We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
Ranked #11 of 53 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Mawanella
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect place”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

It was a fantastic experience at the Amaara Sky, really enjoyed the view and their Suite room well maintained clean rooms and bathrooms, Bathrooms i just didnt like the water pressure which was a bit slow other than it was awesome cleanliness. Staff was lovely the front desk also the waiters and the food was greatly admired. The dinner ant the breakfast was lovely. The location is fantastic but a bit tough to travel up but the view is great so i would say worth the ride all the way for a better view. I wouldn't mind going again....

Room Tip: Go for the Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank infocraze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your Amaara experience, including our Suite, cuisine and the friendliness of our staff. We are looking into ways in which we can improve the water pressure in our rooms, thank you for this feedback. We would love to have you back with us on your next visit to Kandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    105
    49
    9
    4
See reviews for
97
165
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Stayed here over the weekend with a few friends at the suite and it was great. the staff were welcoming from the time we walked in. The food was particularly delicious. As it is on the peak of the mountain the views are fantastic and the surrounding so peaceful. It is an ideal place to go and unwind. Cannot wait to return on my next visit to Kandy.

Room Tip: The Penthouse is absolutely amazing, with views of both the Mountains surrounding Kandy, as well of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K_B13231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely review. I am glad you and your friends enjoyed their stay at the Amaara Sky Hotel. As you have mentioned we are right on the peak of the Bahirawakanda mountain, hence getting a panoramic view of the surrounding valleys.

Hope to have you and your friends back at the Amaara Sky on your next visit to Kandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed in Amaara Sky this week in the Amaara Penthouse. The Hotel was in a great location with a beautiful entrance. The Penthouse was very spacious and comfortable. The interiors were very classy and there are beautiful balconies in most of the rooms with a great view of the city of Kandy. We enjoyed our stay very much and also enjoyed a scrumptious Eastern Breakfast in the restaurant terrace. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Thank you once again for the great stay Amaara Sky team.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minalir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Minalir,

Thank you very much for your comments. I am glad you enjoyed our Duplex Penthouse Suite and breakfast at the terrace during your stay. The Amaara Sky team would love to have you back with us on your next visit to Kandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We had a very pleasant stay at your beautiful hotel. The Penthouse, we occupied was very tastefully done.It provides all amenities / facilities what a discerning client would look for. The view from the room was so beautiful -its breathtaking. The staff was very friendly and caring, that makes your stay so comfortable. Having breakfast at the open verandah, enjoying the view overlooking Kandy was very relaxing. All in all, although brief, it was an '' excellent experience'', staying at Amaara Sky Hotel in Kandy.

Room Tip: Penthouse provides all amenities / facilities what a discerning client would look for
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAMAN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Saman,

Thank you very much for your review. Glad you enjoyed our Penthouse Suite and all it has to offer. Will pass on the compliments about the breakfast to our chef. No doubt he will be pleased to hear your kind words. Hope to have you back at the Amaara Sky on your next visit to Kandy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

It's my first night at the aamara sky after getting back from colombo, Cinnamon Grand and Green Paradise in Dubwulla. At first impression the hotel is quaint and sweet and a lovely welcoming by a very professional couple of ladies who gave us lemon grass soup to welcome us in. The hotel was very very quiet with only two other guests in house. My brother and I shared a twin room and my parents a double.. Well the difference is incredible. A double room is huge, clean with a great view. The twin is tiny, basic and certainly needs a revamp.. I find it hard to believe that the hotel has only been open for a year, other than the art and the immaculate dining area, there is nothing new about it..I simply require the basics in a hotel... Clean sheets and a clean bathroom/ towels.. Unfortunately I have had neither :( ( my too sheets had blood stains on them so I had to request clean ones, this put me off sleeping at all) the sheets sent up had pen marks all over them... Genuinely speechless, but I have settled for this as biro pen is better than blood!! is pretty out of the way and they unfortunately do not have a bar licence so it's either extremely poor tasting, highly expensive wine, lion beer or soft drinks. I thought the service was very professional throughout.
I understand they are very quiet at present, but there is no ambience here, which is such a shame as there is potential here! The hotel is so out of the way that on the Saturday night we couldn't get a taxi into town so were stuck in the hotel all night..there was no list of taxi services at reception, it got to the point where I was googling taxi numbers for then to call. Being on a high cliff and seeing how crazy the tuktuk drivers are.. This was not ideal at all. At this moment in time I will not be recommending this hotel going forward, which is a shame as I has high hopes from the reviews, housekeeping need a real kick up the backside as behind our bedside table ( there is a gap) it looked like it hadn't been hoovered in a very long time! Dead flies and dirt galore!! It is basically a premier inn hotel equivalent ( London 3 star basic hotel) having said that my parents were very happy with their huge room and my the massages in the spa are also very good and reasonably priced ( $40 for 1 hour)
The showers do need a refurb as well.. I hate to complain as the staff were super nice, but just not able to help with basic requirements.
Something good is, that we didn't like anything in the set menu and so requested to eat something else from the Al carte menu and this wasn't a problem.. Food is very good and presentation is excellent. Also, there is fast and free wifi throughout..they are really kind people and very hospitable but this hotel is fine if you don't want to venture out at night and happy to be in bed by 21:00 each night :( .. Does have an excellent view though and Terrance is very nice.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sel48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. Your feedback is greatly appreciated.

As you must be aware both you and your parents were booked into our standard rooms. We had arranged to upgrade both to our larger Deluxe category, however since you and your brother required a twin room we were requested the same (we do not have Deluxe Twin rooms).

I am surprised to hear your comments about the linen, we apologies for this and find this unacceptable. We have asked our housekeeping team to look into this immediately and remove any sheets with stains as you claim to have had in your room. We are genuinely sorry if this was the case.

Our goal at the Amaara Sky is to give our guests as much privacy and homely atmosphere as possible. I apologies if this was not to your liking. I have asked our reception to have a list of Taxi services available, thank you for your feedback regarding this.

I am glad you enjoyed our Spa therapy and that our food and staff were able to make your stay more enjoyable. Hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to Kandy and we can leave an improved impression on you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colombo sri lanka
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Amaara Sky was more then I expected and can be counted as a boutique hotel it caters to the discerning traveller who wants to get away from the maddening crowd where they will be looked after by caring staff and fed by a very talented Chef. Perched on a cliff it gives you an breathtaking aerial view from every room of the still unspoilt vegetation of Sri Lanka against the back drop of hillsl. I truly recommend this hideout. The personalised attention is a reflection of the good relationship between the Management and the employees they were excellent and that harmony is so reflected in their desire to make my stay a memorable one.

Room Tip: all the rooms have been designed to give you a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melba d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Melba,

Thank you very much for taking your time to leave us your thoughts. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the Amaara Sky Hotel. I will pass on your comments to our staff and they will be undoubtedly thrilled to have left such an impression on you. looking forward to welcoming you back to the Amaara Sky on your next visit to Kandy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night as part of a trip of the island. The hotel staff were friendly, welcoming and we really enjoyed the stay. They gave us a choice of rooms and the deluxe room we chose had a modern bathroom and was huge - all amenities were there included. The bed was incredibly comfortable and views amazing. We had dinner in the lovely dining room; the food was good. Breakfast was served on the terrace once again with fantastic views and was excellently cooked. Your choice of cooked breakfast and a large fruit salad and basket of pastries.
Staying here was a joy after a manic hot trip around Kandy. I'd highly recommend staying here.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank CRKSE4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. We value your comments and feedback. You picked well by choosing our 600 Sq Foot Deluxe room, and I am glad you enjoyed our Amaara Cuisine and Terrace dining experience in the morning - a truly refreshing way to start out your day, We hope to have you back at the Amaara Sky on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
1.1 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#8 of 53 in Kandy
912 reviews
1.2 mi away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#1 of 1 in Hantana
590 reviews
1.3 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 53 in Kandy
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
3.0 mi away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#1 of 1 in Tennekumbura
1,890 reviews
2.3 mi away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#2 of 53 in Kandy
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy

Property: Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
Address: 72/22 A.B. Damunupola Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 53 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious 14 roomed hotel virtually in the Kandyan Skies.We are small enough to ensure that you get a personalised service , but our team at Amaara is experienced enough to cater to your every need.Come ..... Stay with us at Amaara Sky ..... You'll love it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing