We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place with amazing hosts”
Review of River Grove

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
River Grove
Ranked #66 of 335 Speciality Lodging in Kandy
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful place with amazing hosts”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We booked this place for our recent visit to Sri Lanka based on the very high rating and the affordable rates. Initially it took us time locating this place because its hidden among the wilderness of Kandy (its right opposite the SeaPlane docking). Situated right next to a river, this place offers serenity away from the rush and traffic of the city.
The place was among the highlights of our holiday because for the couple running this place. They were an amazing host caring for all our needs as well keeping us entertained. Whether serving a tasty dinner with local dishes or preparing b'fast for us at 4am in the morning before we left, they were really very helpful.
The only concern is that the place is situated a bit far from the city so its advisable to have a vehicle for commuting. Otherwise this would definitely be among the best place to stay in Kandy.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AnuragMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We are a family of 4 and spent 2 fabulous nights here. It felt like we were staying with friends of the family, rather than in a paid bed and breakfast. The owners, Raja and Shirani, were very welcoming and speak great English. I have never stayed in a bed and breakfast before where you eat at the owner's dinner table and you all eat together, and I loved it. It gave all of us insight into Sri Lankan life. The home cooked meals were wonderful (although a little pricey at US$15 per adult), with a range of curries to share. Shirani ensured that at least part of the meal was suitable for the boys, and her desserts were a huge hit!

Staying here was a welcome change from hotels, and our 6 and 8 year old appreciated being in a home again, especially when Raja was so willing to play with them. There were lots of tears from our 6 year old when we left!!

The house and its gardens are lovely, it was very relaxing sitting on the verandah with a cuppa in the afternoon. They are also a short walk away from the river, so a stroll is also quite nice.

Highly recommend River Grove, it would be equally suitable for couples; there are so many lovely aspects to it. And if you are a fan of beautiful hand embroidery, be sure to ask Shirani to show you her wares! River Grove, due to Shirani and Raja's hospitality, was a highlight of our holiday to Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank melaniec08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We were a group of 4 friends exploring Sri Lanka. The few nights we spent with Shirani and Raja certainly enhanced our Sri Lankan experience. It was lovely to be able stay in someones home and experience their hospitality and wonderful home cooked food. We found our hosts very interesting people and accommodating to our needs. We had a driver for our stay. Not sure how it would work without a driver or car. The accomodation was clean and comfortable. Would certainly recommend this place. Dorothy

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dorlynda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa Falls, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Fellow travelers,
River grove is nothing short of spectacular. The ambiance was exactly what we looked for in a stay away from home but to feel quite at home. The couple that lives and runs the place were wonderful and gave us great insight as to what we could do and places we could go to get the best of the week we spent in kandy. As in many places and vacations a week seemed to be too little because there were so many wonderful places to go to.
The hospitality was stupendous and they were very fluent in English so we had no trouble communicating. We recommend the River grove to all our friends and it is kept up so well and is spotlessly clean.
We are already planning another trip to Sri Lanka to see other parts of the Island, and will definitely stay at least a day at the River Grove to unwind and recharge.
Good luck on your travels. Charles

Room Tip: The River is great to take a paddle boat ride. Request it when you confirm the room. The lady that r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Charles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

It was a great experience. River Grove is right outside the city, just a few yards away from the Sea Plane doc. Very convenient to fly in from Colombo. Everyone was very friendly, the rooms were clean and the food was excellent. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Durga868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.8 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#2 of 54 in Kandy
518 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 54 in Kandy
689 reviews
0.6 mi away
View 360
View 360
#28 of 54 in Kandy
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
#10 of 54 in Kandy
998 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
1.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Grove

Property: River Grove
Address: 363 Dutugemunu Mawatha ave | Mawilmada, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 335 Speciality Lodging in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River Grove, set on a hillock in tropical gardens, is a homestay experience that provides an insight into Sri Lankan living and traditional cuisine. Owners, Raja and Shirani are very hospitable and will ensure guests have a relaxing holiday. River Grove is only occupied by the two of them and their staff. Shirani is an excellent cook and is happy to share her recipes with guests. Go bird watching along the Mahaweli River; visit Kandy’s ancient cultural sites or just relax in the garden with a cup of Ceylon tea. River Grove can accommodate four guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your River Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing