We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little jewel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
Ranked #12 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Wisbech, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little jewel”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at this hotel for 6 nights in February 2014. Located on the outskirts of Kandy at the top of a hill it has stunning views across the valley. Early breakfast on the patio in the cool morning air was a perfect way to start each day - so peaceful, away from the hustle and bustle of the city streets. My room was clean and air conditioned with a super shower and comfortable bed. All of the staff were highly professional and extremely attentive, particularly the waiting staff, who went to great lengths to make my stay a memorable one. The food was superb. There was an a la carte menu with a good selection of dishes and on a couple of evenings there was a buffet and barbecue on the patio.The chef's Coconut Jaggery (a sweet from the a la carte menu) was particularly delicious. I hope to return to Kandy, Sri Lanka in the near future, as 6 days was far too few to see all that this beautiful island has to offer. I will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Martin,

Thank you for your lovely review. It was in fact our pleasure to have you with us. Our chef will be pleased to hear your comments about him Jaggery Pudding, he is very proud of this particular dish. I agree, 6 days is far too short - would love to have you back again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    109
    50
    9
    4
See reviews for
102
167
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Surprises started from the lobby during the welcome, we were given Flowers by the staff with welcome drink, hot and cold towels and then proceeded for traditional lighting of the lamp.
We stayed in Penthouse which was Spacious and luxurious with balcony as well, bed was arranged nicely with flowers. One thing to be highlighted is the food, food was so tasty whether it was Continental or Sri Lankan Cuisine, I highly recommend Amaara Sky to travellers to Sri Lanka and it will be the best stay in Kandy.

Room Tip: Pent House is Luxurious
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ajay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Ajay,

Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, the lighting of the Oil lamp is a Sri Lankan tradition when welcoming people into their home. We appreciate your comments about the penthouse and the food at the Amaara Sky. Look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Kandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Nice clean hotel but it never felt like we were totally welcome. By late the second day the staff seemed to warm up a little but not all the way. There was a large tour group staying there the same days and we were told repeatidly that they had precidence of the dining tables outside and that we had to dine inside. That seemed odd each time as the tables were empty and the buffet was already getting cold. Also, trying to organize trips through the hotel was harder than it needed to be. We spent a lot of money and got a non english speaking driver (promised). Also, the walls were paper thin and the shower had zero water pressure.

Thats the bad... the good was that the hotel was up on the hill so there were great views. Room and hotel was clean with nice art work. Architecture was unique, modern and functional. Lastly we felt safe here which was a plus.

All in all if we came back I think we would try another hotel.


  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indialuver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. Your feedback is invaluable to us. I will look into your comments about the service you received, regardless of whoever else if staying at the hotel out policy is to make every guest feel at home. I apologies for the dinning arrangements outside as the group had requested to be seated outside during their stay.

Thank you for the lovely comments about our rooms, cleanliness and the beautiful views. We are truly blessed with having one of the best views in Kandy. Please do reconsider and visit us again during your next visit to Kandy, we would love to have you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stopped here for one night on the way to the tea plantations. The hotel was clean, the rooms were big, the food was fairly decent but there wasn't really anything great about the place. The service was lacking and you do get the feeling that they are still finding their feet. Although advertised there wasn't actually a spa. For one night it was absolutely fine but when compared to other places we have stayed on this and our previous trip to Sri Lanka it just wasn't as good. It was however very well priced.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharpeedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. Firstly thank you for the comments regarding the cleanliness and rooms

We value your feedback. I am surprised to read your comments about the service, we have usually been praised for it and receive very positive comments regarding our staff and level of service. I will look into it and ensure this standard is not compromised in anyway.
I apologies for your misunderstanding regarding our Spa. We have just recently changed our Spa facility to offer our guests massage treatments in the comfort of their own rooms (We will however continue to have a specific room for this purpose). This has been updated on our website.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Amaara Sky Kandy in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Only stayed one night on our journey through Sri Lanka, our baggage had been delayed so it was meeting us there. My wife rang ahead and they advised we had a room change, we were travelling with friends. they asked if we would mind upgrading to the Penthouse, she accepted.
When we arrived it was a very nice welcome and then they showed us the room , it was fantastic. We had stayed at Sigirya Hotel the night before and this was in another league.
We did have a small issue getting the power working on the 2nd floor however we ordered some wine and sat on the balcony enjoying the view.
We ate dinner and breakfast in the hotel and both were excellent.
The staff are very good and the room prices are OK , dinner was reasonable price also , would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlennG G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed the upgrade to the penthouse, your words of appreciation justify why we love to spring small surprises like this to our guests from time to time. I apologies for the power issue, however I am glad that you managed to make the most of it and enjoy the lovely private balcony in our penthouse.

Hope to have you back with us on your next visit to Kandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Overall it's fantastic. The location, staff, food and facilities. I love the penthouse. It's beautiful.
Rooms are spacious. Can see the beauty of Kandy and location is very close to Kandy town.
Staff is very courteous and all out to help for anytime.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank visaka w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Visaka,

Thank you for your lovely comment. We look forward to welcoming you with the same hospitality and warmth on your next visit to Kandy. Hopefully you will be able to stay with for a few more days.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2014

The hotel is gorgeous and location is great.

The staff is extraordinary nice and they are very concern about all your needs. Everyone will do their best to help you out in any way possible.

The beds are super comfy. The rooms are spacious and value for money.. the food is awesome. thank you all for make it a memorable stay and wish you all success.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mayanthi f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Mayanthi,

Thank you very much for your lovely comment. Such words of praise is what drives us to continue doing what we are doing. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Amaara Sky Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.1 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.3 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kandy
755 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#2 of 54 in Kandy
517 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
#10 of 54 in Kandy
996 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 54 in Kandy
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy

Property: Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
Address: 72/22 A.B. Damunupola Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious 14 roomed hotel virtually in the Kandyan Skies.We are small enough to ensure that you get a personalised service , but our team at Amaara is experienced enough to cater to your every need.Come ..... Stay with us at Amaara Sky ..... You'll love it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing