We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, friendly service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
Ranked #13 of 55 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great views, friendly service”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Originally booked the suite which is located on the third floor next to the spa and penthouse. It had its own balcony with a good view of the valley. The only disappointment with this room was there was no TV in the lounge. On our second night we were upgraded to the penthouse apartment as they needed to do some maintenance to the spa area. Great two storey apartment with two double beds, dining area and lounge (again no TV in the lounge area). The shower upstairs had decent water pressure, whereas the suite and downstairs in the penthouse didn't. Not too far away from the hustle and bustle of the centre, (we had a driver which helped). If you want Asian breakfast you need to order it the night before. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Steve,

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay in our spacious Suite and Penthouse Suite. We well consider your suggestion of having a TV in both lounge areas, as well as look into the water pressure in the two showers. Thank you for your feedback regarding this.

We hope to have your back with us on your next visit to Kandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    112
    50
    9
    4
See reviews for
104
169
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The service was faultless, food was fantastice, laundry had a fresh lingering fragrance.Teens enjoyed the wi fi and videos. Eating on the terrace was lovely.
The free gala dinner on 31 Dec with whole salmon, lamb and turkey plus loads more with calypso band for dancing was most enjoyable.
It felt like we were personal guests rather than being customers in a hotel. A truly wonderful, personalised service reflecting the owners generous hospitality. Thankyou very much!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank afonseka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our philosophy is to make you feel more like house guests than one at a hotel. I am glad to hear our staff made your NYE memorable.

All the best for 2014 and we hope too see back at the Amaara Sky on your next visit to Kandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2014

This is a great find in Kandy. Although not located in the centre of the city, the couple of minutes up a hillside by cab and the fantastic views make a stay at the Amaara well worthwhile. Our suite was very spacious, spotlessly clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and very professional. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Suite on the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YS K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the Amaara Suite. As you rightly mentioned; we are based outside the city centre (only 2km from the Temple of the tooth relic), this is to ensure our guests enjoy a relaxing stay and are away from the hustle and bustle of the City of Kandy.

We appreciate your recommendation. Our staff look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Kandy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The location, food and the hospitality are on the top. Rooms are beautiful, modern and well kept. The staff is excellent and the restaurant offers some of the best food. Just ask the staff what you would like to have and they will prepare it for you! Those who wanted to be in a calm and cool place Amaara Sky would be ideal. I've been made to feel so welcome and nothing is too much trouble for the friendly staff. All these things made my stay unforgettable!

Room Tip: go for the Suite or Pent House
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanishabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your comments about the food, location and staff. Hope to have you back at the Amaara Sky on your next visit to Kandy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2014

If you are looking for impeccable service, delicious food and well-appointed luxurious rooms the Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy is where you need to stay. Minutes away from the main Kandy railway station and bus stand is this beautiful boutique hotel tucked up in the hillside giving you glorious views of the beautiful city of Kandy. Warm and friendly service makes you feel so welcome during your stay at this special place where so much of trouble is taken to make your stay a very pleasant one. We stayed in the Penthouse which was fabulous and the attention to detail was so very impressive. An unforgettable stay .........

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ranil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Ranil,

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We appreciate your kind words and I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the Amaara Sky Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Kandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California City, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The view here is fantastic. Dinner at the terrace is accompanied by cool breezes better than the usual a/c, and on the Saturday night we were there, there was a very friendly band playing. Service is also excellent.

The rooms were ok - we had the smallest room on our floor, and the bathroom was huge. The only drawback is that there was a constant smell of sewage in the toilet, and we couldn't get rid of this smell even though we left the extractor fan on.

Bear in mind that there is a large temple nearby and morning prayers are at 530am. Either sleep early or wear earplugs if you aren't a heavy sleeper.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed the stay and was able to experience dinning at the Amaara Terrace. Our apologies regarding the unpleasant smell you had from the sewage system, we have asked our maintenance department to look into this and have rectified the problem. The nearby temple is in fact the famous Bahirawakanda Viharaya, however they do not conduct prayers every morning. This was due to a 'Pooja' they had going on during your stay.

Hope to have you back at the Amaara Sky Hotel on your next visit to Kandy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

What a great hotel in Kandy. We stayed for two nights including Christmas Eve in the Suite on Level 3. The staff were friendly and efficient without exception. Our room was spacious with a separate sitting area and it, the bedroom and bathroom were spotlessly clean. The food was of a high standard with excellent service in the restaurant. As others have observed the hotel is located away from the city centre but the views and the peace make the few minutes in a taxi well worth it. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ia909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in our two bedroom suite and celebrate Christmas eve with us. As you have rightly mentioned, we are located slightly away from the city (only 2km). We selected this location at the peak of a mountain to ensure our guests can enjoy a relaxing atmosphere and spectacular views while only being a hop, step and a jump from the city.

Hope to have you back at the Amaara Sky on your next visit to Kandy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.1 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.3 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 55 in Kandy
772 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#2 of 55 in Kandy
534 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kandy
1,012 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 55 in Kandy
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy

Property: Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
Address: 72/22 A.B. Damunupola Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 55 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious 14 roomed hotel virtually in the Kandyan Skies.We are small enough to ensure that you get a personalised service , but our team at Amaara is experienced enough to cater to your every need.Come ..... Stay with us at Amaara Sky ..... You'll love it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing