We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Upscale, miniature boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Upscale, miniature boutique hotel”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

A small boutique establishment, with just 12 rooms. Perched right up in the hills behind Kandy town. Accessed by a narrow, steep and winding road, that would tax even the most persistent tuk tuk. You almost feel that you might have to get out and push it up the final hill.

On entry you are greeted by an almost Balinese inspired theme, albeit in a modern building. There are pairings adorning the walls, as you would find in Kuta. The hotel almost feels like a large house. Perched at the summit, and is just a few years old. On the ground floor you have reception and restaurant/bar. These overlook a lowered outdoor terrace area, where you could dine or have a drink in fine weather.

The rooms are spacious, and very comfortable. Satellite TV is provided in room with a good selection of channels. WiFi throughout the building is good, and they have obviously made a good effort to provide coverage in each nook and cranny.

You could walk into turn, probably taking 20 minutes or so, but even the most ardent triathlon fan would balk at walking back up.

Having a small number of rooms, during our stay out of season, the breakfast was a la carte. A lovely selection of fruit platter and hot food. The continental breakfast was a stand out with a basket full of pastries and breads brought to your table.

Summary : a friendly, nicely done little place, that importantly gives you the necessary internet and TV selection, so you can crash out after a long day out.

Recommended.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Travel-Luxe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review. We really value your comments, As a Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence winner, we’re always looking for ways to give our guests the best possible experience. I am glad you enjoyed the Amaara Sky experience. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Kandy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    107
    49
    9
    4
See reviews for
99
167
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My friends and I had a great time at Amaara Sky hotel recently. The rooms were beautiful and flanked by balconies that went around the building and offered stunning views of the surrounding landscape. The art pieces on the walls are commissioned from local artists and are a lovely complement to the decor of the place. Food was some of the best we had in Sri Lanka, and very affordable. The staff went to no end of trouble to make sure we had a good time and we're very grateful. Would definitely come again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank NG10G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad you and your friends enjoyed their stay with us. Your comments are very encouraging, I will pass on your praise to our staff and management. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Kandy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Amaara sky is set in a stunning location not far from the centre of Kandy. The rooms were immaculately presented and luxurious. The staff were exceptionally welcoming and accommodating and the food was delicious.

We stayed only one night but would have loved to have stayed longer. The hotel has everything for an exceptional time spent in the beautiful town of Kandy.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ac9998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Your thoughts and comments are very encouraging and will urge our team to do even better. We look forward to welcoming you back (for more than one night!) on your next visit to Kandy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Sri Lanka is famed for its Gems - Well this is a Gem of a Hotel with wonderful views around the City Of Kandy - We stayed one night on our way from Nuwara Eliya to Colombo - The Staff from top to bottom were excellent and happy to help with all your requests - very warm welcome from all- The Amaara Sky is designed, furnished and has everything you would expect from the best international hotels - we were fortunate to stay in the Penthouse Suite - superb and exceeded all our expectations - would recommend this Hotel to any visitor looking for a home from home.
Our thanks to all the Staff - will definitely return.
P.S. Hotel has a lift to all floors.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Robert,

Thank you very much for your kind words. We really appreciate your comments and are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us in Kandy. We are actually one of the few hotels in the Kandy area that has a lift which services all floors.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Amaara Sky on your next visit to Kandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Amaara Sky Hotel is located at one of the best mountains in Kandy district, its about 10-15 minutes walking distance from the city center.

the most remarkable feature is that Amaar offers rooms the gives you three directional view from one of the best view points in Kandy that when you open the curtains in the morning you can experience an awesome morning start and even have your morning coffee at your own three directional balcony.

the restaurant offers an indoors and outdoors dinning areas that gives you the choice to either enjoy your meal in the middle of the nature or inside a quite romantic hall with view of that nature.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that have two or three windows and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AK-Abouasleba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, we have 3 such rooms that you are referring too, which offers views of the Kandy city, Hanthane mountain and the Hunnasigiri Montain range. Please do let us know if there was anything that we could have done to make your experience better, notice that you have only rates us as 'Average' despite your very encouraging comments. As a Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence winner, we’re always looking for ways to give our guests the best possible experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Amaara Sky on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I fell in love with room 303 the moment we walked in. Top floor to the side with a wrap around balcony with views of both Kandy and the mountains. The only problem was that both nights street dogs spent all night barking right under our window. We had every window shut and could still hear them plain as day. I called reception to please go and tell them to be quiet ( I could see the dog on the street causing the problem from my window and when I would shush it, it would stop for a couple of seconds but then continue). I was told they would go and see to it but know one even left the building ( I know, I watched from the balcony). In the morning when I asked why know one did anything the response was that it might have been someone's pet and nothing could have been done...which was not true - when know one helped the first night my husband and I took turns shushing it till it left (nicely, I love dogs). Besides that, just being ear plugs cause the view it great! Food was so so - I had a terrible shrimp taco ( actually a quesadilla - shrimp with a ton of cheese between 2 tortillas) and my husband wasn't thrilled with his dish either. There is also no pool which could have added to this place. Laundry was a good price and done well/ quickly.

Room Tip: 3rd floor is awesome, especially 303.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingWillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad you enjoyed the views from your room balcony, we are spoilt with such beautiful scenery since we are perched right on top of a mountain. The dogs barking is not under our control, (this is a problem facing many hotels in Kandy) however i do agree that our staff should have looked into it when you called. Thank you for mentioning it as I will look into it. As a Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence winner, we’re always looking for ways to give our guests the best possible experience.

We look forward to having you back with us on your next visit to Kandy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colombo
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed one night at Amaara and wish it was more.We had one of the superior rooms with heavenly view of the hills and city.The Hotel had a very warm welcoming feel to it with a well- organised team of friendly staff led by Michelle. The service was second to none, there was always a friendly face to answer any question and attend to every need.The food was delicious and there is certainly enough choice to satisfy every palate.The night receptionist opened the door for me at 3.30AM with a broad smile when I returned after a party and nothing was too much trouble for him !! I would most certainly return to Amaara and would recommend this Hotel to anyone who plan to visit Kandy.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear C.John,

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We value your comments and will pass them on to our staff, who will be very happy. As a Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence winner, we’re always looking for ways to give our guests the best possible experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
1.1 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#8 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
1.3 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
1.2 mi away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#1 of 1 in Hantana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
2.3 mi away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#2 of 54 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
3.0 mi away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#1 of 2 in Tennekumbura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy

Property: Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
Address: 72/22 A.B. Damunupola Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious 14 roomed hotel virtually in the Kandyan Skies.We are small enough to ensure that you get a personalised service , but our team at Amaara is experienced enough to cater to your every need.Come ..... Stay with us at Amaara Sky ..... You'll love it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing