We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
Review of Balaji Dosai

Balaji Dosai
Ranked #4 of 150 Restaurants in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Description: Balaji Dosai is a unique, concept restaurant in the heart of Kandy, a beautiful heritage in the city of the Central region of Sri Lanka. Balaji Dosai is a Indian vegetarian restaurant. The restaurant is modern and trendy and serves up a single cuisine menu including some of the best dosa's in town as the name speaks for itself. What's more than a dish cooked right in front of you.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

We had the masala dosa and chipati - both were excellent and the service was super friendly. If all vegetarian food were this good I might just follow the advice of their signs and go vegetarian. Great start to our visit in Kandy.

Helpful?
3 Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    194
    86
    27
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good and tasty vegetarian food”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The food here is quite tasty. It is a pure veg restaurant. It is quite close to the temple of tooth. The prices are reasonable. The cuisine is mainly south indian. The service is good. The proportions are big. The food is tasty.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Snehamudambi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Highly over-rated”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

It was not very clean, and the dosais were very average. The thing that really out us off was the waiter, who kept scratching himself while taking our order.
Clearly not a place we'd ever recommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank RamVenkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best meal of the trip, for real!”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

We decided to bite the bullet one day and join the locals for lunch in a spot where nobody spoke English, where we ate with our hands off bamboo leaves and boy did it pay off!! The masala dosa we had at Balaji on Colombo Street was one of the tastiest lunches I've ever had. My friend tried the onion Dosa which wasn't quite as good, due to the onions being a bit crunchy for our taste but the dosa itself was crispy and delicious. We also tried the parathas with some chana dal and lentil dal which were both good. But I kept going back to the Masala Dosa!! Do yourself a favour and go here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank c_metaxa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Awesome Dosas....”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Just happened to pass this place after visiting Temple of the Tooth.... Good Dosas.... very filling....

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KMahbubani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Balaji Dosai also viewed

Kandy, Kandy District
Kandy, Kandy District
 

Been to Balaji Dosai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing