We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kandy Greenview Hotel
Ranked #32 of 462 Kandy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2013

This was definitely one of the highlights of our journey to Sri Lanka. Wasanthi & Manjula are exceptionally warm (even for Sri Lanka) and took excellent care of us. And the food! Wasanthi gave us a delightful lesson in local ingredients, serving up the best variety of Sri Lanka food we would have on the trip. She even took requests and was consistently able to accomplish the challenging task of satisfying our five-year-old. The bed was even comfortable, which is a rarity in Asia, at least in this price class. We ended up staying for a week.
Location: Kandy Lake is a 10 min. walk; the Temple of the Tooth about 20 min.

Room Tip: The swimming pool at a nearby hotel is open to non-guests for a small charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jogden1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

78 - 84 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2013 via mobile

Loved it here. Clean rooms, beautiful gardens, good value for money. We were recommend this place by a fellow traveller, and Would highly recommend it ourselves. Nb it's actually greenview boutique if you are googling it.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Austravellerlucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Besides our taxi driver having some serious issues finding the place (make sure you bring the phone number) our stay at the greenview hotel has been nothing but pleasant. It's a small gem with only 2 or 3 rooms but great service and care from the hosts. It's a short walk to the temple and more of stroll down to the city center but we rather liked the location in somewhat less busy part of the town. Although the traffic can be heard quite well anyway.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claes80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We recently stayed here for 4 nights and I can honestly say it is the best place by far that we have been to. The interior is amazingly decorated with plenty of living space to utilise and the view of the hill side is wonderful. The hosts are so kind and couldn't have done more for us with spectacular meals, laundry service, wifi and their general friendly nature.

The guest house can feel a little far out if coming by roadside but there is a shortcut you can take if walking which cuts a huge corner off which means you can be at the lake in 5 minutes. Alternatively there are no shortage of tuktuks if you prefer.

I fell in love with Kandy and this guesthouse and will be returning at some point in the future!

Room Tip: Go for one by the fish pond, it's lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sal J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Manjula & Wasanthi are the staff that worked so hard to make our 4 nights heavenly! The hotel has a beautiful view of the mountains and staying here you really feel relaxed. The lovely water feature indoors and the surrounding landscape help one achieve pure tranquility!
Manjula & Wasanthi helped us plan our 4 days in Kandy and arranged anything we asked for, even when we were a little disorganised they managed to help us do everything we wanted!
I recommend wasnthi's breakfast and if you have a chance ask her for the traditional Sri Lakan curry; it's pure bliss!
An lovely place to stay and perfect hosts! I recommend this place strongly!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mark m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Kandy Greenview Hotel is without a doubt paradise on earth. Never have I ever met such wonderful, friendly and helpful people. They have an amazingly beautiful garden where one can enjoy breakfast or dinner in an incredibly calm environment. The rooms are clean, quite and the people running the hotel respect your privacy. The food served at the hotel is some of the best food we have ever had in the whole of Sri Lanka. It is the local cousine cooked for western taste, by that I mean Sri Lankan food but which isn't as spicy as it normally would be. From the hotel it is very easy to get into town, it's walking destiance to the center of town but one could of course also take a bus downtown.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Annica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

We found this place on trip advisor and went to their official website and the host called us within a couple of hours. The phone number is not on their website but it is 0774977821 and it will cost about 300 R for a Tuk Tuk. The house is out of the main noisy area up in the hills behind the lake and a bit hard to find but be persistent as you will be rewarded. Mash anti, the beautiful hostess will greet you at the door of this amazing house and you won't want to to leave. You every need is met and the garden is just gorgeous. You can walk to town easily. The wifi is excellent. Their are only four rooms at this lovely place and the home is just beautiful and you can use it like your own home. Stay a day, stay a week, you won't want to leave. Be careful of the monkeys. Make sure you have the wonderful breakfast out on the lawn in the garden.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Barbjimsamjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.7 mi away
Mountain View Holiday Home
1.8 mi away
Hanthana House
Hanthana House
#1 of 462 in Kandy
316 reviews
2.8 mi away
Vista House
Vista House
#19 of 462 in Kandy
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Hatale Tea Garden Bungalow
0.5 mi away
Sky Pavilion
Sky Pavilion
#8 of 462 in Kandy
278 reviews
1 mi away
Hanthana Holiday Rooms
Hanthana Holiday Rooms
#3 of 462 in Kandy
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kandy Greenview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandy Greenview Hotel

Address: 69 25d Ampitya Road, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 462 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range: £33 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kandy Greenview Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Kandy Greenview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing