We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lonely option for vegetarians.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sri Ganeshananda Brahmins Vegetarian Hotel

Sri Ganeshananda Brahmins Vegetarian Hotel
Ranked #77 of 138 Restaurants in Kandy
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Seating
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“lonely option for vegetarians.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Nice option for vegetarians. food is not expensive. You will get all south indian meals.
if you want pure vegetarian food then is the only option for you in kandy.

Not a big restaurant, bit over crowded and not a good ambience.

Owner is very polite, they had exclusively arranged vegetable rotis for us.
You can also try Indian tea.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Keshav J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ratnagiri, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not to the expectations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

We had a lunch here. Situated on main road, easily accessible.
Food taste is OK, is cheap but the place looks dirty.
Washroom very dirty, no light n broken door.
But being among only 3 Indian veg restaurants, you can give it a try.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Abhijit_Marathe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Vegetarian restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

It is one the very few vegetarian indian restaurant in kandy. Quite in town centre and easily accessible

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sshridhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
123 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Not clean”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

The food seems ok but the restaurant is very dirty. From the entrance the showcase glasses are stained and the floor dredged in layers of oil. There are cleaner places around.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank UdSe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly and great value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

We went here for on our last night in Kandy-how I wish we had found it 3 days earlier. We got 2 dosas, some dips and various other little snacks for only a few pounds.They were happy to wrap the food up to take away, complete with banana leaf to eat off! And we spent the last night of our trip eating out lovely vege food on our hotel balcony-what more could you want?!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank b0bby66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sri Ganeshananda Brahmins Vegetarian Hotel also viewed

Kandy, Central Province
 
Kandy, Central Province
 
Kandy, Central Province
 

Been to Sri Ganeshananda Brahmins Vegetarian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing