We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bliss in Kandy - what a great hotel! ”
Review of Elephant Stables

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elephant Stables
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Bliss in Kandy - what a great hotel! ”
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

We booked last minute when another property let us down. This down to earth boutique hotel is fantastic! Build a 6 room hotel and go the #2 on Tripadvisor in. 9 months - now that's good! We had the Pepper Suite, the kind of room you never want to leave. Gorgeous comfortable bed. & furniture. A great bathroom. Wrap around balcony with huge sliding dopers to open. The food was superb. The chef came to ask about our meals. The GM was always present and managing the moment it seemed all the time. Views great. Pool great. Breakfast great. Clean and crisp everywhere. Ok I think you get it! Congratulations to the Elephant Stables Team !!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Muskoka21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the best wishes. We are truly and humbly happy about the praises we receive from our guests during this short period and we strive to perform better with the encouragement receive from clients like you...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    107
    26
    16
    4
See reviews for
144
306
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We covered 900 miles, staying at 8 fabulous places in Sri Lanka and without doubt Elephant Stable was our favourite. The staff are wonderful. Vey professional yet friendly and charming. Their expert chef prepared incredibly imaginative meals – each a work of art. It’s a small hotel with an intimate atmosphere and great views in every direction. So enjoyable in fact, we dedicated our third and final day in Kandy to simply lounging around to enjoy the gardens and pool – we didn’t leave the hotel grounds once which is so unlike us. They have two pools (one at back and a small ornamental one at the front) I swam in both. The latter was a mistake as it was still dark at 5am and I was on my way to Sri Dalada Maligawa. At least it gave my wife and our tuktuk driver a good laugh. One thing that was particularly touching when checking-out -the entire staff stopped what they were doing came to the entrance for a photo shoot then waived us goodbye.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeekendEscapeeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the very positive feedback that you had sent us. I am sure you must have had good time especially when you had a dip in the ornamental pool (pond) though it was a mistake.

The happiness for us is receiving happy clients everyday !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Can't recommend, run by a nincompoop

We are a group of three friends travelling around Sri Lanka. We thought that the elephant stables would be a nice, pretty place to stay in Kandy but in the end we were glad to leave.

Anyone who has been to Sri Lanka will become familiar with smiling, friendly staff and their haphazard, almost charming way of getting things done (or not). We are a relaxed group and not on a very tight schedule so happy to go with the flow most of the time.

Here however, incompetence was taken to a new level. Given the price of the place, we would have expected much better as well. The staff were thin in the ground, slow and a bit forgetful but quite sweet as well. The real issue here is the smiling buffoon of a manager who can't do much more than call a taxi and add up the bill.

Our first night in the hotel we were very impressed by how pretty the room was and the lovely big bed. We hadn't even noticed that there was no blanket or duvet on it. The weather can be quite cold in Kandy at night so this wasn't a small detail.

We realised that there was no duvet, blanket or sheet just as we went to bed and called housekeeping on a cell phone to bring something. They didn't reply to our repeated phone calls for the next hour. We then decided to disturb the manager and call his mobile as there was no one to be found on site. Finally, after several attempts he replied and promised to solve the problem. We were tired, cold and desperate to get to bed. After waiting for another hour, nobody came.

We slept dressed in jumpers and covered by a sarong in the end until finally the staff came in the morning and we manage to procure a duvet for a couple of hours of sleep. The duvet was actually only a single one but by that stage we were too tired to do anything.

The next morning the manager asked how we slept and told us off for waking him up late at night! We couldn't understand how a hotel charging US$ 200 a night could allow it's guests to sleep in such conditions and how the manager knew about the problem and didn't do anything. He explained that he had tried to reach house keeping without success and so had gone back to sleep.

The attitude was that we had paid and it wasn't his problem if there was no blanket in the room. Even after we got sick from being so cold there was no apology. After all of this we still had to ask three times to be brought a large, double duvet in time for the second night.

Apart from that, we were asked for cigarettes by waiters and overcharged for absolutely everything compared to other hotel prices, especially the evening meal which was three times more expensive than any other menu item and not stated previously. The constant obsequious rip off mentality was tiring.

The hotel manager did organise a day driver for us and a driver to continue our trip up north. The day driver turned out to be a sort of con merchant, taking us to supposedly better places than we had on our itinerary that turned out to be disappointing. He was probably making commissions on entrance fees and sales.

Absolutely to be avoided is Millenium elephant orphanage that was little more than a couple of "tamed" and chained elephants walking people around a dirty pond. Pinnewala looks much better even if it also receives mixed reviews.

Then we got taken to an Ayurveda place by the driver to be pumped for more money and presumably attached commissions.

The driver to take us up North seems OK so far; he knows the roads and the places and drives quite well.

The price paid for each of the drivers was in the higher range of what we would have expected based on other offers.

On departure we saw all the overpriced bill items, reflected on our stay and felt that it wasn't justified. We asked for a discount on the first night to reflect the low standards but the manager was unwilling to provide it. After a lot of pushing on our side and some embarrassing offers from him (free bottle of wine? Cigarettes?) we eventually got him to take off the relatively expensively priced evening meal and settled at that.

We left feeling that this was probably a successful business: charging high prices, marketing well and up selling everything but where the client experience is decidedly a secondary concern. It seems like a fairly new place so perhaps it will settle down in time but based on our experience we definitely can't recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Bibi_La_Petite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Valued Trip Advisor Clients,

It is to be regretted that there are occasionally, clients who turn up at hotels with very bad attitudes and motives.

These clients had threatened our manager with blackmail and demanded free dinners and other complimentaries with a warning that if we do not do otherwise, they would post a bad review on Trip Advisor, which is exactly what they have done.

The staff, including our manager are universally recognized as some of the best in the whole of Sri Lanka.

If there are constructive criticisms, we take them on board and strive to do better. Calling people ‘buffoons’ and ‘nincompoop’ and using such derogatory language only reflects upon the character and mentality of these particular guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Elephant Stables is beautiful. So tastefully fitted out with fabulous four poster beds and large rooms. The food was totally amazing - the curries in the evening were the best we tasted anywhere in Sri Lanka and the breakfast Hoppers were gorgeous!

The only slight negative was that the room was really noisy. You could hear every single move and conversation from other guests and every time the phone rang down stairs it was like it was in our room! This really didn't bother us as we were getting up early anyway but would have been frustrating otherwise! take some ear plugs and you will be fine!

We will definitely recommend friends to stay at Elephant Stables and will go again when we return to beautiful Sri Lanka!

Room Tip: Ask for one with least echo!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allstarsprog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Elephant Stables was the penultimate stop of our honeymoon in Sri Lanka, and it certainly didn't disappoint. We booked our room all the way back in June when only three reviews were shown on tripadvisor (apparently it's only been open since April), so we made a bit of a punt, but it definitely paid off, and we're not surprised the hotel is now ranked number two in Kandy.

We stayed in the Citronella Suite which was absolutely amazing. The room was really stylish with plenty of space including a huge four poster bed, and the bathroom looked so good my wife said she'd like one just like it at home!

The location couldn't have been better, set up in the hills overlooking Kandy, which was really breathtaking. The service was excellent, with all the team being very attentive and always happy to help. This extended to the manager waking up at 5am for our check out to drive us to the train station. Certainly service above expectation!

The food was delicious, with the menu offering a nice mix of local and western dishes. The chef coming out after every meal to make sure everything was ok was also a nice touch.

All in all a fantastic stay. If we ever come back to Kandy we'd certainly be booking back into the Elephant Stables!

Room Tip: The Citronella suite was great but didn't have a balcony so if this is required make sure you as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BLeandro83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Ben,

We are pleased that we managed to add charming memories to your special holiday in Sri Lanka. Your positive comment s are a great encouragement for us and we look forward to receiving you both in Elephant Stables soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

To everyone at the Elephant Stables - thank you for an amazing end to our holiday!

We checked in fairly late, yet the welcome was first class and having some food prepared was no trouble at all. The hotel is a stunning building and when inside its a bit like you're relaxing in a friends house. The furniture and decor is fabulous - if I could have taken everything I would have!!!

In terms of the food - delicious! The chef (who came out to make sure everything was to our liking) is excellent. It's not the cheapest, but in terms of quality and taste it was worth every cent.

Great pool with a stunning view - including the big Buddha. Could do with a few more sun beds, but plenty of deck space around the pool to lounge on.

Overall - was a fantastic stay and we really wanted to stay a lot longer. Thanks again - hopefully we'll be back very soon.

Room Tip: Get one of the first floor rooms with balconies for a really great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Caroline,

It's a pleasure to know that you had a great time in Elephant Stables and you loved the stay with us. We look forward to seeing you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Great Sri Lankan hospitality in a beautiful new property. A bit out of the way from main Kandy town but you get rewarded with amazing views, beautiful sunsets and some peace and quiet. Service was impeccable and personal. Definitely worth a second, longer stay.

Room Tip: Ask for that Pepper or the Lemongrass room. Both rooms have good size balconies over looking that po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magiccarpetride2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We are pleased you that you enjoyed your stay in Elephant Stables and especially the newly done up rooms ‘Pepper’ and ‘Lemon Grass’ . Thank you for recommending us on your feedback and we hope to see you soon. We wish you a happy new year !!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.0 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
2.7 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kandy
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 55 in Kandy
697 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
0.8 mi away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#1 of 55 in Kandy
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Stables

Property: Elephant Stables
Address: 46 Nittawela Road, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elephant Stables 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant Stables is a beautiful colonial era bungalow on a hill overlooking Kandy city that has been converted into a luxurious boutique hotel offering elegant colonial style living in Sri Lanka. It features a unique blend of original mid-century furniture with modern chic interiors with an exceptional level of personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Elephant Stables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing