We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms but Overcharged us for Taxi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Settle Inn Tourist Lodge
Ranked #24 of 335 Speciality Lodging in Kandy
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice rooms but Overcharged us for Taxi”
Reviewed 27 March 2013

The rooms are very nice except for the very flimsy blanket which looked like a table cloth. The breakfast was decent and the mother of the owner was friendly. One of the staff who was there during our one night stay was a little mediocre in helping us find a taxi though. She said she'll call the manager and we waited for hours. Finally, my husband talked to the mother of the owner to call her son (the manager) to see if they could book us a taxi from Kandy to Ella. Now they said taxi would cost us 13,000 LKR (around $108 USD) for non-airconditioned car and 16,000 LKR for airconditioned car (around $130) which is really, really ridiculous. It didn't even include any tour. We were wondering why they would put a sign that says 35 LKR/km. They said it's old info and they just forgot to take it down. My husband insisted to get the Nano Taxi advertised for 4000 LKR to Nuwara Eliya. In the end, we ended up paying 6,600 (and tipped the driver 1,900 LKR for his honesty and good service) from Kandy to Nuwara Eliya, a lot cheaper than what they quoted us! I suggest book your tour elsewhere. The hotel is a rip off when it comes to arranging a taxi service. Also the staff had to turn off the wifi because of the thunder and lightning which we understood but forgot to turn it back on. We had to approach the staff several times and they don't seem to care so again, we approached the mother of the owner to turn in back on.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ekempis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    53
    24
    5
    11
See reviews for
23
44
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Considering the room rates, I was extremely impressed with the Settle Inn in Kandy. I spent quite a bit of time researching hotels in the area and I took a chance with this one, which was a good move. The reason that most of the nicer hotels are NOT in the town center is that the town center is the least charming part of Kandy, so being a 10-minute stroll along the lake away is ideal. Most places are farther.

My only complaint is that the bed is just okay and you only get a thin top sheet. Aside from that the place feels like a fancy boutique hotel. It's spotless and comfortable and even stylish. The included breakfast is quite good, with fresh fruit, a fried egg, toast and jelly with coffee or tea.

Both the manager and his mother were very helpful, with good advice on attractions and restaurants and such, so I'm not sure why the previous review had such an ax to grind. The tuk-tuk driver they recommend gave me a great tour of the area for the same price they all charge, and others at the hotel also seemed happy with him. Every driver in town wants to take you on a tour, but this guy you can trust because the hotel also has their reputation on the line.

Also, there's a flat-screen TV with quite a few satellite channels in each room, even though the official website doesn't mention that yet. My favorite thing was the wi-fi, which is super fast (feels like 8Mbps), although it's shut off from about 22:30 to 7:30 for some reason.

I like a beer or three in the evening, so I was pleased to discover that there's a big restaurant with a full (and cheap) bar at the hotel right next door. Alcohol can be challenging to find in Sri Lanka, so this is another plus.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerryChampagne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We stayed 2 nights here. At first everything was looking fine, but when we asked the manager to make a phone call to make a reservation for our next hotel he refused to do that. He said he had no mobile phone !?! But when you ask to make a call for a tuk tuk then suddenly he has a phone. And it was expensive tuk tuk, because the manager ask his commision.
Later that day the toilet was broking in our bathroom. It didn't flush. So we ask the manager again for help. Again he refused to help! I insistid to come and have a look. That was something i better didn't do! After his help our bathroom was totally flooded! And his reaction to that..... he was laughing and left the room!!! We had to clean everything ourselves! Now help at all! They didn't even cleaned our room the day after!!
So my advice is to book another hotel! Choice enough in Kandy!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ester V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

The Settle Inn is a smallish guest house right in the centre of Kandy near the lake and the Temple of the Golden Tooth so you can walk to all the sights. The rooms are small and clean with AC and there is even a hairdrier in the bathroom. Breakfast is served a a large table in the garden where one can chat to other guests and exchange travel tips if necessary.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saoirse2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013 via mobile

Good rooms at a good price. Nice breakfast, cold ac. Wifi is available from 7am to 10pm. There is a restaurant just down the street called the Garden Cafe good food very quickly, very affordable. Tv in the rooms and the ability to lock up your belongings. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJakes627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Stayed 2 nights here in january. The room was tired but more importantly the bed had simply one sheet under which was a stained (blood) mattress protector. When we asked for another sheet to sleep under we received 2 items similar to table runners no more than 3' wide! I was cold all night. Location is ok at the quieter end of Kandy but near enough that a short walk gets you to restaurants, ATM's etc.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank foggy2259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a night. Accommodation is clean and room is big. Location wise it's fairly near the town but getting there on foot will take a good 20-min stroll.

I find the mattress a tad too soft for me, and so are the pillows. The humidity sort of bugged me too as there's moisture on the walls. But then place makes up for it in terms of fast wifi, good advice by the owner and friendly staff. Shower and bathrooms are also clean.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank IchalLechenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#14 of 54 in Kandy
1,054 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 54 in Kandy
689 reviews
0.4 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Grand Kandyan Hotel
Grand Kandyan Hotel
#5 of 54 in Kandy
446 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#40 of 54 in Kandy
535 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pranobaa Home Stay
Pranobaa Home Stay
#31 of 409 in Kandy
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Settle Inn Tourist Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Settle Inn Tourist Lodge

Property: Settle Inn Tourist Lodge
Address: 53 Louis Peiris Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 335 Speciality Lodging in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Settle Inn Tourist Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Settle Inn Tourist Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing