We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“super duper hostel or staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kandy Down Town Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kandy Down Town Hostel
Ranked #6 of 270 Speciality Lodging in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Kandy, Sri Lanka
1 review
“super duper hostel or staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

kandy down town hostel is too good thay hav very greenree and neet or cleen rooms bathroom also gud hostel care taker lady hav very kind heart lady.today i am not well.she hav care me just my family member.manager is gud,auto driver nice gaye.kantee really i will thankfull to you.god bless you,thaks

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kami164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    41
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
1
10
78
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

I think the staff was friendly and accommodating but this hostel needs to be renovated. The bathroom was not too clean and looked "overused". The dorm room was okay... Not perfect but thank God for the mosquito net. I like the chill area and the breakfast too. It's a bit far from the city centre and the restaurants but you can always walk or hire a tuktuk (250 rupees) to go to the lake area. No noise here though so if you want peace and quiet, this may just be the right place for you. Don't expect too much. It's average...unless they renovate the entire area.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RicaMY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed my time at the hostel. It is very, very clean which is always a plus. The staff is extremely helpful and they have a tuktuk on site which is great. The prices on the tuktuk are cheaper than I have been able to bargain for outside the hostel. It saves a lot of energy. Nice home stay type feel and I do suggest this hostel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Justin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

I stayed here in December 2013, it was a recommendation from its 'sister' hostel in Colombo. Its very close to the centre and you can walk into the town in around 20 minutes.
The hostel is quite literally in the Tropics so it has very beautiful scenery.
The price was very good and it is a large hostel in comparison to those i have stayed in.
There were lots of fellow travellers so i got to meet lots of interesting people.
It also has a really good communal balcony/dining outside area where you can have a beer and relax, I spent one evening whilst it was pouring with rain sitting on the balcony chatting to various people from all over the world drinking beer..... Good times!
The rooms are great, very clean and all had Mosquito nets which i hadn't come across in any previous hostels.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, i had to get to the train station at 5am one morning and one of the guys got up especially and took me in his auto rickshaw.
The hostels/hotels in Kandy town center are very expensive so i would definitely recommend this place to anyone wanting to save the pennies!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanniBeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights. Clean and nice. Great service! Breakfast was ok with toast, eggs and jam. Spacious rooms. Cheap laundryservice and not too far from city. About 200 rupees with tuktuk. Absolutely recommended for budget travellers.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Monica V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

This hostel is very clean and nice. Breakfast include and also free coffee and free tea whole the day. Free Wifi. Nice common area to meet another traveller, great place. TV with international English Channels, BBC, CNN, Aljazeera and so. Possible to order food delivery. Mr Susantha is very nice and take care of you and help you, he can even order medicine delivery if anybody Sick, which is happened me and another traveller. You can just tell home you are hungry and want to eat in the hostel, and he phone for food for you. Easy and comfortable. Cleaning everyday. Bathrooms always clean. Washing machine for only one US dollar. I wanted to stay first only 3 days but I stayed here 8 days.Great place to stay.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Saad Salim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

We read several times, that there was overbooking in this hostel, but we also read a comment from the owner, that this had been improved. So we decided to book a room yesterday.
Today when we arrived in the afternoon they didn't have a doubleroom anymore.
So we told the staff to find a solution.
First solution was to go to one of their guests and say that they would need his room...
Wouldn't have worked anyway because it was a single room.
Then they tried to transfer us to another hotel, same price. Driver would be coming.
We realised after some time via Internet that this hotel was far away from kandy centre.
So we did't want that and booked another hotel via internet.
We informed the staff about our new booking but they apparantly didn't (want to) understand us.
After some time the driver from the hotel they wanted us to transfer to arrived, he was suprised that we didn't want to go to his hotel and, of course, didn't want to drive us to our newly booked hotel.
We got angry and demanded a transport to our hotel.
After some more waiting time we finally got it.
Waste of a looot of time...


Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nacho A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.2 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#5 of 58 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
1.1 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#19 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.9 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#10 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kandy City Hotel
Kandy City Hotel
#23 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kandy City Hostel
Kandy City Hostel
#4 of 270 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Elephant Shed - Tourist Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kandy Down Town Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandy Down Town Hostel

Property: Kandy Down Town Hostel
Address: 93 Aniwatta Road, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 270 Speciality Lodging in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Kandy Down Town Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing