We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfection !”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

We were Lucky to spend Two nights at the Amaara Sky .We were upgraded to a suit ,a delightful surprise, which was both spacious and Very comfortable. The staff were exemplary ,NOTHING was too much trouble. The Food in the charming restaurant was Delicious ,especially the SriLankan breakfast ! we had never had curry for breakfast before BUT it was absolutely delicious and we never looked back after that !
We cannot recommend this hotel enough ,it gave us the Real Kandy experience with all the little luxury touches one could wish for We shall be back .Thank You x

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kurinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We appreciate your feedback and are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your comments about our staff with pleasure. I am sure they will be thrilled to hear your kind words.

We look forward to welcoming you to our home in Kandy in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    107
    49
    9
    4
See reviews for
99
167
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel in April 2014 and found it to be absolutely fabulous. The view of the town and surrounding countryside was awe-inspiring and the food and service excellent. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DuncanPN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Duncan,

Thank you very much for your review and for your kind words. I am glad you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us. We are perched right on top of the mountain, hence we get to enjoy the beautiful views you have mentioned. It never fails to take our breath away as well. We appreciate your comments about the food, the service of our staff and we thank you in advance for your recommendations.

Look forward to welcoming you back to the Amaara Sky.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

At the top of a windy lane overlooking Kandy, this small hotel is very clean and comfortable. We stayed in the "Penthouse Suite", which while not as grand as it might sound was perfect for our family group of 6, and had a balcony with a breathtaking view out over the valley. Breakfast on the outdoor terrace was also lovely. The only negative I can point to is the lack of noise insulation -- we were woken during the night by music from a nearby house, dogs barking on the street below, and the chanting from the Temple of the Tooth which started at 5am (though the latter was very atmospheric).

Room Tip: The Penthouse Suite is perfect for families, and has an amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jake J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Jake

Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and were comfortable in our 2000 square foot penthouse suite. I am sure you and your family enjoyed the lovely views from the large balcony exclusive to the suite, specially during sunset. We apologies for the slight issue you had with the noise we will look into how best we can rectify this.

Look forward to welcoming you and your family on your next visit to Kandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We booked Amaara Sky last minute and it was a really lovely stay. We were on our honeymoon so they gave us a couple of special little treats like bubbles with breakfast and some heart shaped chocolates waiting for us when we got back to the room on our second night. The room was spacious, the staff were very friendly and we booked a room with a balcony which meant we could take advantage of the spectacular views. It was a little out of town in the hills, which is what gives it its lovely view but this isn't a problem if you have a driver.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmMa996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Emma,

Firstly let me take this opportunity to wish you and your new husband all the best in the future.

Thank you very much for your lovely review and for choosing to stay at the Amaara Sky Hotel whilst in Kandy. I am glad you were able to make use of one of our great last minute promotions we have running. Our honeymoon package is designed give the new couple some great memories to take back with them as they start their new life together. We take great pride in the fact that you appreciate our efforts to do so. We are located just outside the town (1.5km to the city centre) in order to get out of the hustle and bustle of the city and to enjoy the beauty of the surrounding mountain ranges.


Hope to see you back at the Amaara Sky Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Amaara Sky is a secluded hideaway located in the beautiful hills of Kandy. The warm and welcoming smiles which blended well with the cool breeze of Kandy made us feel that we have come to a luxury home.
Experienced the Lifestyle at Amaara with panoramic views of Kandy city which offered 5 star luxury facilities from the balcony of the Penthouse . The layout of the beds, sitting /Dinning areas are very spacious. We were able to relax just like we did at home. Most of all I valued the all the hand painted pictures which depicted a very meaningful clutural aspect of Sri Lanka in a colourful manner. The outdoor dinning area is a very unique place to dine. The meals were delicious and the room service was excellent . It is the perfect place to relax and unwind. I wish i had more time at Amaara .As a Senior CorporateTravel Agent from New Zealand, I have no doubt in recommending Amaara Sky to all my clients touring Sri Lanka. Would love to visit you again and spend more time with you Amaara SKY .......Thank You Amaara for making it a Amaara - Eternal - Memory !!!

Room Tip: All rooms are very attractive - The Best was the Penthhouse for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19671991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review. Your words means a lot considering your status in the industry. I am glad you and your family enjoyed the Amaara Penthouse and all the facilities it has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you and your future guests to the Amaara Sky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2014

It was an unplanned visit and myself was really tired but staying at Amaara made all the tiredness vanish....it is comfotable and felt like staying home....beautiful view....excellent food....best hospitality....all the best Amaara....will visit again......

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hiroshan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Hiroshan,

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt at home. I will pass on your comments about the food to our chef, I am sure he will be pleased. Thank you for the wishes and hope to see you again at the Amaara Sky on your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldton, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This hotel is a little out of town and up a steep hill set in a residential area but overlooking the city. The only complaint we had was the neighbourhood dogs barking the first night. The hotel it self is five star and everything was first class including the very spacious bedroom and bathroom. A la carte meals were very good.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank farm2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad you enjoyed the services at the hotel and we appreciate the comments regarding the rooms and the a la carte menu, our chef will be particularly pleased with your words. I am sorry about the dogs barking however this is out of our control and a problem faced all around the Kandy area. Hope they did not effect your comfort too much.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Amaara Sky in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
1.1 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#8 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
1.3 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
1.2 mi away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#1 of 1 in Hantana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
2.3 mi away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#2 of 54 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
3.0 mi away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#1 of 2 in Tennekumbura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy

Property: Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
Address: 72/22 A.B. Damunupola Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious 14 roomed hotel virtually in the Kandyan Skies.We are small enough to ensure that you get a personalised service , but our team at Amaara is experienced enough to cater to your every need.Come ..... Stay with us at Amaara Sky ..... You'll love it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing