We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best meal of the trip, for real!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Balaji Dosai

Balaji Dosai
Ranked #4 of 141 Restaurants in Kandy
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Balaji Dosai is a unique, concept restaurant in the heart of Kandy, a beautiful heritage in the city of the Central region of Sri Lanka. Balaji Dosai is a Indian vegetarian restaurant. The restaurant is modern and trendy and serves up a single cuisine menu including some of the best dosa's in town as the name speaks for itself. What's more than a dish cooked right in front of you.
Scotland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best meal of the trip, for real!”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

We decided to bite the bullet one day and join the locals for lunch in a spot where nobody spoke English, where we ate with our hands off bamboo leaves and boy did it pay off!! The masala dosa we had at Balaji on Colombo Street was one of the tastiest lunches I've ever had. My friend tried the onion Dosa which wasn't quite as good, due to the onions being a bit crunchy for our taste but the dosa itself was crispy and delicious. We also tried the parathas with some chana dal and lentil dal which were both good. But I kept going back to the Masala Dosa!! Do yourself a favour and go here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank c_metaxa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    177
    77
    22
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
114 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Awesome Dosas....”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Just happened to pass this place after visiting Temple of the Tooth.... Good Dosas.... very filling....

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KMahbubani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangalore, India
Level Contributor
557 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Headed to this one to try Indian (South Indian) food. However must say was disappointed. The only reprieve was that Dosa was hot. It tasted nothing like the ones we have in India. However if your a pure veggie then this is one of the few options available in Kandy.

The dosa was too thick. I guess if you are South Indian then it makes to pay for the dosa dough and pour the dosa on the hot tava yourself, that would make better sense

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mgprabhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Tasty food and great value”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Super tasty veggie food. Service is quick and polite. Went twice- once for dinner ( Masala Dosa, 175 rupees) and once for lunch ( rice and curry 150 rupees) Would definitely eat here again!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank njb1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goa, India
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nothing South Indian....”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This restaurant claims to be South Indian. Their preparations are nothing close to the real south Indian delicacies in spite of the names on the menu being the same. I'm not sure what their masala dosas and paper dosas are like but I asked for a plate of idili vada first and it was hard and old. As I could not eat that, I asked for a plain dosa and that was awful too except that it was hot and soft which helped in getting it swallowed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JamesRoy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Balaji Dosai also viewed

Kandy, Kandy District
Kandy, Kandy District
 
Kandy, Kandy District
 

Been to Balaji Dosai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing