We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great quiet place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Settle Inn Tourist Lodge
Ranked #27 of 304 Speciality Lodging in Kandy
nice
Level Contributor
71 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“great quiet place to stay”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We spent 2 nights in Settle Inn 2 (which is around 300meters from the main Settle Inn), the location is quiet, around 10 min walk from the lake with some local cafés near the lake. Our room was quite small but had everything we needed, a/c, fan, hot water, clean towels and sheets, bottled water, soap. Very clean, the staff is nice and professional, laundry service and drinks available at the reception. Nice breakfast: fruit, toasts, jam, butter, egg, tea or coffee. Definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oksana50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    53
    24
    5
    11
See reviews for
22
44
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Busselton, Western Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The room itself is ok, but there is no proper sheet, you have something like a tablecloth. The bathroom is really bad, nowhere on the website did it say you cant flush your toilet paper you have to put it in a bin (the bin was really small), the shower is really small and not the cleanest one we have come across. The hotel was fairly empty and on our last day we got to see inside some of the other rooms that had been modernised, if we had seen them earlier we would have asked to be moved.

We can't fault the breakfast it was very good, more than enough to get you started for the day.

We would not recommend the hotel to any of our friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen1158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kandy hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Cairns
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We spent a couple of nights here during our recent visit to Kandy and what a little gem. It is tucked away up a side street and so beautiful and quiet. Our room was very clean, cosy and a we enjoyed a lovely tasty breakfast. The location was perfect as it was only a 15-20 minute walk into central Kandy around the lake. The toilet paper was situated in an interesting place and involved some serious stretching but apart from that everything else was just perfect.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IndiaCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

After spending 2 months in Sri Lanka this was the most clean and cosy accomodation we have run into. Nice smelling clean towels, clean tea cups, functioning tv, a/c, fan, hairdryer, hot water... For Sri Lanka standards this was outstanding. Bit pricy though. But we have been in 3 other hotels in Kandy and for similar price this one wins by far. Enjoy.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Štěpán V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We staid there for one night before catching out train for Nuwara Eliya. It was the most clean hostel I staid in, very nice, European. maybe a bit pricey for Sri Lankan standards, but I would stay there again any time! Rooms are clean, breakfast is included, you have a/c and coffee in the room. And it is located just a 10-15 min walk to the centre or a 200 rupees drive with a tuk-tuk.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina Š
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This hotel was the best in my trip clean tidy friendly owner and staff ,the location was amazing we walked from the hotel to kandy lake and temple of tooth that must be seen around ,the breakfast was included but tiny breakfast , and I advise you to take the rooms inside not near the entrance coz in the early morning may be little noisy

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wiam Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights and didn't have anything to complain about. The place is conveniently located (LKR 300 from train station by tuk-tuk), but quiet enough to have a peaceful night. Staff was nice, room was tidy, a/c was working. Thumbs up, we'd come again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank DadaSuzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.6 mi away
Pranobaa Home Stay
Pranobaa Home Stay
#36 of 379 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sweet Lanka Kandy
Sweet Lanka Kandy
#2 of 304 in Kandy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.4 mi away
McLeod Inn
McLeod Inn
#4 of 304 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mango Garden
Hotel Mango Garden
#31 of 379 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jack Tree Lodge
Jack Tree Lodge
#21 of 304 in Kandy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kandy City Hostel
Kandy City Hostel
#5 of 304 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Settle Inn Tourist Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Settle Inn Tourist Lodge

Property: Settle Inn Tourist Lodge
Address: 53 Louis Peiris Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 304 Speciality Lodging in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Settle Inn Tourist Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Settle Inn Tourist Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing