We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good view”

Honeypot Restaurant & Guest House
Ranked #37 of 147 Restaurants in Kandy
Price range: US$2 - US$5
Cuisines: European, Chinese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Honeypot Restaurant & Guest House is an Eighty seater family Restaurant located 1.5Km from the Kandy town centre.(About 5-8 minutes from the central Town Clock Tower by TukTuk). It is a great place to enjoy a meal overlooking the river and mountain range and indeed away from the pollution and noise of the town centre, yet not far from all the sight seeing places and attractions of the historical City. We offer a child and family friendly atmosphere. We serve hot and cold food from authentic Srilankan curries to fish&chips,Seafood dishes,fried rice, noodles, snacks, sandwiches, Halal dishes and many more. We also serve a selection of fresh tropical fruit juices along with hot drinks too. All our dishes are prepared to a very high standard. Our Prices are very low, whilst the service we offer is like no other. We also provide a free WiFi service to all our guests. The Honeypot also has four Guest Rooms which are clean, simple and competitively priced. All rooms are en-suite with a/c and fans. All rooms have a private balcony overlooking the river. The Honeypot prides itself for its simple original building design & deco, constructed utilising local material.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“good view”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Enjoyed eating here a few times, good food and friendly staff that never rushed you out of the building.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hannahlouise250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
33honeypotbear, Manager at Honeypot Restaurant & Guest House, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review. we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    70
    31
    17
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice location”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

It was lovely to eat by the river with wonderful views. The staff were friendly and happy to accommodate our requests for our young children. It seemed fairly expensive though. I had chicken noodles which was OK. We had a bit of a nightmare trying to get a Tuk Tuk back to our hotel as the Honey pot is in a beautiful remote location and the driver tried to over charge us.

Helpful?
1 Thank Arabella H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
33honeypotbear, Manager at Honeypot Restaurant & Guest House, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are sorry that the Tuktuk you picked up from the roadside overcharged you. If you had notified us, we would have got a tukuk to take you to your lodging at a reasonable price. We would like to inform fellow customres here that if they arrive in a tuktuk or indeed need a tuktuk to leave our premises, please inform us at the front desk and we will facilitate the negotiations for cheaper hires even though we would have to flag them down from the road.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

It was wonderful place to have a delicious food in a fantastic atmosphere. Chicken biryani and lentil soup was excellent. Price is very reasonable. Staffs were very friendly. After long journey from Colombo It was really very comfortable break. I wish to visit again and will strongly recommend my friend and family to visit Honeypot if there is any opportunity arose.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shyamali h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
33honeypotbear, Manager at Honeypot Restaurant & Guest House, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The honey pot of kandy”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

I was in kandy for a holiday last month and found this place while I visited the famous war cemetery. I was greated with a warm welcome by the staff who gave me and my family a lovely river view table. The Chineese food I ordered was Excellent. Very colour full and seasoned perfectly. We enjoyed it while I watched the others who was also in for lunch stare at our food impatiently.

Helpful?
1 Thank Geoffrey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
33honeypotbear, Manager at Honeypot Restaurant & Guest House, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ver disappointed”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

When I saw the amazing reviews on trip advisor I thought it was going to be something special. I was wrong. The view was nice and the service was fine. But after travelling quite far out of out way to get here we were not impressed. This by far the most expensive meal we had in Sri Lanka and the food was below average.
The reviews keep saying that all these local people come here .... I am very sceptical of that.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sylvia109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
33honeypotbear, Manager at Honeypot Restaurant & Guest House, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review. If you can specify what you had at Honeypot and when you arrived, it would be helpful to address your review in more detail. Indeed we take customer feedback very seriously and try to address them especially if they are negative as we are always trying to improve our service. Sadly with this review we are unable to do anything. Furthermore, I also find it wired that you seem to have made only two reviews during your whole stay in our country and co incidently reviewed another restaurant in kandy positively. Since you have indicated about price and not stated what you had we have had to check this for ourselves. from our findings I can confirm that our food is much more competitively priced than the place you have indicated. Hence, we must admit that we are also sceptical about this review. I do not understand the real reson behind you rating us so lowely. We are very dissapointed because our staff work very hard and make every effort to please our guests and not necessarily for our rating. we sincerely hope that fellow readers will understand by visitng us. There are many good places to enjoy a meal in kandy town and its vicinity. We do not and will not consider any place negatively. we are merely trying to improve our standards and provide the best for our customres.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Honeypot Restaurant & Guest House also viewed

 
Kandy, Kandy District
Kandy, Kandy District
 

Been to Honeypot Restaurant & Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing