We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pleasant, easy-going experience”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Kandy, Kandy District, Central Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
IngridLen...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Pleasant, easy-going experience”
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

My partner and I didn't stay at Alex Home Stay, however, Alex was our driver for part of our stay in Sri Lanka. His rates were reasonable, he was very energetic and lovely, was patient and content to drive us wherever we asked and was happy to explain anything we wanted to know about Sri Lanka and its people. Plus he gave us tips to prevent us being ripped off!

Also, his car is very new and comfortable, which is an added bonus!

Although I cannot review his homestay, I believe Alex would be a great host, with excellent knowledge to help you plan a hassle-free itinerary. The only regret I have was we didn't find him earlier!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqkie
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“The stay at Prassan's was the highlight of our 5D/4N Sri Lanka trip”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The stay at Prassan's was the highlight of our 5D/4N Sri Lanka trip. Everyone has shared everything you need to know (whole apartment/great local breakfast/location) - one thing you have to note is the 5 mins uphill walk (which was great for us!) But if that is ever your concern? and inner road location so you get peace after just 5 - 10 minutes walk from main road. This trip was our first time using airbnb as a guest (we are a host) and we are glad the hospitable and kind Prassan & wife were exemplary.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunflower...
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay in Kandy”
Reviewed 28 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

A wonderful place to stay in Kandy! We arrived on the train from Colombo, and Gerard (AKA Alex!) kindly picked us up directly from the station! Gerard's homestay offers an entire 1 bed apartment; with lounge (inc TV), beautiful verandah, kitchen, bathroom with hot water shower and a comfy double bed, with traditional Sri Lankan bed linen. We didn't have fixed plans, so Gerard had lots of helpful advice & ideas, & kindly met us that evening to take us to the British Cemetery and a traditional Kandian dancing performance. In the morning, we enjoyed a delicious traditional breakfast of Roti with curry, homemade by Gerard's lovely wife. We were sad not to stay for longer! Can't recommend highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Breakfast!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morebeerp...
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Centrally located but surrounded by nature with lovely views”
Reviewed 30 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here for 1 month nice apartment clean and modern inside. Bed is very comfortable and bedroom with fan keeps you cool. Kitchen well equipped for holidays with small stove, microwave, fridge and kettle. Good shower with hot water. The apartment is located just off of Katugastota Road which is a main road close to Kandy. Lots of buses and travel to town only 10-12 rupees on bus. Very quick into town on local buses. Centrally located and yet very little traffic noise with lots of greenery and nice views around. Spotted monkeys one day on my walk to the apartment. There is a temple next door to this place too. Lovely large balcony (table would be nice, only 4 chairs) and tropical well kept gardens surronding the place. Great place to explore Kandy and surrounding area.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The views, the balcony and the confortable clean bed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing