We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A Unique Hotel'”
Review of Elephant Stables

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elephant Stables
Ranked #1 of 57 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I stayed here last week while on a short trip out of Colombo to see friends. Its difficult to find luxury hotels in Sri Lanka at affordable prices these days and the hotel was doing a special low season offer.
Very tastefully done with a mix of old and new style interiors that worked very well.
The food was easily the best I had ever tasted in Sri Lanka, so if the Master Chef is in attendance you will be served with great rice and curries. On request he will also make some flavorsome Thai dishes for those want a change.
All in all, everything was highly satisfactory. I will come again for sure.'

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Guest,
It's a great pleasure to be aware that you had a superb holiday in Elephant Stables. Please feel free to visit us any time and we will be delighted to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (575)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

479 - 485 of 575 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013

Elephant Stables

I had a marvelous stay in Kandy in Sri Lanka at the Elephant Stables Boutique Hotel in September.Wonderful interiors- The rooms were lavish, very spacious , very clean and well kept and the bed was amazing. The bathrooms are amazing with beautiful designs.

The Service- The staff were extremely discrete and highly professional. The manager Mr. Nalaka was very helpful in locating fantastic spots to see and visit. As for the greeting staff Manjula was extremely welcoming. All in all the staff were pleasant and so excited to have my family at the hotel, always attentive and with a smile.


Dining- Dining was simply the best I had in years from any hotel from the States to Sri Lanka, Master chef Indika was what I called the Sri Lankan Gordon Ramsay, from the diversity of his meals from being able to create a meal that I requested to his desserts, Apple crumble and molten chocolate I was never disappointed with the meals. The entire cooking staff was amazing .

This Hotel is a must visit not only does Elephant Stables have the best staff but they also have one of the most breath taking views of the city of Kandy. Very reasonably priced too for a luxury hotel. You'd be hard pressed to find a fault here. My only qualm was that the internet wasn’t at its best. I will definitely stay there on my next visit.

Julien V

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julien V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear Guest,
It's a pleasure to understand that you had a great time in Elephant Stables at the very special moment in your life. We hope you will visit us to celebrate your 01st wedding anniversary too. Wishing you all the very best for a happy wedded life.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed 2 nights in September, in the Cottage Suite. This is accessed via the garden, and is lovely and spacious, with one large bedroom and a sitting area/twin bedroom/bathroom partially separated and private. Furnishings are very comfortable, good TV channle choices, and they were able to move a Wifi connection into the suite to enable a better signal. There was a small outside sitting area with views but we didn't use this as we were there in rainy weather!
The food was fantastic both evenings, especially the traditional Sri lankan curry which consisted of numerous delicious dishes. Breakfast choices were good, and we were served promptly at all times.
The gardens and pool are beautifully kept, with views of the mountains. It is away from the hustle and bustle and noise of the Kandy roads. It is a little tricky to find, and they have still to put their name on a signpost on the access road.
The staff were very pleasant, and could not have been more helpful.
Overall, a good hotel, small with a personal feel to it, excellent food.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank montymax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear Guest, we are happy to hear that you loved your stay at Elephant Stables. We look forward to seeing you again in near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Loved our stay here. The view is spectacular and the entire place is homey and relaxing. It is easy to feel that you are staying over in a friend's place. The staff are all friendly and accommodating - service here is quite personal. In house dining also good. We enjoyed our 10 curry dinners. Well worth the time and money. Would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GinoBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear Guest, it's very nice to read your beautiful experience. We hope you will visit us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We spent lovely 2 nights at the ‘stables’ in the Vanilla Suite at the Elephant Stables in September. It was beautifully done with antiques and prints – possibly the most beautiful room I have ever stayed in.

The staff was so friendly. Nothing was too much trouble for them. We were there with some friends who had 2 kids, and the staff really went out of their way to treat them each meal with familiar comfort food like chicken strips and fries while we tucked into delicious rice and curries prepared by Indeeka, their great chef.

There was a lovely pool in the garden and the views over the mountains was superb, especially waking up in the mornings to see the clouds rising up over a peak in the far distance. Amazing!

The kids were looking forward to seeing the elephants, but they weren't around. We were told that they are away participating at the temple festivals during September.

Next time we come back to Kandy for another vacation I know where we will definitely be heading!! :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doe-saurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to know that you loved your stay at Elephant Stables. Unfortunately your kids missed the time intended to spend with the elephant due to an unavoidable situation. We look forward to seeing you soon. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Ok, the place looks great , incredible view , large rooms. The biggest problems is, "big brother is watching you".
The staff don't leave alone.
There is no privacy.
And the worst of all, staff getting drunk at night and wanting to interact with guest, never a good combo.
If I ever return to kandy , I will definitely not stay at the Elephant stables.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrloughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

We are surprised and saddened by this review.

We understand that the guest had turned up at 10:30 pm at night in an unknown vehicle with a non-guest. In Sri Lanka 10:30 pm is considered ‘late’ as it is still a conservative country in many ways. Therefore, an off duty staff-member had naturally wanted to know who had turned up at the hotel un-announced when the client had wanted to take his guest to his room.

In no hotel in Sri Lanka is it correct or allowed to take ‘outsiders’ to a room, especially so late at night. Hence, our staff was 100% correct in requesting the guest, not to take a non-guest into his room.

We understand that client felt aggrieved about this incident but we also feel it is not correct to publish complete untruths on Trip Advisor as a result?

When contacted by us, the guest said he had chosen to stay at our hotel for ‘privacy’ but as a responsible hotel, we are bound to protect the privacy and safety of other clients too.

We cannot allow this guest to spoil the absolutely fantastic reviews that all other clients have left about their stay at The Elephant Stables, and over an incident that is absolutely no fault of ours. Therefore please let me apologise to others for the strong reply we have been forced to leave on Trip Advisor as a response.

There are 27 guest reviews of the hotel on Trip Advisor and no less than 19 comments on the friendliness of the staff as a prime reason for a fabulous stay. We would urge potential guests to read and digest all reviews so that they can come to a balanced view about our hotel and its staff in particular.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We were lucky enough to be booked into this hotel by our tour company Elephant Island and we thank them for it. It is a lovely hotel with a good variety of rooms, and the staff were very helpful and attentive. It is located high up so has wonderful views, particularly from the pool area. (Pool towels provided also.) One criticism though, my daughter asked for a glass of wine with dinner, but could only have a whole bottle, which was rather expensive, but the food in the restaurant was very good and well presented. We would certainly recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Guest,

We are glad that you had a great stay here in Elephant Stables. We will take your concerns into consideration in order to provide our guests a better service in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
1.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
2.7 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 57 in Kandy
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#2 of 57 in Kandy
351 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Secret Kandy
The Secret Kandy
#8 of 57 in Kandy
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Stables

Address: 46 Nittawela Road, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 57 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range: £168 - £998 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elephant Stables 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant Stables is a beautiful colonial era bungalow on a hill overlooking Kandy city that has been converted into a luxurious boutique hotel offering elegant colonial style living in Sri Lanka. It features a unique blend of original mid-century furniture with modern chic interiors with an exceptional level of personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Elephant Stables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing