We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible 5* luxury”
Review of Elephant Stables

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elephant Stables
Ranked #1 of 57 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We can't rate this hotel highly enough - it's absolutely gorgeous. Beautiful room, incredible bathroom, delicious food served in our own private area in the grounds of the hotel over looking the knuckles mountains. It's a MUST for anyone travelling near Kandy.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LCJones82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Mr. Jones,

It's a great pleasure to understand that you are very happy with your stay at Elephant Stables. Your comment highly encourages the staff and we are looking forward to seeing you soon again in Elephant Stables.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (575)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

426 - 432 of 575 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stayed at the Elephant stables for 2 nights and me and my family can really recommend this hotel. We are a family of 5 and stayed there together with another family of 5. So totally we were 4 adults and 6 children. The hotel staff was incredible nice to us, and we got a warm welcome. We slept in the cottage suite. It was great. Almost new with everything you need. The food at the stables is very good. I really recommend the prawns with mango salat as a starter. The best praws ever.......breakfast is also good. The kids loved the pancakes.
The manager fix transport and guide to a fair price, so don't bother fixing that yourself.

Room Tip: Can recommend the cottage suite, brand new place with good ac and 10 m to pool. quiet cause it is si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dagern74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Guest,

We are happy that your family loved the place and the food at Elephant Stables. As you correctly said, we take every effort to keep the kids happy and unharmed in the property unlike many hotels in the country. Hence, we notice a trend of getting a large number of family bookings to our property. We hope you will visit us again with your kids again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We were in Kandy for one night only and were delighted that we chose the Elephant Stables as our hotel. A little off the beaten track, the location was fine for us - we were not that taken with Kandy as a town - but the staff, service and food at Elephant Stables - allied to the view - made it a great stopover. I would have to mention the bedroom and shower room, which are truly outstanding, and the new rooms, which I would thoroughly recommend, each have a really spacious balcony. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Tony,

It's a pleasure to know that you had a great time in Elephant Stables. We hope you will recommend the place to your friends too and visit us again. cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This was the second hotel we were staying in on our honeymoon in Sri Lanka and it was fantastic. We stayed in The Garden Room (1) which was gorgeous and had a lovely balcony which overlooked the garden. The hotel is new and the room we were in had only been open since December and we did have a couple of things which needed sorting out, no hot water from the shower and the electric went off one evening. However these issues were attended to immediately and sorted out very quickly.
The staff were absolutely lovely and the food wonderful, the best curry we had on the whole of our trip and we are still talking about it now!
This is a wonderful hotel, it is perfectly located to be very tranquil in the surround of the busy city of Kandy.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Liz,

Many thanks for the beautiful feedback you had sent us. We certainly look forward to receiving you again in Elephant Stables in order to provide you a fantastic service next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed for one night at the Elephant Stables as part of our tour of Sri Lanka. We stayed in the Pepper Suite and it way lovely with a great balcony and views over the surrounding city and countryside. The food at dinner was amazing with 8 different types of curry and the coconut pancakes at breakfast were delicious. We even had entertainment from the monkeys during breakfast. The staff were friendly, my only slight criticism is that they could be a little too attentive at times but that may just be me being a bit grumpy. Overall the hotel was excellent and would defiantly recommend it to anyone staying in Kandy.

Room Tip: The pepper room on the fist floor has excellent views over the surrounding countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmyoeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Jim,

Thank you so much for the feedback you had provided us. We will certainly look for the areas that can be improved as you have mentioned in order to ensure our clients are 100% satisfied with the service we provide them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Our stay with children was in every respect wonderful. The cottage suite left the family plenty of living space, we were met with engaged personnel, the food was delicious (you must try the egg hoppers for breakfast) and the surroundings lovely.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JesperJypo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the lovely feedback you had sent us. We hope you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This is a great 6 bedroom hotel with really well appointed rooms and service that matches it. We ate at the hotel both nights and the food was outstanding, especially the sri lanka curry! It is a bit out of town, but in reality who goes there more than likely has a car and driver. Our driver was very pleased as to how he was taken care off. Loved Kandy and I think that this is really down to the hotel.

Room Tip: Any room but book early so you dont have to change during your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul-Cup-Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Paul,

Many thanks for the lovely feedback and the staff is very happy to understand that your stay in Kandy was memorable because of Elephant Stables. We look forward to receiving you again in order to serve you better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
1.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
2.7 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 57 in Kandy
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#3 of 57 in Kandy
351 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Secret Kandy
The Secret Kandy
#7 of 57 in Kandy
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Stables

Address: 46 Nittawela Road, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 57 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range: £166 - £1,006 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elephant Stables 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant Stables is a beautiful colonial era bungalow on a hill overlooking Kandy city that has been converted into a luxurious boutique hotel offering elegant colonial style living in Sri Lanka. It features a unique blend of original mid-century furniture with modern chic interiors with an exceptional level of personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Elephant Stables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing