We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasing first stay”
Review of Elephant Stables

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elephant Stables
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester
Level Contributor
192 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“A very pleasing first stay”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My last destination on this trip to Sri Lanka and a very good one at that. Elephant Stables is conveniently close to Kandy centre but not too much so and the ten minute ride to it is more than compensated for by the spectacular views.

This is a new property and the accommodation is very good indeed. Everything is state of the art and very upmarket, even had dual air-conditioning in my bedroom and a huge flat screen TV - not that there is anything worth watching on it! A magnificent four poster bed ensured a very good night's rest though one noisy awakening early morning with staff crashing about below. Only ate breakfast here but it was plentiful and delicious.

The Manager and Manjula, the chief steward, were very attentive and helpful but I did find one other member of the staff a little overbearing and gave the impression that he was hanging around for tips.

Would definitely recommend this six room property over any of the larger tourist hotels. It is certainly much better value for money in terms of the quality of accommodation and surroundings.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DM51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the very positive feedback you had sent us. About your comments, we are planning to upgrade the satellite TV package to the premier one which includes HBO, all major worldwide sports channels and most other international satellite channels. The next project will be a DVD library that will be kept in each room with over 100 all time classic films too! We are compiling this at the moment.

As per the previous reviewer, we will train the staff to be extra silent, especially in the mornings. Thank you again for pointing this issue out to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    102
    21
    16
    3
See reviews for
133
293
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Super in every way. Lovely food, superiore staff and lovely rooms. They have an exiting signature drink; Elephant Unstable. One of our friends celebrated birthday and they made an awsome cake for her. We enjoyed the stay in evry way - recomended!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Håkon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Guest,

It's a pleasure to know that you had a great time and your friend liked the b'day cake. We wish to see you soon again in Elephant Stables.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Spent three days at Elephant Stables high on the mountain overlooking Kandy. Breakfast under the mango tree on a misty morning, dinner in the garden. Food well prepared, western and Sri Lankan choices on offer. Fruit platter a must as well as buffalo curd (yoghurt like) with Sri Lankan sweet syrup. Coffee not their strongest point but not surprising in the home of Ceylon Tea which was made to perfection. Staff very friendly and polite, attentive without being intrusive. Accommodation excellent. Can recommend for relaxing time. Six rooms, boutique.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank anva_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Anva,

We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at Elephant Stables. Especially, the cheff is very happy as you liked the food a lot. We look forward to receiving you in Elephant stables again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
上海
1 review
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile


My family visited Sri lanka from Jan.23rd to Feb.5th, stayed 6 hotels including Elephant Stables as our second stop. We evaluate this hotel as the best hotel among the 6. People can feel peaceful and harmony from the surrounding, decoration and beautiful scenery. What the most impression that hotel gave to me is their staffs' hospitality and professional services especially their manager Nalaka, he can give you very detailed introduction and suggestion for any travel site in Sri lanka based on his more than 15years Hotel Management working experience. I believe one day I will back to kandy and back to elephant stables again, not for sight seeing, just for relax and enjoy the friendship.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Francis7079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Francis,

Many thanks for the beautiful feedback you had sent us. Certainly !!!! we are looking forward to seeing you in Elephant Stables again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Having driven through a very hectic city, we eventually found Elephant Stables. It is poorly signed until you arrive at the front door. A new hotel with first class staff, excellent cuisine with good variation. Rooms are first class as you would expect from a quality hotel such as this. Four poster king sized beds with mosquito nets. The bathroom boasts spare toothbrush & toothpaste, shaving kit, wooden comb amongst other normal accessories.
The atmosphere is a wonderful relaxation after visiting all the sights. Just to lie by the pool in the evening sun listening to the hubbub of the city some way below.

Room Tip: There are only 5 rooms, all of which are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelaleucaPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Phil,

We are happy to understand that you had a fabulous time in Elephant Stables and enjoyed all the facilities. We hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

We had a fantastic 2 night stay at the elephant stables. The review don't lie: It's truly is a unique gem situated in the hills just 15 mins from Kandy. The service is personal and you can do nothing but relax and enjoy. The pool is refreshing and set in the beautiful garden where you can also enjoy your meals - if you feel like it. No it is not cheap, but it's worth it.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Henrik2300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Henrik,

We are very pleased to receive your beautiful feedback. We hope you will visit us again so that we can serve you better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed here for two nights and loved it. The staff cannot do enough to make your stay enjoyable. There are a lot of things to do and see in and around Kandy and they will arrange a driver or tuc tuc to take you wherever you want to go and advise on distances etc. The manager, Nalaka, went beyond the call of duty and took me to a medical clinic because I had an infected tick bite. He drove me, arranged for me to see a doctor, and waited for me for at least half an hour before driving me home. There was no charge on our bill for this. The food is very good in the hotel, the rooms are large and airy and the location amazing. The pool is great and a lovely place to relax after a busy day. We had no complaints whatsoever and look forward to returning one day. The manager and staff should be very proud of what they have achieved at this lovely little hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaffaSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Raffa,

Many thanks for the beautiful feedback you have provided us. Nalaka, along with the staff in the hotel premises were delighted to see your feedback and I am sure it highly motivated them to perform better. We believe you are fully recovered from the ailment you had and you will not forget to come and visit us, next time you come to Kandy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.0 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
1.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#7 of 54 in Kandy
998 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#2 of 54 in Kandy
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kandy
736 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 54 in Kandy
684 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
#10 of 54 in Kandy
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Stables

Property: Elephant Stables
Address: 46 Nittawela Road, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elephant Stables 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant Stables is a beautiful colonial era bungalow on a hill overlooking Kandy city that has been converted into a luxurious boutique hotel offering elegant colonial style living in Sri Lanka. It features a unique blend of original mid-century furniture with modern chic interiors with an exceptional level of personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Elephant Stables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing