We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene, unique getaway in Kandy”
Review of Elephant Stables

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elephant Stables
Ranked #2 of 57 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights during our honeymoon in Sri Lanka, and highly recommend Elephant Stables to anyone looking for a classy, top-notch but personable place to stay in Kandy. The food was excellent (breakfast specially - the coconut pancakes and egg hoppers were winners). Beautifully furnished room and excellent, up to date bathrooms. The surroundings are absolutely stunning, with the lawns and pools set amid a backdrop of the beautify green hills of Kandy. Staff was all very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. After the hours of driving that came with our daily sightseeing trips (pretty standard in SL), we loved coming back to the serenity and peace of Elephant Stables every evening.

We did think a few things were a bit steeply priced (wine and laundry came with a bit of a sticker shock!), but perhaps that is what is needed to keep a slightly smaller hotel profitable.

Definitely not for budget travelers, but a lovely and one-of-a-kind hotel nonetheless.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yatri1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Yatri,

We are humbly happy to understand that your special day became more special because of Elephant Stables. Chef is very happy to know that you loved his food . We agree that the laundry fee is slightly high as we still do not own our in-house laundry service. thus we use the services of another 5 star hotel. However, we hope the services we provide will improve soon along with the growing popularity among travelers to Kandy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (586)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

433 - 439 of 586 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

My wife & I stayed just a few days ago as part of our honeymoon and the place absolutely confirmed why it is so highly rated here. We stayed in the Vanilla suite which was included a huge main room, spare room potentially for kids and a great view over the pool and into Kandy. As a new place all the fixtures were brand new and the whole decor of the place was extremely cool, bringing together both colonial style (as if being in someone's house), Sri Lankan antiques and old tourist posters as well as a very modern design. It was also a great getaway from the busy city. The service was also superb - friendly and extremely attentive whilst the food was some of the best we had in Sri Lanka - 10 curry meal was incredible. With only 8 rooms or so, I would book early especially as this place gains a fantastic well deserved reputation.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ollie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to know that we achieved to make your stay truly wonderful and memorable. We look forward to receiving you again. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Very nice guest house with a small number of rooms. Facilities are great, the food is outstanding and the staff is extremely nice, I loved everything about that place. Awesome end to end experience overall. I strongly recommend, so much better than large hotels.
The only down side is possibly the manager who should learn to smile and to genuinely care about customers rather being stuck behind his PC.

Room Tip: All are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VINCENT F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Mr. Vincent,

Thank you very much for the constructive criticism. We will certainly work on the areas which can be improved in order to lead our property to the no. 01 place in Kandy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We can't rate this hotel highly enough - it's absolutely gorgeous. Beautiful room, incredible bathroom, delicious food served in our own private area in the grounds of the hotel over looking the knuckles mountains. It's a MUST for anyone travelling near Kandy.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LCJones82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Mr. Jones,

It's a great pleasure to understand that you are very happy with your stay at Elephant Stables. Your comment highly encourages the staff and we are looking forward to seeing you soon again in Elephant Stables.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stayed at the Elephant stables for 2 nights and me and my family can really recommend this hotel. We are a family of 5 and stayed there together with another family of 5. So totally we were 4 adults and 6 children. The hotel staff was incredible nice to us, and we got a warm welcome. We slept in the cottage suite. It was great. Almost new with everything you need. The food at the stables is very good. I really recommend the prawns with mango salat as a starter. The best praws ever.......breakfast is also good. The kids loved the pancakes.
The manager fix transport and guide to a fair price, so don't bother fixing that yourself.

Room Tip: Can recommend the cottage suite, brand new place with good ac and 10 m to pool. quiet cause it is si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dagern74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Guest,

We are happy that your family loved the place and the food at Elephant Stables. As you correctly said, we take every effort to keep the kids happy and unharmed in the property unlike many hotels in the country. Hence, we notice a trend of getting a large number of family bookings to our property. We hope you will visit us again with your kids again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We were in Kandy for one night only and were delighted that we chose the Elephant Stables as our hotel. A little off the beaten track, the location was fine for us - we were not that taken with Kandy as a town - but the staff, service and food at Elephant Stables - allied to the view - made it a great stopover. I would have to mention the bedroom and shower room, which are truly outstanding, and the new rooms, which I would thoroughly recommend, each have a really spacious balcony. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Tony,

It's a pleasure to know that you had a great time in Elephant Stables. We hope you will recommend the place to your friends too and visit us again. cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This was the second hotel we were staying in on our honeymoon in Sri Lanka and it was fantastic. We stayed in The Garden Room (1) which was gorgeous and had a lovely balcony which overlooked the garden. The hotel is new and the room we were in had only been open since December and we did have a couple of things which needed sorting out, no hot water from the shower and the electric went off one evening. However these issues were attended to immediately and sorted out very quickly.
The staff were absolutely lovely and the food wonderful, the best curry we had on the whole of our trip and we are still talking about it now!
This is a wonderful hotel, it is perfectly located to be very tranquil in the surround of the busy city of Kandy.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Liz,

Many thanks for the beautiful feedback you had sent us. We certainly look forward to receiving you again in Elephant Stables in order to provide you a fantastic service next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
0.8 mi away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#3 of 57 in Kandy
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#12 of 57 in Kandy
857 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
#11 of 57 in Kandy
1,121 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Stables

Address: 46 Nittawela Road, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 57 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range: £174 - £387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elephant Stables 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant Stables is a beautiful colonial era bungalow on a hill overlooking Kandy city that has been converted into a luxurious boutique hotel offering elegant colonial style living in Sri Lanka. It features a unique blend of original mid-century furniture with modern chic interiors with an exceptional level of personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Elephant Stables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing