We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel, amazing view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
Ranked #14 of 58 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2014

At the top of a windy lane overlooking Kandy, this small hotel is very clean and comfortable. We stayed in the "Penthouse Suite", which while not as grand as it might sound was perfect for our family group of 6, and had a balcony with a breathtaking view out over the valley. Breakfast on the outdoor terrace was also lovely. The only negative I can point to is the lack of noise insulation -- we were woken during the night by music from a nearby house, dogs barking on the street below, and the chanting from the Temple of the Tooth which started at 5am (though the latter was very atmospheric).

Room Tip: The Penthouse Suite is perfect for families, and has an amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jake J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear Jake

Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and were comfortable in our 2000 square foot penthouse suite. I am sure you and your family enjoyed the lovely views from the large balcony exclusive to the suite, specially during sunset. We apologies for the slight issue you had with the noise we will look into how best we can rectify this.

Look forward to welcoming you and your family on your next visit to Kandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (403)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 403 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

We booked Amaara Sky last minute and it was a really lovely stay. We were on our honeymoon so they gave us a couple of special little treats like bubbles with breakfast and some heart shaped chocolates waiting for us when we got back to the room on our second night. The room was spacious, the staff were very friendly and we booked a room with a balcony which meant we could take advantage of the spectacular views. It was a little out of town in the hills, which is what gives it its lovely view but this isn't a problem if you have a driver.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmMa996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear Emma,

Firstly let me take this opportunity to wish you and your new husband all the best in the future.

Thank you very much for your lovely review and for choosing to stay at the Amaara Sky Hotel whilst in Kandy. I am glad you were able to make use of one of our great last minute promotions we have running. Our honeymoon package is designed give the new couple some great memories to take back with them as they start their new life together. We take great pride in the fact that you appreciate our efforts to do so. We are located just outside the town (1.5km to the city centre) in order to get out of the hustle and bustle of the city and to enjoy the beauty of the surrounding mountain ranges.


Hope to see you back at the Amaara Sky Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Amaara Sky is a secluded hideaway located in the beautiful hills of Kandy. The warm and welcoming smiles which blended well with the cool breeze of Kandy made us feel that we have come to a luxury home.
Experienced the Lifestyle at Amaara with panoramic views of Kandy city which offered 5 star luxury facilities from the balcony of the Penthouse . The layout of the beds, sitting /Dinning areas are very spacious. We were able to relax just like we did at home. Most of all I valued the all the hand painted pictures which depicted a very meaningful clutural aspect of Sri Lanka in a colourful manner. The outdoor dinning area is a very unique place to dine. The meals were delicious and the room service was excellent . It is the perfect place to relax and unwind. I wish i had more time at Amaara .As a Senior CorporateTravel Agent from New Zealand, I have no doubt in recommending Amaara Sky to all my clients touring Sri Lanka. Would love to visit you again and spend more time with you Amaara SKY .......Thank You Amaara for making it a Amaara - Eternal - Memory !!!

Room Tip: All rooms are very attractive - The Best was the Penthhouse for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19,671,991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review. Your words means a lot considering your status in the industry. I am glad you and your family enjoyed the Amaara Penthouse and all the facilities it has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you and your future guests to the Amaara Sky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

It was an unplanned visit and myself was really tired but staying at Amaara made all the tiredness vanish....it is comfotable and felt like staying home....beautiful view....excellent food....best hospitality....all the best Amaara....will visit again......

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hiroshan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Hiroshan,

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt at home. I will pass on your comments about the food to our chef, I am sure he will be pleased. Thank you for the wishes and hope to see you again at the Amaara Sky on your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This hotel is a little out of town and up a steep hill set in a residential area but overlooking the city. The only complaint we had was the neighbourhood dogs barking the first night. The hotel it self is five star and everything was first class including the very spacious bedroom and bathroom. A la carte meals were very good.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank farm2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad you enjoyed the services at the hotel and we appreciate the comments regarding the rooms and the a la carte menu, our chef will be particularly pleased with your words. I am sorry about the dogs barking however this is out of our control and a problem faced all around the Kandy area. Hope they did not effect your comfort too much.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Amaara Sky in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Had a wonderful week end Friday afternoon to Sunday morning ; Fantastic views from the very well appointed and spacious room. Extremely helpful and friendly staff Fantastic meals all round a great experience. Tony

Room Tip: the corner room on the top floor has fantastic views of Kandy town and beyond
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tony n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Tony,

Thank you for your lovely words. We are glad you enjoyed your weekend with us. As you have pointed out in your room tip, our new room on the 3rd floor has a panoramic view of the city of Kandy and the surrounding mountain ranges. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Kandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

My family & I decided to spend the weekend at Amaara Sky, Kandy as I have heard so much and I personally have promoted the Amaara Sky to all my clients. We surely enjoyed every bit of it as we arrived, Amaara Sky staff were pleasant and friendly and very helpful in every way. We stayed in the Penthouse which was spacious and what a family requires when your away from HOME. The food was delicious, fresh and the flavours were simply amazing, tumbs up for the Chef!

All the best and keep up the good work at Amaara Sky, I promise to visit again and this time to stay longer. Thank you for everything my family & I truly appreciate and will never forget this weekend spent in your beautiful property...

Natasha Balthazaar (Managing Directoress of Wanderlust Travels Ltd)

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natasha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Natasha.

Thank you for your review. I am glad you finally decided to visit us with your family and had a lovely time. I will pass on your compliments to our chef, it will surely put a smile on his face. We look forward to welcoming you and your guests to the Amaara Sky in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.1 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.3 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#11 of 58 in Kandy
879 reviews
1 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#3 of 58 in Kandy
598 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
2.3 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
#12 of 58 in Kandy
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy

Address: 72/22 A.B. Damunupola Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 58 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range: £81 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious 14 roomed hotel virtually in the Kandyan Skies.We are small enough to ensure that you get a personalised service , but our team at Amaara is experienced enough to cater to your every need.Come ..... Stay with us at Amaara Sky ..... You'll love it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing