We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique gem with personal service”
Review of Elephant Stables

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elephant Stables
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

We had a fantastic 2 night stay at the elephant stables. The review don't lie: It's truly is a unique gem situated in the hills just 15 mins from Kandy. The service is personal and you can do nothing but relax and enjoy. The pool is refreshing and set in the beautiful garden where you can also enjoy your meals - if you feel like it. No it is not cheap, but it's worth it.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Henrik2300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Henrik,

We are very pleased to receive your beautiful feedback. We hope you will visit us again so that we can serve you better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (557)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

425 - 431 of 557 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed here for two nights and loved it. The staff cannot do enough to make your stay enjoyable. There are a lot of things to do and see in and around Kandy and they will arrange a driver or tuc tuc to take you wherever you want to go and advise on distances etc. The manager, Nalaka, went beyond the call of duty and took me to a medical clinic because I had an infected tick bite. He drove me, arranged for me to see a doctor, and waited for me for at least half an hour before driving me home. There was no charge on our bill for this. The food is very good in the hotel, the rooms are large and airy and the location amazing. The pool is great and a lovely place to relax after a busy day. We had no complaints whatsoever and look forward to returning one day. The manager and staff should be very proud of what they have achieved at this lovely little hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaffaSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear Raffa,

Many thanks for the beautiful feedback you have provided us. Nalaka, along with the staff in the hotel premises were delighted to see your feedback and I am sure it highly motivated them to perform better. We believe you are fully recovered from the ailment you had and you will not forget to come and visit us, next time you come to Kandy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

A newly developed 6 bedroom boutique hotel approx 20 mins from Central Kandy located on a ridge with spectacular views. It's well designed with plenty of areas to chill and enjoy the location and ambience. Rooms are comfortable. Although there is a set western menu we found it slightly bland and requested curry for our second night which was excellent and very highly recommended. Good map instructions are sent in advance which are definitely needed to find the hotel. We arrived at night and I suspect we would have had trouble finding it if our driver had not checked it out in daylight in advance. Although there is no wine list, the options (3) will be shown to you. Breakfast is excellent complete with, unusually, marmite on offer. Whilst staff are plentiful & friendly, service is not particularly efficient. In summary a comfortable base.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank stuffmatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your positive comments.

If you can kindly let us address the issues you mention. The hotel had actually been awaiting approval from the municipality for the past 6 months to get permission to put up a few signboards on the nearby access roads. Our hotel only opened in June 2013. We are glad to inform our future clients that permission has now been given and a selection of road signs will be put up within the next few weeks.

All of our clients are supposed to be offered our delicious Rice And Curry meals as an option every night. We are very sorry that this may not have happened in this instance. Please be assured that we will from now onwards offer a choice of 2 set menus to all of our guests every night – including our famous Rice And Curry!

We have recently absorbed 4 new staff at the hotel in order to offer a highly personalized service. As per our policy of employing people from traditional villages throughout the island as opposed to staff from ‘regimented’ hotel school backgrounds it does take about 6 months to properly train such staff from scratch to provide service at a top-end luxury level. Please do bear with us until they are effectively trained for high end tourism and I am sure that there will be no-more ‘inefficient’ staff in the future!

All of your comments are highly valued and taken in good faith.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Our Family stay was 11-14 October 2013. It was our first time to Sri Lanka and staying here was an excellent choice. Our booking and communication before arriving were with Richard, even though he is not on site, he was very helpful in getting us our train tickets/transportation arranged before arrival. Nalaka, the Manager, was very informative in helping to arrange activities and making sure our stay was comfortable. Nihal, Manjula, and Indika were all friendly and very welcoming staff members that were attentive to our needs. They made sure we had drinks, wonderful food and a clean room each day. The maintenance was exceptional, for the monkeys would eat at the wires and we had two electrical shortages that were repaired without wait. I will warn that the pool (despite the time of year) was freezing! There is also an outdoor shower incorporated into a tree just next to it. It was a reasonable price of accommodation on a very nice/quaint property. We recommend a driver to find it, had we been on our own, we would have missed the turn! :) Very friendly and respectable place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the family room with 2 adults, 2 kids separate from the main house. Very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Venetia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Venetia,

Many thanks for the feedback you have sent us and we are happy that you had a great holiday in Elephant Stables. Since the hotel is located on top of a hill we do agree there are days when the water in the pool gets chilled, but on other days when it is sunny the water is surprisingly warm and tropical! I hope you will be able to enjoy warm water in the pool, the next time you visit us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Second visit, better than the last! love the staff who are so friendly, Superb food & Comfortable Accommodation, love the rooms ! Hats off to the Management and the Loveliest Staff ! ................................................

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ayesh_Sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Ayesh,

We are very thankful to you for choosing Elephant Stables as your hotel in Kandy for the second time too. We look forward to seeing you and your family again…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

This is our second visit to this beautiful property, and coincided with that of the 3 guests stayed at the same time annoying everybody, who have now posted some terrible comments. We found this hotel to be very friendly and welcoming. Staff and the Manager were all polite and helpful and our suite was beautiful.

While we were waiting downstairs for our vehicle, we observed these 3 guests who were unhappy with something arguing with the manager. We observed that the manager was in a hurry and obliged to their request and left the hotel after explaining to us that he has an urgent meeting to attend and that he is unable to see us off, but arranged other staff.

This hotel is situated few minutes away from Kandy town in a beautiful setting. The rooms are gorgeous; staffs are friendly and the food fabulous. We found the manager also to be very attentive and nice. It is so surprising to read reviews from the same group, so badly written about him.

We had yet another wonderful stay at Elephant Stables and nothing went wrong second time as well. Keep up your good work !!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marcel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Marcel,

We are happy that you chose Elephant Stables as your hotel in Kandy for the second time. Though we understand that you had a great time with us this time too, kindly accept our sincere apologies had you faced any inconvenience due to the behavior of the said unhappy clients who stayed in the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I belong to the group which stayed at elephant stables a few days ago. We had problems with the first night - two of three people didn't manage to sleep and got ill because the staff forgot to put blankets on the bed and Kandy gets pretty cold at night. We called the hotel manager but he didn't manage to solve this "problem" and decided to just do nothing instead and sleep. In no way did we try to "blackmail" the manager but we did ask for a discount for the first night as no one slept and people got sick as well due to the hotel not providing the service we actually paid for. Finally the manager took the dinner off the bill as a compensation. This amounted to about 25US$ vs the room which costs 200+US$.
We had arranged for a driver through the hotel for the next three days and prepaid this to the manager. The hotel manager however got so upset about the review on TripAdvisor that he called the driver to come back and leave us on the road in the middle of nowhere. In total we lost about half a day of our holiday and had to pay for another driver having already paid the hotel for the route. Appaling also that this manager tries to limit reviews that are not 5* in this way. He wanted us to change the review in order to keep the driver.
Bottom line:pretty hotel and most of the staff are quite friendly but the manager is not trust worthy and should not be working in hospitality. I do not recommend to support this place under current management.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Chris Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Clients

After reading all these fantastic reviews, including those that specifically mention our manager I think most Trip Advisor clients will have little trouble in deciding ‘is the problem with the hotel’ or is the problem actually with these ‘particular guests’?

If anyone arrives at our hotel at 12:30 in the night having got angry and frustrated at a completely shambolic tour they had tried to organize independently – all we can say is don’t take it out on us!

We request you not to come to hotels of our standard on a ‘backpacker’ budget and then try to Blackmail and Threaten us with Bad Trip Advisor Postings if some huge amount is not waived off your final bill in order to save you some money to continue with your tour?

We stand resolute that we will not give in to blackmail of any sort from anyone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.0 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
2.7 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 56 in Kandy
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#4 of 56 in Kandy
340 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
1.5 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#2 of 56 in Kandy
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Stables

Address: 46 Nittawela Road, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range: £113 - £293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elephant Stables 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant Stables is a beautiful colonial era bungalow on a hill overlooking Kandy city that has been converted into a luxurious boutique hotel offering elegant colonial style living in Sri Lanka. It features a unique blend of original mid-century furniture with modern chic interiors with an exceptional level of personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Elephant Stables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing