a personalised service , but our team at Amaara is experienced enough to cater to your every need.Come ..... Stay with us at Amaara Sky ..... You'll love it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing