We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ancient Lanka Hotel Kandy
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Kandy
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villa Rosa(Kandy)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
0
5
4
8
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
0
5
4
8
9
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Service staff was nice and helpful. Room was ok, but remember to ask for a one with windows. Nice view - as the hotel is on the hill. We didn't order food, so we do not know its quality, but they had tasty non-alco fruit drinks.

Room Tip: Try to book a room with windows :)
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank syla2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Ancient Lanka is a long way from the main sights of Kandy and we opted to have dinner there rather than go back into Kandy along the winding, potholed roads. This was a big mistake as my husband - who ate some salad and chicken - was very sick. Don't believe the slick brochure. The rooms are dark and the bathroom fittings fall off. The owners also insisted we go to a gem shop which was a rip off. They also told us the train to Colombo was unreliable because of floods and we were better off going in their van. We found out later that the trains were running on time.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Healin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

It is the worst hotel I have ever seen. The exterior frontal view was not even bad, it gave us even hope to find somethind similar inside as well. But the rooms were filthy and everythind in them was broken. The bed itself was comfortable, but sheets were dirty, washing conditions were practically non-existent, toilet seat was filthy and water was trickling out of the shower tap, the toilet + shower room itself was on the little dirty balcony, you had to go there thru the balcony. My husband went to toilet and could not get back into the room anymore, the door to the room got scotched. So he had to pound hardly to the door hoping somebody will hear it.... The view from the balcony and from the window was 20 cm, then started high cliff, practicly they were facing against the stone-wall. The curtains were never washed... and so on

Room Tip: no room!!!!! avoid this hotel!!!!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We spent 1 night in this hotel and would not recommend it at all. The rooms were dirty, not sure the bedsheet were changed and the bathroom horrible! Not talking about the food... The service was nice but not professional at all.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alsyar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Выбирайте номер с видом на город.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews