We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Elephant Stables

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Elephant Stables
Ranked #3 of 53 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Amazing Food!”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Elephant Stables is beautiful. So tastefully fitted out with fabulous four poster beds and large rooms. The food was totally amazing - the curries in the evening were the best we tasted anywhere in Sri Lanka and the breakfast Hoppers were gorgeous!

The only slight negative was that the room was really noisy. You could hear every single move and conversation from other guests and every time the phone rang down stairs it was like it was in our room! This really didn't bother us as we were getting up early anyway but would have been frustrating otherwise! take some ear plugs and you will be fine!

We will definitely recommend friends to stay at Elephant Stables and will go again when we return to beautiful Sri Lanka!

Room Tip: Ask for one with least echo!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allstarsprog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    98
    21
    16
    3
See reviews for
130
288
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Elephant Stables was the penultimate stop of our honeymoon in Sri Lanka, and it certainly didn't disappoint. We booked our room all the way back in June when only three reviews were shown on tripadvisor (apparently it's only been open since April), so we made a bit of a punt, but it definitely paid off, and we're not surprised the hotel is now ranked number two in Kandy.

We stayed in the Citronella Suite which was absolutely amazing. The room was really stylish with plenty of space including a huge four poster bed, and the bathroom looked so good my wife said she'd like one just like it at home!

The location couldn't have been better, set up in the hills overlooking Kandy, which was really breathtaking. The service was excellent, with all the team being very attentive and always happy to help. This extended to the manager waking up at 5am for our check out to drive us to the train station. Certainly service above expectation!

The food was delicious, with the menu offering a nice mix of local and western dishes. The chef coming out after every meal to make sure everything was ok was also a nice touch.

All in all a fantastic stay. If we ever come back to Kandy we'd certainly be booking back into the Elephant Stables!

Room Tip: The Citronella suite was great but didn't have a balcony so if this is required make sure you as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BLeandro83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Ben,

We are pleased that we managed to add charming memories to your special holiday in Sri Lanka. Your positive comment s are a great encouragement for us and we look forward to receiving you both in Elephant Stables soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

To everyone at the Elephant Stables - thank you for an amazing end to our holiday!

We checked in fairly late, yet the welcome was first class and having some food prepared was no trouble at all. The hotel is a stunning building and when inside its a bit like you're relaxing in a friends house. The furniture and decor is fabulous - if I could have taken everything I would have!!!

In terms of the food - delicious! The chef (who came out to make sure everything was to our liking) is excellent. It's not the cheapest, but in terms of quality and taste it was worth every cent.

Great pool with a stunning view - including the big Buddha. Could do with a few more sun beds, but plenty of deck space around the pool to lounge on.

Overall - was a fantastic stay and we really wanted to stay a lot longer. Thanks again - hopefully we'll be back very soon.

Room Tip: Get one of the first floor rooms with balconies for a really great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Caroline,

It's a pleasure to know that you had a great time in Elephant Stables and you loved the stay with us. We look forward to seeing you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Great Sri Lankan hospitality in a beautiful new property. A bit out of the way from main Kandy town but you get rewarded with amazing views, beautiful sunsets and some peace and quiet. Service was impeccable and personal. Definitely worth a second, longer stay.

Room Tip: Ask for that Pepper or the Lemongrass room. Both rooms have good size balconies over looking that po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magiccarpetride2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We are pleased you that you enjoyed your stay in Elephant Stables and especially the newly done up rooms ‘Pepper’ and ‘Lemon Grass’ . Thank you for recommending us on your feedback and we hope to see you soon. We wish you a happy new year !!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

great location away from bustle of kandy but near enough to visit
fantastic swimming pool in lovely gardens with a great view over kandy - friendly welcoming staff, delicious food, very comfortable rooms

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoialondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We are pleased that you had a great experience in Elephant Stables, while you were in Kandy and were able to enjoy our facilities and services. Thank you for recommending us on your feedback and we hope to see you again when you visit Kandy.
Very best compliments of the season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

the hotel sit on top of a small hill, with only few rooms, we liked the privacy and the view. we only stayed for one night. the room was clean, with a nice balcony. breakfast was prepared individually and quite tasty

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank yixin l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Yixin,

We wish you had more time to spend in Elephant Stables. However, it’s great to know that your stay with us was great and you enjoyed the food very much..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 25 December 2013

The Elephant Stables was our introduction to Sri Lanka, and it couldn't have been more welcoming and wonderful. After a long trip from Boston via Frankfurt we arrived in Colombo in the early morning and took a long car ride to Kandy. Exhausted and a bit overwhelmed, we were made to feel so welcome. The hotel is lovely, in quiet grounds, elegantly furnished with a pristine pool.
The staff and the manager, Nalaka, took care of us on arrival - fruit and breakfast in the garden - and our room was cool, clean and beautifully appointed. We spent two nights at the hotel and each night came back for dinner. We had initially tried to have dinner in town, after exploring the Temple of the Tooth, but unimpressed, came back and had a wonderful impromptu meal, even though we were the only guests. The second night the chef, who we hightly recommend, prepared a Sri Lankan curry and rice dish with seven parts that was delicious. Reluctantly, we left to explore the Cultural Triangle, and Nalaka arranged for our driver, Prasad, to take us on the Shigiriya and finally to Trincomalee. Can't recommend the hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: We loved the Saffron room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CapnD2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We are extremely happy to realize that you had a fabulous time in Elephant Stables. In the meantime, we would like to thank you for recommending us on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
2.6 mi away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#1 of 1 in Hantana
590 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#2 of 53 in Kandy
322 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#1 of 1 in Tennekumbura
1,890 reviews
1.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#8 of 53 in Kandy
912 reviews
8.2 mi away
Madulkelle Tea and Eco Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Stables

Property: Elephant Stables
Address: 46 Nittawela Road, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 53 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elephant Stables 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant Stables is a beautiful colonial era bungalow on a hill overlooking Kandy city that has been converted into a luxurious boutique hotel offering elegant colonial style living in Sri Lanka. It features a unique blend of original mid-century furniture with modern chic interiors with an exceptional level of personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elephant Stables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing