We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay”
Review of Elephant Stables

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elephant Stables
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed here on 2 occasions during October. What an absolute delight. We can't believe this was only ranked number 7 on trip advisor when we booked it. The rooms are beautiful. The pool is very nice. There are nice views over kandy. The staff are fantastic and extremely helpful. It is rare for a property to show the pictures and names of the staff working on a property on the internet and this reflects the pride of the staff in their job and the service we provide. The curry banquet was fantastic. The alacarte menu not as good but still quite nice. We stayed in many places in Sri Lanka and this was our favourite which is why we went back for an additional night of tranquillity and luxury. It is a bit hard to find but our driver asked a few people on the way and we got there without problems. We stayed in a different upstairs room on each visit and loved both.

Room Tip: We stayed in 2 upstairs rooms and both were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calmtravel56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We are extremely happy that you extended your stay at Elephant Stables to enjoy your holiday in Kandy. Your good comments are the most precious award we can ever imagine to be received. thank you for your very encouraging comments and we wish to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    102
    21
    16
    3
See reviews for
133
293
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Its a beautiful hotel and the entire experience was excellent. I would certainly recommend this property to my friend / family circle.

The food was out of the world and the friendly, experienced staff made our stay even more memorable.

The rooms are nice and the view from the hotel rooms was picturesque...

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sheruni J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We are pleased that you had a lovely time in Elephant Stables. We do hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Upgraded to this hotel for our trip to Sri Lanka. Greeting on arrival excellent. Lovely infinity Pool . Room spacious with lovely 4 poster bed and excellent. Shower. Only. Criticism which was the same for a lot of the hotel we stayed in no plugs socket by mirror which would have been useful to dry hair

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank trysomewherenew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Public Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Guest,

It's our extreme pleasure to understand that you found the Elephant Stables as a 'lovely hotel'.

With regard to your concern on hairdryer plugs we are pleased to mention that the shaver plug sockets in all bathrooms accept hairdryer plugs. We also supply hairdryers in all bedrooms on a complimentary basis. I wonder if staff had not conveyed the same to you. We will ensure that housekeeping staff makes the guest aware of all facilities available for them. Please let me send you our apologies for the lack of communication regarding this matter.

We hope to see you soon again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This is a tiny boutique hotel set on a narrow promontory of land overlooking the outskirts of Kandy. Our room (Vanilla) had views to east and west. The staff are discrete and attentive. The manager was exceptional in sorting-out a problem with our onward train ticket. I recommend you try the Sri Lankan curry - 8 curries including meat/fish - without any fiery chilli kick.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin042042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about Elephant Island. We are most delighted to learn that you had a wonderful experience in our hotel and found the staff and services outstanding. Your feedback will most certainly add force in our quest towards excellence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainz, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This beautiful boutique hotel is situated on top of a hill just few minutes away from Kandy City Centre. As you get off your vehicle you see mountains and hills from one side and dwellings on a hilly area over looking the pool. Pool is so beautiful and inviting with beautiful views right around that cannot match any other.
 
From the friendly welcome the moment we arrived we were well looked after by the smiling staff who always wanted to help. To add to our joy there was an elephant stationed in the garden that has been brought for an upcoming event.
 
Our room was large and beautifully furnished with the most comfortable beds we slept in while in Sri Lanka. Food was out of this world, with fresh ingredients from the market each day. We highly recommend this hotel for anyone who wants to relax in a beautiful surrounding, with a lovely pool and excellent service.
 

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PTiemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments,and we're pleased you had a really good stay and were kind enough to describe the stay as 'best of the best'. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This property has been recently refurbished. The pool was beautiful and a great escape from the tropical temperatures. The staff went out of their way to look after us and our Tuk Tuk driver, Marvin was a great guide. The restaurant produced one of the best meals we ate in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kencos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Guest,

It's a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay in Elephant Stables. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trivandrum
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We were really not too about sure what to expect while getting to this hotel as I had taken a chance and booked something a little nicer than our usual budget had allowed. I have to say that we were not disappointed! The interiors were tastefully furnished, and like everybody says, the food is marvellous, the staff were un-obtrusive but there when needed, and we really enjoyed our stay here at Kandy.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 483Babu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the beautiful feedback. We are happy that you had enjoyed your stay in Elephant Stables and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.0 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
1.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#7 of 54 in Kandy
997 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#2 of 54 in Kandy
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kandy
736 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 54 in Kandy
684 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
#10 of 54 in Kandy
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Stables

Property: Elephant Stables
Address: 46 Nittawela Road, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elephant Stables 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant Stables is a beautiful colonial era bungalow on a hill overlooking Kandy city that has been converted into a luxurious boutique hotel offering elegant colonial style living in Sri Lanka. It features a unique blend of original mid-century furniture with modern chic interiors with an exceptional level of personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Elephant Stables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing